book review

The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett || Book Review

25817784

Title: The Wee Free Men

          ( Discworld #30 ; Tiffany Aching #1 )

Author: Terry Pratchett

First published: 2003

Edition: Harper Collins

              Paperback, 352 pages

Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult | Humor

Summary: A nightmarish danger threatens from the other side of reality.

Armed with only a frying pan and her common sense, young witch-to-be Tiffany Aching must defend her home against the monsters of Fairyland. Luckily she has some very unusual help: the local Nac Mac Feegle—aka the Wee Free Men—a clan of fierce, sheep-stealing, sword-wielding, six-inch-high blue men.

Together they must face headless horsemen, ferocious grimhounds, terrifying dreams come true, and ultimately the sinister Queen of the Elves herself.

GoodReads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 4.5 OUT OF 5 STARS ►

This is the seventh book that I have read by Sir Terry Pratchett and so far this is my favourite book by him. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book in this series! Now let’s move onto the actual review.

First of all lets talk about the writing style. I really enjoyed how this book was written. Reading from Tiffany’s point of view was very interesting and I enjoyed looking at the world as she sees it. I also loved the humor that Terry Pratchett intertwined into the story, as I usually do with his books.

The characters in this book very amazing! I greatly enjoyed learning about all of them. I especially loved the Nac Mac Feegle – they were awesome. Who wouldn’t love fighting, drinking, stealing little blue men? It was great seeing how their live and learning more about them and their history. I also liked Tiffany a lot. What I especially appreciated about her was how flawed she was. She felt like a real person and I loved her as the main character.

The story felt as if I was reading a novel that has been intertwined with a fairy tale. The adventure that Tiffany went on was fascinating and I loved the way the way the other world was described. (I can’t explain it any better because it would spoil things.)

All in all I highly recommend this book to everyone. Literary everyone.

-Anna♥

7 thoughts on “The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett || Book Review

  1. Ahh, this is so cool because I JUST read another review of this on another blog so WOW, THIS BOOK IS GOING AROUND THE BLOGOSPHERE TODAY! 😀 Do you think it’s possible to read this without reading any Discworld books though?!? I’ve heard this one is more YA which sounds right up my alley, but I have only read 1 Discworld graphic novel and trying to read 40+ books terrifies me. o.O
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha it would appear so! It is definitely more YA than his other books. And YES YOU CAN read this book without reading any other Discworld books. 😀

      I agree that the whole series is terrifyingly huge, but at least the books aren’t that long (comparing them with other fantasy books that are over 600 pages). It’s definitely a commitment. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

