top ten tuesday

Book Series That I Have Abandoned || Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created and hosted

by lovely people at The Broke and the Bookish.


This week the theme is ten bookish things I want to quit or have quit. I have decided to name the ten series I have abandoned and that I don’t plan on finishing. I will be saying how many books in that series / trilogy I have read and why I am not going to continue reading it.

I am not trying to offend anybody these are only my opinions and I am sure that there are people out there who adore these books. Sadly I am not one of them.


1045983710. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

      ( All Souls Trilogy )

I read the first book in this series two years ago (or something like that) and I didn’t like it at all. Now that I look back, I have no idea why I forced myself to finish this book when I wasn’t enjoying it. Especially since this book is over 650 pages long.

Short: I didn’t particularly like anything about this book.


63043359. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

    ( Caster Chronicles )

I have read the first two books in this series and really liked them. So why in the world am I not continuing with this series?

Because I don’t remember anything that happened before and I would have to reread the fist two books – I don’t want to do that at all. I also looked up spoilers for the third and fourth book and I know what will happen. So I have no desire to finish this series.


63231048. The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons

Basically the same situation as with A Discovery of Witches. I read this book around two years ago as well and I didn’t like it either.

This time my biggest problem was the relationship between the two main characters. I really didn’t like it or agree with it. Also I didn’t particularly care for any of the characters.

The only thing that I liked was the setting. I love books that take place in Russia.


125108997. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente

    ( Fairyland )

I have only read the first book in this series and it was good, nothing special. I found the writing style to be beautiful and I definitely want  to read something else by this author.

This book just wasn’t for me. I didn’t like it enough to continue reading this series.


85987466. I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

    ( Lorien Legacies )

I have read the first four books of this series, a long time ago (when the fourth book came out). They were okay, nothing to exiting.

I have lost any interested that I had in this series. I just don’t care what is going to happen and I am not going to force myself to read more of these books.


180530605. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

I have read the first book in this series (or trilogy, I don’t know what it’s going to be). Once I read the back of this book I was really exited to read it – it sounded like something I would greatly enjoy.

After reading it I was disappointed. It was nothing special. I didn’t like the main character much, which made me indifferent to what was going to happen to her. There were some things I liked but not enough for me to continue reading this series.


71573104. Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry 

I borrowed this book from the library, last year if I remember correctly. (Really don’t know why I felt the need to mention that.)

I enjoyed it for the most part. I just had a feeling that something was missing and I couldn’t (and still can’t) figure out what it was. Long story short I am simply not interested enough in this story to continue reading it.


97173203. Divergent by  Veronica Roth

People are going to hate me for this one.

Basically I didn’t like Divergent, at all. I didn’t like the characters. I found both Tris and Four to be annoying. I didn’t care for any of the side characters either.

I was bored for majority of this book and I, obviously, don’t plan to read the other two books in this series either.


158638322. Angelfall by Susan Ee

    ( Penryn & the End of Days )

Yes, another one that a lot of people adore and I don’t. It’s basically the same story as with Divergent. I didn’t like the characters, I was bored and I didn’t care what was happening to Penryn.

The difference? I liked this one story wise more and it had it’s interesting moments.


123829401. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Now this one I might continue one day. As of right now I don’t plan to – that is why I am including it in this list.

I really liked this first book. So why am I considering not continuing with the series? Because I have heard that the books just get worse and worse. (From a few people I know.) And I don’t want to ruin my liking of this book with that.

Have you read the other books in this series? What did you think of them? Do you think I should read them?


Thank you for reading. I hope you have a fantastic day.

-Anna♥

18 thoughts on “Book Series That I Have Abandoned || Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Aw, I think you were really nice about how you wrote the post and not offensive at all! 😀 I don’t think every bookworm can be expected to love every book. *nods* I loooved The Maze Runner, and it had some annoying things (like never answering questions! lol) buuuut I ADORED the characters and thought all the books were excellent. xD Omg, but I just bought Beautiful Creatures second hand and I’ve heard woeful things about it and pretty much don’t want to start. I might save myself the agony there!?! Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad that it wasn’t offensive! 😀 I agree, there are just those books that you don’t like even if everyone else loves them. Oh I see, I might pick up the rest of The Maze Runner books some time – though it won’t be a priority. 🙂 I am glad you liked all the books!

      I liked Beautiful Creatures (I gave it four stars if I remember correctly. Though I read them like 2 years ago, so who know what I would think about them now. I would give it a try, but if you really don’t want to read it then don’t. I mean reading is all about having fun 😀

      Like

  2. I just got Rot & Ruin. Hopefully it’s an ok book for me! Also, I don’t think I will continue The Maze Runner. I actually haven’t read the entire first book. I started it after I saw the movie and I just got bored so I looked up the plot to see what the movie changed. To be honest, the movie seemed better. I didn’t like the role of the girl (I forgot her name) and how they can communicate telepathically. And a few other changes were just weird to me.

    Here is my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful Creatures was one of those books that blew me away, in terms of how many people were singing its praises. I just didn’t get the allure and struggled for weeks to actually finish it! Glad I am not the only one who didn’t finish the series!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad you enjoyed it. I liked the story of Angelfall and I the only problem I had were the characters, I just didn’t connect to them (or like them). I really liked the portrayal of angels in the book.

      Like

  4. Great post! I’ve given up on a few of these series myself. Catherynne M. Valente definitely writes beautiful stories, but I also didn’t read beyond the first book in the Fairyland series. I want to try other books from her though, especially “Deathless” and “Radiance”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

