book review

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare || Book Review

24885537Title: City of Bones

          ( The Mortal Instruments #1 )

Author: Cassandra Clare

First published: 27. March 2007.

Edition: Margaret K. McElderry Books

                 Paperback, 544 pages

Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult | Paranormal

Summary: When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. And she’s more than a little startled when the body disappears into thin air. Soon Clary is introduced to the world of the Shadowhunters, a secret cadre of warriors dedicated to driving demons out of our world and back to their own. And Clary is introduced with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is almost killed by a grotesque monster. How could a mere human survive such an attack and kill a demon? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 3 out of 5 stars ►

Before I actually start writing the review I have a few things to say. I have read The Infernal Devices (and loved them) – just thought I would point that out. And I know many spoilers for this entire series, so most of the things that happen are not going to surprise me. (Though I’m sure I’ll find things I didn’t know beforehand.) Well, that was expected, as this series is very popular and I haven’t really tried to avoid the spoilers for some reason. Anyway, onto the review!

The writing: It was good but nothing too special. All in all pretty average. But I already expected this, I mean this is the first book Cassandra Clare has written and I know that she can write better – as proven by her later books. Anyway, I loved the dialogue that she writes. It was very funny and supper witty – my favourite kind.

The world: As I have read The Infernal Devices I already knew that I was going to love the world of the Shadowhunters. It was great reading about it and getting re-introduced into it. I’m very exited to continue reading this series and finding out more things about the world while doing that. 😀

The characters: Cassandra Clare manages to create some of the best characters that there are. I already loved Magnus Bane before starting this book and it was wonderful to read about him again. (He is my favourite character!) The others that I really liked are Simon, Izzy and Alec (in that order). Though I’m kind of indifferent about Jace and Clary at the moment – I like them at some points, at others they start annoying me. Who are your favourite characters in this series?

The story: Now onto the part I had the most problems with (aside from the writing), the story. I did find it entertaining and I wanted to know what was going to happen next – well for the most part anyway. There were times I simply lost interest in what was going on. It was also very weirdly paced at times.

All in all: I enjoyed this book as a whole. The characters are wonderful as is the world. And I know that the writing and story will improve. I’m very much looking forward to reading more from this series. Hopefully I’ll get to the next book some time soon. Would I recommend it? Yes, though I don’t think it’s needed as most people have already read this series. XD


Thank you for reading my review! I hope you have a wonderful day. 😀

 -Anna♥

21 thoughts on “City of Bones by Cassandra Clare || Book Review

  1. I’m glad you liked it! I’m also not big fans of Clary and Jace (they annoyed the crap out of me) which sucks because they’re the main leads. I read the rest of the trilogy but stopped reading after she extended it to a series. The Infernal Devices is definitely a step up in terms of writing but I felt like Tessa and Will were carbon copies of Clary and Jace.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah that does suck. I do hope I end up liking them more in future books. 😀 I see, I’m going to be reading the full series (hopefully I’ll manage to read all the books this year). I did like Tessa and Will a lot (and I mean A LOT), but for some reason Clary and Jace don’t click with me yet.

      Like

  2. I’m currently read City of Lost of Souls it’s amazing how far CC has come. She’s grown so much as a writer. 😊
    I had similar thoughts on City of Bones and I questioned why this book was hyped so much. But they do get better with each book. Hope you enjoy the rest of series and can’t wait to hear your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey 🙂
    I really liked your review and completely agree with what you said. Back with 13 I completely loved it. I still do that today, but when I re-read it I noticed some things you also mentioned. It was especially the kind of weirdly paced plot that “threw me off”. Also in the first book I was kind of annoyed by Jace/Clary, but I have to say that did change within the next books.
    I’d really recommend you to read the next books, if you liked the TID series you won’t be disappointed.

    Oh and finally someone who’s favourite character is Magnus *throws glitter*.

    Have a nice day,
    Love Lila from lilasbookdream

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! 😀
      I’m glad that you enjoyed my review. Yeah, if I was younger I would have loved this book a lot more. But it was still very good and I had a lot of fun reading it. Yeah, the pacing was really weird. Glad to hear that Jace/Clary gets better in the future books. I’m definitely going to read the next book (hopefully soon)!
      Yaaay for Magnus! ❤

      Like

  4. Sounds like you read the prequel before you read the TMI series. I also read it this way too hoping to enjoy the whole long ride before starting a new book. I don’t see you have a review for the prequel.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great review, Anna! So, you read The Infernal Devices series before picking this up? I don’t know much about the two series, are they related? That is implied with your love of Magnus Bane. This is the only Cassandra Clare book I’ve read, and I wasn’t super impressed, honestly. I couldn’t connect to the characters. 😦 You do mention the writing improves… should I keep reading these books?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jackie! 🙂 Yeah, I read The Infernal Devices first. They are the prequel trilogy to the Mortal Instruments that are set in Victorian England. I actually read them first, because everyone loved them and I love the time period that they are set in. It was a great decision to do that, because they are WAAAY better than the Mortal Instruments. The writing does improve, I would recommend you to try The Infernal Devices, if they sound interesting to you. I love all the characters from that series, especially the main three ones. 😀 Not sure about The Mortal Instruments though. I have only read the first two books, the second one was better though. Still hating Clary and Jace however.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

