book review

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness || Book Review

A monster callsTitle: A Monster Calls

Author: Patrick Ness

Inspired by: Siobhan Dowd

 Illustrations: Jim Kay

First published: 2011

Edition: Walker Books

               Paperback, 215 pages

Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy | Horror

Summary: The monster showed up after midnight. As they do. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the nightmare he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 5 out of 5 stars ►

Patrick Ness has done it again. He has created a wonderful story that I absolutely fell in love with. He is becoming one of my favourite authors, and I can’t wait to get my hands on all of his books.

I won’t be writing about the story, as I believe it’s better to read it without knowing much about it and I certainly don’t want to spoil anything. I will only say that the story was beautiful and the writing style equally amazing. It felt like a fairy tale.

This is an incredible book about grief, loss and the burden of responsibility. As the story progressed all the emotions, that this book portrayed, intensified and by the end I found myself crying. Which doesn’t happen often.

I felt so much love for the characters, for Connor, his mother, his grandmother and everyone else. It made this book even more heart wrenching and lovely, if it can be both at the same time.

The illustrations made this book even more fantastic than it already was. They made the atmosphere of the book even more palpable and cloaked the story in a eerie vibe. They whole design of this book is simply stunning.

This is such a beautiful and important book. I would recommend it to everyone!

-Anna ♥

8 thoughts on “A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness || Book Review

Leave a Reply

