wrap up

January | Wrap Up

It’s time for another monthly wrap up! This month I read 4 books and 3 graphic novels. I have also started two books and made great progress with both of them. All in all I’m very happy with how much I managed to read this month. 😀 Especially since I had exams and some stressful things happened that I seriously just want to forget.


First of all the three graphic novels I read. I read Volume 4, 5 and 6 of Locke & Key by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodríguez (illustartions). I enjoyed all of them a lot! If you are interested in my full thoughts about this graphic novel series, you can check out my review here.


Little WomenLittle Women by Louisa May Alcott

3.5 out of 5 stars

I both enjoyed and didn’t enjoy this book. Honestly I expected to love it, as many people seem to do. Perhaps I had to high expectations. I got bored at some points and I was annoyed at the characters quiet a lot, though I can’t pinpoint what it was exactly that bothered me. I don’t think I will read anything else by this author, it just doesn’t seem to appeal to me.


ChangelessChangeless (Parasol Protectorate #2) by Gail Carriger

4 out of 5 stars

I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I did the first. Still it was very good and very entertaining. Alexia was fantastic – still one of my favourite characters.

I did find some parts of it boring and I had a problem with the ending, though I can’t say with what exactly as it would spoil things. I’m exited about reading the next book and finding out how the story continues. (Though I’ll have to wait a bit, as I want to buy the box set before reading the next book.)


Mrs DallowayMrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

3 out of 5 stars

This was my first Virginia Woolf book that I have ever read. I also believe it’s my first stream of consciousness book, at least I don’t remember reading another one before this.

Now…I both enjoyed and didn’t enjoy this book. I liked how innovative it was and the writing style was also very good. I enjoyed those aspects greatly. Plus I really liked some of the characters – they were very interesting. What I had a problem with is that I got bored of the story around the half-way point. I don’t know what it was, I just lost interest in it. And I did find myself confused a few times when I was reading it. (Although I expected that to happen.)

I do want to read more books by Virginia Woolf, hopefully I’ll like them more than this one.


 

Agatha ChristieAppointment with Death (Hercule Poirot #19) by Agatha Christie

4 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book. The characters were very interesting and I liked that psychology played a big part in this case – it made it even more intriguing. It was sooo much fun reading

This is definitely one of the better Agatha Christie books that I have read and I would recommend it. I found it a bit weird that Poirot didn’t really appear until the half way point, not that it’s a bad thing. I enjoyed learning more about the characters before the case even began.


I also started reading two books, both are high fantasy and very long:

  1. A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin ( 678/911 pages )
  2. Shadow’s Edge by Brent Weeks ( 235/636 pages )

What was your favourite book of the month? How many did you read? Have you read any of the books that I read this month?

Thank you for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

Leave a Reply

