book review

The Unforgotten by Laura Powell || ARC Review

Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher (through NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

The UnforgottenTitle: The Unforgotten

Author: Laura Powell

Published: 17 March 2016.

Edition: Freight Books

Paperback, 272 pages

Genre: Mystery | Thriller | Historical Fiction

Summary: It’s 1956 and fifteen-year-old Betty Broadbent has never left the Cornish fishing village of St Steele or ventured far beyond the walls of the boarding house run by her erratic mother. But when the London press pack descends to report on a series of gruesome murders of young women, Betty’s world changes. In particular she is transfixed by mysterious and aloof reporter, Mr Gallagher.

As the death toll rises, an unlikely friendship blossoms between Betty and Gallagher. But as their bond deepens, they find themselves entangled with the murders and each is forced to make a devastating choice, one that will shape their own lives – and the life of an innocent man – forever.

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 2 out of 5 stars ►

Where do I start with this review? Well I should probably mention that the story focuses on the romance between a fifteen year old girl and an older guy, who I believe is around thirty. Just wanted to put it out there, as I’m sure quiet a few people would have a problem with that.

The writing in this book was rather average and not too memorable. The story jumps between the past and the future, which brought me out of the story quiet a lot. I got annoyed at times when it would switch between time periods and I found it sometimes hard to follow.

The mystery was more of a side story than the main focus, which was too bad as that is the part I enjoyed the most. Also the characters weren’t very likable and also underdeveloped.

Now lets talk about the characters a bit more. First we have Betty, who is our main female character. She did quiet a few questionable things and made very bad decision. Example: she went out after dark ALONE while there was a serial killer on the loose. I seriously wanted to smack her at some times. Then we have Gallagher who is the love interest. He was quiet mean and very creepy. The way he behaved and said some things was really unnerving. Then there is Mary, who is supposed to be Betty’s best friend, but she is mostly self-centered and cares only about herself and if she is going to get the guy she likes. And lastly there is Betty’s mother, who is mentally ill and not stable when in “one of her moods”. She also verbally abuses Betty and wants to merry her off no matter what she wants. Basically I didn’t like any of the characters.

Now that I have complained about the characters lets move on to the romance. Firs of all it was insta-love. Betty fell in love with Gallagher immediately after meeting him and got obsessed with him (and what he thinks of her). The relationship progressed very fast. Plus as I already mentioned Gallagher was creepy and I felt quiet uncomfortable while reading about their relationships.

Okay, I have rambled enough. All in all this book wasn’t the best and I didn’t enjoy it much. My favourite part was the mystery everything else fell flat.

Would I recommend it? No, not really.


Thank you for reading my review. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

3 thoughts on “The Unforgotten by Laura Powell || ARC Review

Leave a Reply

