top ten tuesday

Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In The Past Year || Top Ten Tuesday

TOPTENTUESDAY

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created and hosted

by lovely people at The Broke and the Bookish.


This weeks theme is our favourite quotes from books that we have read recently. (Obviously from the title.) I found it quiet hard to choose which quotes to use, because there are many great ones that I like. So I decided to pick two from each book. These quotes are in no particular order, that would be simply to hard for me to do. Also they are from the books that I have read (or reread) this year.


18079709“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to.”
“I don’t much care where –”
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

“It’s no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland


11788809“A mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone, if it is to keep its edge.”
― George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones

“Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armour yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you.”
― George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones


A monster calls“There is not always a good guy. Nor is there always a bad one. Most people are somewhere in between.”
― Patrick Ness, A Monster Calls

“You do not write your life with words…You write it with actions. What you think is not important. It is only important what you do.”
― Patrick Ness, A Monster Calls


Persuasion“I hate to hear you talk about all women as if they were fine ladies instead of rational creatures. None of us want to be in calm waters all our lives.”
― Jane Austen, Persuasion

“My idea of good company…is the company of clever, well-informed people, who have a great deal of conversation; that is what I call good company.’
‘You are mistaken,’ said he gently, ‘that is not good company, that is the best.”
― Jane Austen, Persuasion


The Martian“I guess you could call it a “failure”, but I prefer the term “learning experience”.”
― Andy Weir, The Martian

“Me: “This is obviously a clog. How about I take it apart and check the internal tubing?” NASA: (after five hours of deliberation) “No. You’ll fuck it up and die.” So I took it apart.”
― Andy Weir, The Martian


15783514“I lived in books more than I lived anywhere else.”
― Neil Gaiman, The Ocean at the End of the Lane

“I do not miss childhood, but I miss the way I took pleasure in small things, even as greater things crumbled. I could not control the world I was in, could not walk away from things or people or moments that hurt, but I took joy in the things that made me happy.”
― Neil Gaiman, The Ocean at the End of the Lane


113436“Books are my friends, my companions. They make me laugh and cry and find meaning in life.”
― Christopher Paolini, Eragon

“The sea is emotion incarnate. It loves, hates, and weeps. It defies all attempts to capture it with words and rejects all shackles. No matter what you say about it, there is always that which you can’t.”
― Christopher Paolini, Eragon


15801353“I got to thinking that poems were like people. Some people you got right off the bat. Some people you just didn’t get–and never would get.”
― Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

“I had a feeling there was something wrong with me. I guess I was a mystery even to myself.”
― Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe


9361589“The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.”
― Erin Morgenstern, The Night Circus

“I am tired of trying to hold things together that cannot be held. Trying to control what cannot be controlled. I am tired of denying myself what I want for fear of breaking things I cannot fix. They will break no matter what we do.”
― Erin Morgenstern, The Night Circus


12600138“You’re probably wondering what’s going to happen to you. That’s easy. The same thing is going to happen to you that has happened to every other human being who has ever lived. You’re going to die. We all die. That’s just how it is.”
― Ernest Cline, Ready Player One

“Whenever I saw the sun, I reminded myself that I was looking at a star. One of over a hundred billion in our galaxy. A galaxy that was just one of billions of other galaxies in the observable universe. This helped me keep things in perspective.”
― Ernest Cline, Ready Player One


Thank you for reading. I hope you have a fantastic day.

-Anna♥

12 thoughts on “Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In The Past Year || Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Tyrion has the best quotes in A Song of Ice and Fire. I really need to read most of these books. Ready Player One seems to have some good quotes in it!

    Here is my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

