wrap up

August | Wrap Up

August was a good reading month for me. I managed to read 6 books and 2 graphic novels. And I enjoyed (nearly) everything I read.

If you want to know more about these books, that I am about to mention, just click on the image and it will open (in a new window) the goodreads page for that book.


lolita“Lolita” by Vladimir Nabokov

4 out of 5 stars

The writing in this book is simply stunning. I was aware of what this book was about before reading it (which is not surprising, as this is quiet a famous book).

It made me quiet uncomfortable at times, which it was supposed to do. I loved how it was self aware of what it was about, if you know what I mean.

This is quiet an important book and even more people should read it.

Persuasion“Persuasion” by Jane Austen

4 out of 5 stars

Jane Austen is one of my favourite authors. So it didn’t surprise me that I enjoyed this book as much as I did.

I found the story very interesting and I loved Anne as the protagonist.

I have only two Austen books left to read. Those two being “Mansfield Park” and “Sense and Sensibility”. I do hope to read, at least one of them, soon.

Harry Potter“Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire” by J.K. Rowling

5 out of 5 stars

I continued my reread of the Harry Potter series this month. “The Goblet of Fire” is, most likely, my second favourite book in the whole series.

I loved getting back into this world and reading about Harry’s adventure in his 4th year at Hogwarts.

This is my favourite series of all time.

“A Monster Calls” by Patrick NessA monster calls

5 out of 5 stars

I absolutely adored this book! Patrick Ness is becoming one of my favourite authors, as I have loved everything that I read by him so far. I can’t wait to get my hands on all of his other standalone’s.

I wrote a full review for this book, that is why I am not going to write much about it now. You can read my review here.

cruel beauty“Cruel Beauty” by Rosamund Hodge

1 out of 5 stars

The most disappointing read of this month. I thought that I would very much enjoy this book – oh how wrong I was. I didn’t like any of the characters, or the romance. I couldn’t imagine the world – I didn’t like anything about it beside the general idea.

I don’t plan to read any more books by this author, as writing style wasn’t anything special and I didn’t like the story.

833428“Night Watch” by Terry Pratchett

4 out of 5 stars

So far this is my 6th Terry Pratchett book. And also my favourite so far.

I greatly enjoyed the story. I loved the characters and I found the time traveling element to be fantastically done. The humor was on point, as it usually is with Pratchett’s books.

I can’t wait to read more books set in the Discworld universe. I do hope to read all of them. We shall see if that will happen, as there are quiet a lot of books in this series.

Chew Vol. 1“Chew Vol. 1: Taster’s Choice” by John Layman and Rob Guillory

4 out of 5 stars

I have heard only amazing things about this graphic novel series. I am glad to have finally picked it up and read it.

I wrote a full review for this graphic novel, which you can read here – if you want to know what I thought.

All that I am going to say is that it was fantastic and very addicting. I can only recommend it! (If you don’t mind mature content and gross scenes.)

18867038“Chew Vol. 2: International Flavor” by John Layman and Rob Guillory

5 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed this volume even more than the first. I liked the characters more and I felt like I got to know them more as well.

It was also very fast paced and addicting! I need to read the next volume as soon as possible!

I might write a review for this volume, though I am not sure yet, if I do I will be linking it in this post.


As I said it was a good reading month. I enjoyed most of the books that I read, and that is the most important part!

How many books did you read? What is your favourite book of this month?

-Anna ♥

8 thoughts on “August | Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

