tag

Mid-Year Book Freak Out | Tag | 2015

Book Tag

I was tagged by Jenny @readerinareverie to do this tag. Thank you very much! ❤

I love looking back on my reading progress. I use GoodReads to keep track of all the books I read. Also I will only be looking at the books that I read until the end of June, as this is the mid-year freak out tag.


12600138Best book you’ve read so far in 2015

I have read many amazing books this year, that makes this question very hard for me to answer.

I choose Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I read this book very early in the year (at the end of January) but it is still remained one of my favourite books ever, so I had to choose it for this category. I simply adored it.


24661340Best sequel you’ve read in 2015

The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (or J.K. Rowling) is one of my favourite sequels that I read this year.

I really enjoyed the first book in this series but the second one blew me away. I have loved everything that I have read by J.K. Rowling and this is no exception. I love the characters that she creates and the mysteries in these books are simply amazing!


25068467New release that you haven’t read yet but want to

I have heard nothing but amazing things about Uprooted by Naomi Novik and ever since I saw how beautiful the cover is I wanted to read it. Don’t get me wrong, the story sounds amazing as well – but this cover is simply beautiful.

I do want to get the hardcover, so I won’t be reading it any time soon (because of my book buying ban), but it will be one of the next books that I buy, when the time comes.


23437156Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo is my most anticipated book of the whole year.

I really adored the Grisha trilogy – especially the world that Bardugo created. So, naturally, I was very exited to hear that she is coming out with a new series set in the same world. I can’t wait to get my hands on this book!


9717320Biggest Disappointment

I have heard from so many people that Divergent by Veronica Roth is their favourite book. I expected to be amazed by it and really enjoy it, as dystopia is one of my favourite genres to read.

Don’t get me wrong I didn’t hate this book or anything. I just thought it was okay. I also didn’t like the main characters, at all. They really annoyed me. And I was bored quiet a lot while reading.


113436Biggest Surprise

For this category I have to go with Eragon by Christopher Paolini. I have watched the movie years ago when it first came out (I didn’t even know there was a book for it) and I didn’t like it at all.

Perhaps that is the reason it took me so long to pick this book up. I am so glad I did. It’s now one of my favourite books ever and I can’t wait to pick up the sequel!


865293Favourite New Author

It has to be Scott Lynch. Granted I have only read the first book in his Gentlemen Bastards series, The Lies of Locke Lamora. But I absolutely loved this book and I know that I am going to love his other works as well.

(I did start the second book of that series – but I had to stop because I needed to study for an exam. I loved everything I read. I can’t wait to get around to reading it again.)


NikolaiNew fictional crush

Nikolai Lantsov from the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. specifically from the second book Siege and Storm, as that is the book he is introduced in.

If I am honest I would have to go with the Darkling, but I read the first book last year so he can’t be in this category. Sadly, as he is my favourite character in the whole trilogy.


11681498Newest favourite character

This was an easy one. As soon as I saw this category I knew I had to go with Alexia Tarabotti from Soulless by Gail Carriger.

I love strong female characters and Alexia is definitely one of them. I also loved reading from her perspective and I found myself laughing quiet a lot, as she is quiet witty and sarcastic (both traits I love in characters).

She is really amazing!


6131164Book that made you cry

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare.

It’s the first one that came to mind. I didn’t outright sob or anything, but tears were shed.

I can’t say why I cried or anything about this book, as it is the final book in a trilogy and I don’t want to spoil anything. But I would really recommend everyone to read the Infernal Devices.


15801353Book that made you happy

The first book that came to mind was Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz.

This book was simply beautiful – I adored every moment of it. I don’t know if it’s a particularly happy book but whenever I think about it, it makes me happy.


Favourite book-to-movie adaptation you’ve seen this year

I don’t think I have watched any this year, at all. My friends and I do watch movies together but they are rarely book-to-movie adaptations. One that I really do want to watch is The Maze Runner, who knows when I will do that.


Favourite book review you’ve written

As I said, I was only looking at the books that I read until the end of June. I started this blog at the end of July, so I haven’t written any review (on this blog) up to that point. But I still want to answer this question. So I will go with the first review I have written on my blog which is for After Dark by Haruki Murakami.


9361589Most beautiful book you have bought/received

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern is one of the most beautiful books that I own.

I love the cover and the design of the book without the dust jacket. I also love the design on the inside of the book. This book is stunning.


25914821What book you need to read before the end of the year

I really need to read Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs. This book is one of my most anticipated books of the whole year. I also really want to know how the story is going to end.

Hopefully I will be reading this book soon. Also the title sounds freaking amazing. Just thought I would mention that.


Thank you for reading. Hope you have a fantastic day.

-Anna♥

3 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out | Tag | 2015

  1. I was disappointed with Divergent too! I heard so many good things, but I just never felt connected to any of the characters. I own The Night Circus too! It’s so pretty, but I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I didn’t feel connected to the characters either. I have red The Night Circus and it’s one of my favourite books. I adored it! The writing was stunning and the characters amazing. I also loved the atmosphere and the story of the book. ❤ I am rambling now, sorry. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

