book review

After Dark by Haruki Murakami || Book Review

TitAfter Darkle: After Dark

Author: Haruki Murakami

First published: 2004

Edition: Vintage Books

               Paperback, 201 pages

Genre: Fiction | Contemporary | Magical Realism

Summary: A short, sleek novel of encounters set in Tokyo during the witching hours between midnight and dawn.

The midnight hour approaches in an almost empty all-night diner. Mari sips her coffee and glances up from a book as a young man, a musician, intrudes on her solitude. Both have missed the last train home.

Meanwhile Mari’s beautiful sister Eri sleeps a deep, heavy sleep that is ‘too perfect, too pure’ to be normal; she has lain asleep for two months.

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

4 out of 5 stars ►

This is the third book that I have read by Murakami, the other two being “Norwegian Wood” and “South of the Border, West of the Sun”. So far I have very much enjoyed everything that I read by him.

This is not a plot driven book, there really is no specific plot that I can mention. This is rather an atmospheric and character driven novel. It is also quiet a short book – it only follows 7 hours of one day, from midnight to 7 a.m. It portrays us the lives of 5 different people and how they intertwine with each other.

The writing style in this novel is quiet simple. Most of the sentences are short and to the point. It makes it a rather easy read and probably a good starting point for reading the works of Murakami. It was still beautiful and captivating. I couldn’t put the book down.

One of the aspects I enjoyed the most while reading this book is the atmosphere. It simply enchanted me. The atmosphere was rather dark and eerie, making me enjoy it even more.

What I love most about any Murakami book are his characters. He always creates interesting and complex characters that I love reading about. As I already said, this is not a plot driven book, it rather focuses on the characters and their interactions. Murakami is a master at writing both, making this book an amazing experience. I especially loved the interactions between Mari and Takahashi.

The only thing that I didn’t like was the ending. Or rather I felt as if the book wasn’t completed. There just were some questions left that I would have loved to get answered.

I would recommend this book to everyone, especially if you want to start reading Murakami’s books.

– Anna ♥

13 thoughts on “After Dark by Haruki Murakami || Book Review

  1. I loved this. After Dark was my first Murakami book and yes it was a pretty good choice, I must say, because it was simple and yet so engaging. And I agree with you, the ending somehow feels incomplete. But I still love it 😊

    Like

      1. After Dark was my first and only Murakami (so far) because my TBR piles is SO huge right now I need to go on a bookban. Haha. Do you have any suggestions on what I should read next?

        Like

        1. I have read two others beside this one. I would recommend “Norwegian Wood”, as it is my favourite so far!
          Haha I understand that, my TBR is huge as well! I should go on a book buying ban as well, but first I need to order some graphic novels and then I shall see about that. 😛

          Like

      1. I’ve always wanted to read a Murakami books and I wonder why I haven’t started yet. I have this funny feeling that his books are very metaphorical and heavy and I’m afraid I’ll not be able to understand or I’ll have a different interpretation. Anyway, I still wanted to give it a try since I’ve been hearing a lot of good reviews surrounding his books. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I see. I had the same feeling before I started reading his books. I thought I wouldn’t understand all of it and that I wouldn’t enjoy them because of it.

          Yes, his books tend to be metaphorical and do cover some heavy topics but I found them really easy to understand! 🙂

          I do recommend you start with this one, as it ist easy to understand and also very short so you can see if you would enjoy his writing style and stuff like that! 😀

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

