top ten tuesday

Historical Settings You Love || Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created and hosted by lovely people at The Broke and the Bookish.


This week the theme is historical settings that I love reading about. This post is going to be a bit different. I’m going to be naming a few time periods and then add two books that I enjoyed and two that I plan on reading.

Anyway, I have decided to start doing top ten Tuesday posts more regularly as they are a lot of fun to write. Usually I forget about this feature until I see the posts of other people popping up and then it’s too late (and I don’t have time to write them). Hopefully I’ll be able to remember it this time! 😄


The “Ancient” time period

I really enjoy reading books that are set in ancient Greece or ancient Rome. I just find the culture fascinating and the setting very interesting. I mostly read classics set in this time period.

The two I read and greatly enjoyed are The Odyssey by Homer and Daphnis and Chloe by Longus. Both of them are amazing! I would recommend Daphnis and Chloe more, as it is a lot shorter and easier to get through. I really want to read Jason and the Golden Fleece by Apollonius and Metamorphoses by Ovid – I am really interested in both.


 The 1920’s in America

I just find this time period to be very interesting and also a lot of fun to read about. I seriously need more books set in this time period, so if you have any recommendations let me know! 😀

The two I read and loved were The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald and The Diviners by Libba Bray. They are both amazing! I would highly recommend both (though I think many have read The Great Gatsby already). The two I really want to read are Life After Life by Kate Atkinson and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith. They both sound interesting to me, though very different from each other.


The “Gothic” time period

Basically the classical Gothic novels. They tend to be my absolute favourites and there are many I read and loved, as there are many that I want to read.

Two of my favourite books of all time are The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde and Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. I love them sooo much! ❤ And I would, obviously, recommend them. The two that I look forward to reading are The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins and Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier.


Victorian era

I just noticed, when I looked through the books set in this time period, that I especially enjoy the stories that have supernatural/paranormal elements. Anyway, moving on!

First of all the two books I enjoyed a lot. Soulless by Gail Carriger and Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare. Both are amazing and I would recommend both series. 😀 Two that I really want to read are The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber and Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke. Especially Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell which I hope to read this month!


That’s all! 😀 Thank you for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

27 thoughts on “Historical Settings You Love || Top Ten Tuesday

  1. omg YES to the gothic periods!! I haven’t read really many books set in there? But I WANT TO BECAUSE SO MUCH AWESOME. I also like ancient historical fiction….or like ancient mythology but turned modern? (aka Percy Jackson<3) I think it's a really great way to learn about history but in a fun way!! Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES THEY ARE AMAZING! I love mythology as well. And I don’t care if it’s set in the ancient world or turned modern – it’s always awesome. ( Percy Jackson is the best ❤ ) I agree, I have learned soooo much from Rick Riordan's books! 😀

      Like

  2. Great list! I love that cover of Jane Eyre! Ancient Greece is probably my favorite of all historical settings. Have you read Sophocles’ Theban Plays? They are really sad, but really amazing! Oedipus Rex is probably the most famous of the three, but Antigone is my favorite 🙂

    My TTT.

    Also, feel free to check out our giveaway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yes, that cover is amazing – though I have never seen it in real life. (If I do, I’ll definitely be buying it.) I have read ‘Oedipus the King’ and ‘Antigone’ and I agree that they are sad, but also amazing! They are some of my favouirtes! 😀 I think I enjoyed ‘Oedipus’ a little bit more than ‘Antigone’ though.

      Like

    1. Hahaha! 😀 I see, I haven’t read ‘Etiquette and Espionage’ yet, as I want to finish the ‘Parasol Protectorate’ series first. Though I have heard that ‘Soulless’ (and this whole series) is A LOT better than ‘Etiquette and Espionage’. I shall see when I get to them. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great list, I love Greek mythology so anything set in that time, or even just inspired by that time, and it immediately goes onto my to-read list 🙂
    I’ve had The Diviners on my to-read list for a while now, and like you I love anything set in the Victorian era. I have Clockwork Angel on my to-read list as well, I’m hoping to get around to it before Lady Midnight is released 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I agree with you, Greek mythology is freaking amazing and I do want to, basically, read any book that has those elements. 😉
      The Victorian era is really fun to read about. I really hope you get to them soon! They are seriously fantastic books and some of my favourites! 😀 (So I hope you’ll enjoy them as well!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love reading about all the myths and the stories of Greek Gods, it why I really need to start the Percy Jackson series 🙂
        They’re on my to-read list, Clockwork Angel is quite near the top but there are a lot of books I need to get through first, and so many are being released this month.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

