book review

Locke & Key by Joe Hill || Graphic Novel Review

Title: Locke & Key

            ( 6 volumes )

Author: Joe Hill

Illustrator: Gabriel Rodriguez

First published: 29. September 2008. (the first volume)

Edition: IDW Publishing

                 Hardcover, 150-190 pages (depending on the volume)

Genre: Horror | Fantasy | Mystery

Short summary: Locke & Key tells of Keyhouse, an unlikely New England mansion, with fantastic doors that transform all who dare to walk through them. Home to a hate-filled and relentless creature that will not rest until it forces open the most terrible door of them all…

GoodReads | Bookdepository | Amazon

Individual rating:

  • Locke & Key, Vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft – 4.5 stars
  • Locke & Key, Vol. 2: Head Games – 3.5 stars
  • Locke & Key, Vol. 3: Crown of Shadows – 4.5 stars
  • Locke & Key, Vol. 4: Keys to the Kingdom – 5 stars
  • Locke & Key, Vol. 5: Clockworks – 4 stars
  • Locke & Key, Vol. 6: Alpha & Omega – 5 stars

 

Overall rating:

◄ 4.5 out of 5 stars ►


This graphic novel series was sooo freaking good! I honestly didn’t expect to like it as much as I did. It had many twists and turns and a lot of things happened that I did not see coming. WARNING: It is also rather dark and gory, so I wouldn’t recommend it if that is not something you enjoy reading about (or in this case looking at).

Now where do I start with this review?

The story:

I rather enjoyed the whole story of this graphic novel series. The whole concept of the keys that open different doors (that unlock special powers) is very interesting and something I have never read about. I greatly enjoyed exploring the world of the keys and finding more about them – how they were created, what you can do with each one and so on. There were quiet a fw that I would have loved to have myself! 😀

The story also went places I never expected it to go. Each volume brought unexpected twists and turns – I loved getting surprised by them. I would love to write more about this, but I don’t want to spoil anything so I’ll stop here.

The characters:

There were so many different and good characters in this series. From the good ones to the evil ones – everyone was very interesting. Many characters did things I never expected them to do, yes some (many) of those things were stupid, but everybody makes mistakes. I loved the fact that everybody was flawed in their own way. It made reading about them so much more fun. I loved the different portrayals of grief that was presented in this series. It was interesting to see  how different people grieve and that everyone has their own way of coping.

The art:

Well, first of all art is subjective. Everybody enjoys different art styles. Just wanted to put that out there before I start writing about this. I did not in particular like the art style. I just found the way the characters were drawn a bit weird. The buildings and backgrounds looked amazing though. So it took me a bit to actually get used to the art style. I’m very glad that I decided to ignore my dislike of the art and continued with the story!

I don’t know you might like the way this graphic novel series is illustrated. But if you are the same as me and not really liking it, I would still recommend to continue reading it – because the story makes it worth your time!

Overall:

This graphic novel blew me away. I greatly enjoyed everything but the art in this graphic novel series and I would highly recommend it. If you can stand the blood, violence and gore that is.


Thank you for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

5 thoughts on “Locke & Key by Joe Hill || Graphic Novel Review

Leave a Reply

