top ten tuesday

Anti-Valentine’s Day Reads || Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created and

hosted by lovely people at The Broke and the Bookish.


This week the theme is surrounding Valentine’s Day, as it is coming up rather soon. I decided to go with my top ten anti-Valentine’s day reads as I am not the biggest fan of romance in books (nor of Valentines day for that matter). Anyway, let’s get to the books! 😀


The Woman in Black10. The Woman in Black by Susan Hill

This book is a ghost story. It’s a Gothic classic and it’s very creepy. or rather unnerving, as well.

There is no romance as the story is focused on the ghostly happenings and finding out what is actually going on.

I have read this book twice now and very much enjoyed it both times. It’s a fun read. I would recommend it, though not to people who don’t enjoy scary reads. BUT if you do like them I would highly recommend this book! ( And the movie as well! 😉 )


Alice's Adventures in Wonderland9. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

I don’t think I have to explain the plot of this story, as everyone knows what Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland are about.

Anyway, this is a quirky adventure that explores the fantastic world of Wonderland. There is absolutely no romance in it. It’s also a very fast and fun read, therefore I would highly recommend it.

I really need to read Through the Looking Glass as well, that one I have no idea what it is about. XD


Animal Farm8. Animal Farm by George Orwell

Animal Farm is one of my all time favourite classics. I absolutely adore this book.

It’s also the most thought provoking book that I have ever read. (This is also the last classic that I’ll be mentioning.)

I would highly recommend this book, as it is very important and I believe everyone should read it. Also, I need to read more books by George Orwell, as this is the only one that I have read by him.


Through the Woods7. Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Now let’s go with s graphic novel!

Through the Woods is a graphic novel that has a rather creepy and unnerving atmosphere. It’s made out of five short stories and each feels like a fairy tale.

The art in this one is absolutely gorgeous and I love the fact that the art changes a bit with each story. I would HIGHLY recommend this graphic novel, it is definitely one of my favouirtes and I LOVE rereading it from time to time.


The Ocean at the End of the Lane6. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

“Sussex, England. A middle-aged man returns to his childhood home to attend a funeral. Although the house he lived in is long gone, he is drawn to the farm at the end of the road, where, when he was seven, he encountered a most remarkable girl, Lettie Hempstock, and her mother and grandmother. He hasn’t thought of Lettie in decades, and yet as he sits by the pond (a pond that she’d claimed was an ocean) behind the ramshackle old farmhouse, the unremembered past comes flooding back. And it is a past too strange, too frightening, too dangerous to have happened to anyone, let alone a small boy.”

This book was beautiful and I would absolutely recommend it to everyone!


The Monstrumologist5. The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

I seem to be picking quite a few horror-ish books for this Top Ten Tuesday. That wasn’t my intention at all when I started writing this post, but it somehow turned out to be this way! XD

The Monstrumologist is about Dr. Warthrop (who researches monsters) and his assistant Will Henry and the adventures that they live through.

This book is amazing, I adored it when I read it. Also this one is either a hit or a miss for most people, so while I WOULD recommend it I would also read an excerpt to see if you like the writing style. 😀


Terry Pratchett4. The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett

I believe any Terry Pratchett book could work for this, as I don’t think any of them are focused on romance (I believe so, at least the ones that I have read by him haven’t had any romance).

I have also written a review for this book, you can read it here.

This is a story about a girl. who is a witch and all her crazy adventures. This is also a good place to start with Terry Pratchett’s books, as it is young adult and very easy to get into.

I would really recommend you read this book, it’s fantastic!


Patrick Ness3. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I have written a review for this book, you can read it here.

This book is manly about family, grief and how to deal with it. It’s a beautiful book with a beautiful story.

Also this is one of the only books that made me cry. And I don’t mean cry a bit, but full out sobbing. I would highly recommend it, Patrick Ness is amazing and more people need to read his books. 😀

Also this book is being made into a movie, that is coming out this year. The teaser trailer was really good and I’m very exited to watch it!


Gentlemen Bastards2. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

Fantasy is my favourite genre to read and this book is one of my absolute favourite fantasy reads. Obviously, I would highly recommend it!

“Set in a fantastic city pulsing with the lives of decadent nobles and daring thieves, here is a story of adventure, loyalty, and survival that is one part ‘Robin Hood’, one part ‘Ocean’s Eleven’, and entirely enthralling.” – (part of the summary that made me want to read it immediately).

I do believe that there is romance in book three, though I can’t say that for sure as I haven’t read it yet. I really need to continue reading this series! ❤


The Martian1. The Martian by Andy Weir 

This book is the story of a guy being stranded on Mars and his journey of survival. It’s a fantastic science-fiction book where the science isn’t waaaay to complicated but you can easily follow it.

Also Mark Watney (the protagonist) is one of the funniest characters that I have ever read about. It’s seriously a pleasure reading from his point of view.

I would highly recommend this book, it was one of my favouites from last year (and the movie is amazing as well). 😀


Thank you for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

19 thoughts on “Anti-Valentine’s Day Reads || Top Ten Tuesday

  1. So many of these I hadn’t heard of and will probably me added to my TBR immediately so thanks 🙂 Also on a slightly embarrassing note, I never knew The Woman in Black was a book, I just assumed Play then Movie so that will definitely be read soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Alice one of my favorite reads ever. And Neil Gaiman is one of the best authors ever so your list resonates with me so well. I actually did do a more valentine’s day theme top ten but your anti-vday list is wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your anti-Valentines Day reads- I love that you flipped this on its head like this! These are fantastic picks- especially Alice in Wonderland, Ocean at the end of the lane and martian. Also Monstrumologist and monster calls have been on my tbr for ages.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

