wrap up

April | Wrap Up

Another month gone by. In April I managed to read 6 books (or two books and four novellas, if you want to be very specific). And I’m really happy with the amount I managed to read, which is always wonderful! 😀 Now lets get into the books I read this month!

Agatha ChristieHercule Poirot and the Greenshore Folly by Agatha Christie

4 out of 5 stars

The first book, or rather novella, that I read this month. I really enjoyed myself. It was such a cute book…if a murder mystery can be cute. The story was really interesting and I do love reading about Hercule Poirot.

And no, I didn’t see the conclusion coming – it surprise me. Not that I’m that god at figuring out who did the deed. (Though I’m always strangely proud when I do figure it out!)

Shatter MeShatter Me by Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me #1)

3 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed the writing style, though it did take some getting used to. But once I got used to it I immediately fell in love with it. Tahereh Mafi writes beautifully.

Now lets talked about the characters. I liked Juliette quiet a bit, although I was annoyed by her at some times. Still she was a very interesting character and I loved reading from her perspective. I loved Warner! And yes, I’m aware I’m not supposed to like him (in this book at least) but he turned out to be my favourite character. That probably says something about me… And I hated Adam, like seriously hated him. Not really getting into that, as I would probably get annoyed.

Shatter MeDestroy Me by Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me #1.5)

5 out of 5 stars

Warner was basically my favourite character in Shatter Me. And as I expected, I ended up enjoying this novella a lot!

Getting to know more about Warner and reading from his perspective was seriously amazing! I wish all the books were written from his point of view. He is by far the most interesting character in this series. This novella just made me like him even more than I already did, which is always great!

Also this has to be one of the best novellas that I have ever read.

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn 24583The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain and The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

3 our of 5 stars and 2 out of 5 stars

Well, I finally go around to reading these books. We never had to read them for school and I never picked them up before now. Which is too bad, as I have a feeling I would have enjoyed both books a lot more if I were younger. Both were enjoyable reads, though I had problems with them as well. I think I prefer The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, mostly because I liked him as a character more and his adventures were crazier.

Blood of my BloodBlood of my Blood by Barry Lyga (Jasper Dent #3)

3 out of 5 stars

The last book I read this month and a last book in a trilogy. I finally got around to reading this one, I read the first one ages ago and for some reason never picked this one up – now I finally have.

So, where to start with this one. I really enjoyed the first book, it was seriously amazing! Both the second and third were disappointing to me. (The second one more so.)

I had problems with the characters (as I didn’t like many of them), especially since we got/had to read from their perspective as well and not only Jasper’s. Seeing as I didn’t like them that much I didn’t look forward to their chapters. My favourite character was Jasper, he really is great and I loved reading from his perspective.

All in all I’m satisfied with the conclusion and I would recommend this series, if the premise sounds interesting to you.


This was my reading month! I’m pretty happy with how much I managed to read.

Thank you for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

One thought on “April | Wrap Up

  1. I feel the same way about the Shatter Me Trilogy. I loved it as a story and everything but Juliette was lacking as a character. She obviously is an insecure person and basically frightened of er own shadow, but I still felt she lacked depth. She gets a little better further along the trilogy. WARNER! I agree entirely. There was something about him, despite the fact that he shot somebody and that he is the antagonist, that really pulled me toward his character. The series goves you more reason to like him. Lastly, I didn’t like Adam either. Even though he supposedly completely on Juliette’s side there was something off?…about his character that I didn’t like.

    Like

Leave a Reply

