top five wednesday

Book I’m Intimidated By || Top Five Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday

Top Five Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey @GingerReadsLainey and she has passed down the torch to Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. For more information and for future topics you can check out the goodreads group.


So I finally decided to participate in top five Wednesday! 😀 I have wanted to do it for ages but never got around to it for some reason. Today, after spending nearly the whole day studying, I felt like writing something and seeing as it is Wednesday I thought this would be the perfect time to start it. (Even though it’s already 11:30 pm when I’m writing this.) 😄 Anyway, let’s get into the list!


The 5th Wave5. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Now this might seem like a weird choice of book to be intimidated by (especially when you see the other ones on my list).

So why am I intimidated by this book? Well, I have heard many mixed things about it and some of my friends (that usually have the same opinion on books as I) hated this book. Plus I have read the first two book of The Monsrtumologist series by the same author and really enjoyed them – now I’m kind of scared to read this book and hate it not enjoy it as much as I hoped I would when I bought it.

Afterworlds4. Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

Well, it’s nearly the same situation as with The 5th Wave. I have heard many mixed things about it (though this time not from the friends I mentioned before). And I have already read The Uglies trilogy (or however it’s called) by this author and enjoyed it.

Now there are two other things that intimidate me about this book. The first is the length (which will be the recurring theme throughout this list) and the second is that it’s a contemporary – which might be weird for some people, but I’m not the biggest fan of contemporary and I tend to not enjoy them as much as other people.

Stephen King3. 11/22/63 by Stephen King

This book is seriously gigantic – the edition that I have has over 1000 pages and the writing is seriously tiny. Not that I expected anything else, as most of Stephen Kings books are that way.

Another thing, beside the insane length, of this book that intimidates me is the theme – or rather what it’s about. Basically I don’t know much about American history, least of all about the presidents (or in this case the assassination on Kennedy). So I’m not really sure how to approach this book. I might wait until I’m home so I can annoy my mom with all the things I don’t know. 😄

Edgar Allan Poe2. Complete Tales and Poems by Edgar Allan Poe

Now onto the two classics that intimidated me the most!

I got this book for my birthday some years ago and still haven’t read it. Mostly because the length and the language intimidate me. I remember we had to read some of the short stories in school, as our teacher wanted to see how good our English was, and I had problems with it (well it was when I was around 12 or 13 and my English is a lot better now so I shouldn’t have any problems with it). But I still remember the feeling of not being able to follow the story and that’s mostly the reason that I haven’t picked it up.

 Les Misérables1. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo

I bought this book a few years ago. Actually it was right after I watched the 2012. movie (Oh. My. God. I didn’t realize it was that long ago…Four years. What the hell?) in the cinema. I remember watching it twice with some of my best friends, we basically became obsessed with it. Me being the bookworm that I am decided that I wanted to read the book. And now four years later it still hasn’t happened (though I have started it two or three times, and given up at around 100-200 pages). I’m mostly intimidated by the length of it and by the fact that my edition has super tiny font. This is the only book that I own that I’m unsure I’ll ever read.


Thank you for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day! (Or night, as it’s nearly midnight when I’m posting this.)

-Anna♥

18 thoughts on “Book I’m Intimidated By || Top Five Wednesday

  1. I was a little worried about reading The 5th Wave — but I actually really enjoyed it. It would have to be one of the most amazing young adult science fiction books I have ever read. However, I have read conflicting reviews about the second book. Now, I’m a little worried about that one :/

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yes! I totally agree with you on all of these! I’ve been a bit worried about The 5th Wave and Afterworlds myself because of the mixed reviews. I have had 11/22/63 since it came out and I’ve been so intimidated by it the entire time! I also have a Stephen King book on my list (Under the Dome) that’s also over 1000 pages. I know I usually love his books…but those page counts… Haha 😀

    I’ve read a lot of Edgar Allan Poe and I really enjoy his work, but the length of the complete works and the darkness of the subject matter make it a pretty daunting read. Definitely something that’s good to read in smaller chunks! Les Mis is one classic I’ve been hesitant on, even though I love the story. And I completely feel your pain on the tiny font! I feel way too young to be saying this, but my eyes can’t take it! 😛 Great post, Anna! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When books get mixed reviews (especially from people that usually have the same opinion as me) I get worried about reading them. Well hopefully we will both fall into the category of people who enjoyed The 5th Wave and Afterworlds! Same with me! 😀 I usually adore Stephen King books and I have read quiet a few of his long ones (Salem’s Lot, It, The Stand) but I still feel intimidated by them. I have actually read Under the Doom and enjoyed it quiet a lot! 🙂

      Yeah, it is pretty daunting. I am definitely going to read it in chunks – I think reading it in one go would only put me in a slump and I wouldn’t want to read it at all. Hahaha, the tiny font is seriously annoying and my eyes can’t take it either! 😛 I have thought about picking up the audio book (or getting it on Kindle) as I imagine it would be easier to read like that.

      Thank you! ❤

      Like

  3. I have Les Miserables on my list too and the size is what intimidates me. I should probably watch the movie first 🙂 I read 11/22/63 last year with my book club but really enjoyed it. I don’t know anything about American History, actually read about the assassination after reading the book although I had heard it before. I have also never read anything else on time travel but I really enjoyed the book. I hope that you will get to read it someday and hopefully enjoy it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Les Miserables is enormous and I seriously respect everyone who managed to read it. I would recommend the movie, I really enjoyed it! 🙂 I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it! I’ll definitely get to it one day, though it’s not my priority at the moment. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

