book review

The Big Four by Agatha Christie || Book Review

11162466Title: The Big Four

          ( Hercule Poirot #5 )

Author: Agatha Christie

First published: 27. January 1927

Edition: Harper

              Paperback, 272 pages

Genre: Mystery | Fiction | Crime

Summary: Framed in the doorway of Poirot’s bedroom stood an uninvited guest, coated from head to foot in dust. The man’s gaunt face stared for a moment, then he swayed and fell.

Who was he? Was he suffering from shock or just exhaustion? Above all, what was the significance of the figure 4, scribbled over and over again on a sheet of paper? Poirot finds himself plunged into a world of international intrigue, risking his life to uncover the truth about ‘Number Four’.

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 3 out of 5 stars ►

To be honest, when I started reading this book I didn’t plan on writing a review for it. But now that I have finished it, I just need to put the thoughts that I have about this book in words. So I thought: Why not write a review when I am at it?

This is probably my least favourite Agatha Christie book that I have read so far. When I read the summary for this book I had no idea it would turn out the way it did – it really surprised me and not in a good way.

I found the story to be far-fetched and the events that occurred seemed out-of-place, at least to me. Both Poirot and Hastings I found to be annoying through the book, which is not the case with other novels featuring them. Also, everything seemed to happen way too smoothly for some reason.

Now don’t get me wrong, this book was not all bad (as I did give it 3 stars). It kept me interested in the story and I couldn’t put the book down because I needed to know what was going to happen next. The side characters were fantastic! There were so many that I loved and I wanted to read more about them. I can’t get into who I liked, as that could contain spoilers.

All in all not the best book that I have read by Agatha Christie. Would I recommend it? Yes, if you like Agatha Christie. Otherwise no, especially if you want to start with her books – this is not the place.

-Anna♥

2 thoughts on “The Big Four by Agatha Christie || Book Review

Leave a Reply

