top ten tuesday

Childhood Characters I’d Love To Revisit As Adults | Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme

created and hosted by lovely people at The Broke and the Bookish.


Today’s topic for top ten Tuesday is the ten characters I would love to revisit as adults or sometime in the future. I really do like this topic, it gives me a chance to revisit some of my childhood books. Though it also makes me sad that these books (or novellas) don’t exist.

Today is my birthday as well! 😀 I’m turning 21 for those who were curious. I can’t believe it’s already my birthday, the time really passes fast. Anyway, hopefully today will be a nice day! (Even though I’m going to spend most of it at university.)


The Snow Spider10. Gwyn

from The Snow Spider Trilogy by Jenny Nimmo

I remember reading this trilogy when I was younger, and rereading it quiet a few times actually. It was one of my absolute favourite books when I was little.

It would be really interesting to learn what happened after the whole story and what happened to the characters after 10 years.


Lemony Snickett9.  The Baudelaire siblings

from A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

After all the horrible things that happen to these siblings and all the adventures they went through I would love to learn what happened to them, how their lives turned out to be.

(I’m not sure if there is a sequel or something, but as far as I’m informed there isn’t one.)


The Perks of Being a Wallflower8. Charlie

from The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

One of my all time favourite books. One of the books I reread the most. Charlie is also one of my favourite characters, and one I related to quiet a lot.

I would seriously love to see what happened to him after the events of this book. (Or basically I just want to read more about him and from this author.)


The Invention of Hugo Cabret7. Hugo

from The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

Same as with the books I already mentioned, I would love to see what happened to Hugo.

I would especially love a sequel to this book, as it was a very interesting concept. Half of the book was in drawings and the other half was text, which I never saw before. I seriously want a sequel to this book!


Emma6. Emma

from Emma by Jane Austen

Emma is the first novel by Jane Austen that I have ever read and it made me fall in love with her stories and want to read all of her books (which I do plan to do).

I would love to read about Emma’s life after the events of this book and see how her future turned out to be.


The Secret Garden5. Mary Lennox

from The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

This is one of my favourite childhood classics. I remember reading it over and over again with my cousin, it was one of our favourite stories.

Same as with the others I would love to see what happened to her and how her life turned out to be.


The Catcher in the Rye4. Holden Caulfield

from The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

Well here is a character that some really like and some really hate. Personally I’m one of the people who liked him, when I first read this book. Though I have a feeling I would hate him if I reread the book now, as I have no patience for whiny characters.

Sill I would like what happened to him. And how he changed throughout the years.


The Lord of the Rings3. Fellowship of the Ring

from The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

This is one of my all time favourite books. I absolutely adored it! (And yes, I’m counting the whole trilogy as one book – as Tolkien had originally planned it like that.)

I would just love to see the lives of all the characters after the events that happened. I’m really interested in what they did afterwards. (Or rather I just want to read more about them and this world.)


The Graveyard Book2. Nobody Owens

from The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

The first book by Neil Gaiman that I ever read and the one that made me fall in love with his writing and storytelling. I absolutely love this story and the characters in it as well.

So I, obviously, would love to revisit them after some years. And I really want to know what happened to Nobody Owens, I really loved reading about him.


Harry Potter1. Literary any character

from Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

And here we go with my obsession with Harry Potter again. I don’t think anyone is surprised that I’m mentioning this series.

Basically I want to read about any character and their lives after the events of the main story (or before or during…basically I just want more books set in this wonderful world).


Thank you for reading! I hope you have a wonderful day.

-Anna♥

42 thoughts on “Childhood Characters I’d Love To Revisit As Adults | Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Happy birthday Anna. I hope you enjoy your day even if you are Uni. Do something nice/fun. Have a good one. I have two books on your list on my TBR pile; The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Emma. Can’t wait to read them and meet the characters that you have mentioned 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! ❤ It did turn out to be a rather good day, if only for seeing some friends and having fun with them. That's great! I greatly enjoyed both books and would consider them favourites. I hope you end up loving them as much as I did! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I hate Caulfield, but even I have to admit I’m oddly curious to know how he turned out as an adult down the road. I find that most people get less whiney & self-centered so they get older. I wonder if Holden would be the same. Maybe I’d like him more all grown up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy birthday! Enjoy every moment of it! Definitely agree with Lord of the Rings. The appendix stories are not enough! I’d love to see Aragorn as king, maybe meeting up with Sam, Merry and Pippin to tell wonder about their friends in the Undying Lands as they send Sam off.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! ❤ I definitely agree – the appendix stories are not enough! It would seriously be amazing to read about that! I would love to read about Legolas as well, as I want to see more of the elves and their lives/traditions. Basically I want more stories set in this wonderful world!

      Like

  4. Happy 21st birthday! I remember when I turned 21….now I’m 23 turning 24 in September. Time flies when you’re having fun!

    Anyway, I totally thought about adding Holden. I’d love to see if he complains less as an adult. While I enjoyed the book, I hated how he disliked everything.

    Ooooh Charlie is also a really great choice. I agree that I’d love to see what happens to him after everything that happens in the book. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! ❤ Hahaha, it sure does. I have no idea how it's already my birthday!

      I read the book at least 5 years ago, so I don't really remember how annoying Holden was (or how much he disliked everything). I would love to see how he turned out to be as an adult, if or how much he has changed.

      YES! Ever since I first read Perks of Being a Wallflower I wanted a sequel to find out what happened to Charlie! 🙂

      Like

  5. Happy birthday 🙂 We definitely share a few on this list – Mary Lennox and any character from HP! Tolkien is missing off mine but he is there in spirit (as usual!) I cannot get enough of his writing 😀

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, and great choices this week! I’d love to visit the Baudelaire siblings as well, I loved that series although I read it when I was a teenager more than I was a child. And ‘literally any character’ from Harry Potter is right. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What an awesome list! I basically just agreed with every since one. I love that you would read about any Harry Potter character–ME TOO! Seriously there is no such thing as too much Harry Potter literature 🙂 Also love that you have the Bauldelaires on your list. I would love to hear more about them. And the Fellowship of the Ring. And Mary Lennox. And Emma (LOVE Jane Austen!). New follower and loving your blog 🙂

    My TTT: https://greenishbookshelf.com/2016/05/03/top-10-tuesday-characters-i-would-love-to-revisit/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😀 I totally agree – I would read ALL the Harry Potter books, no matter about what they were! I only wish J.K. Rowling would write more. Jane Austen is seriously amazing! She is one of my favourite authors. 🙂 Which is your favourite book by her? Thank you! I’m glad you are enjoying my blog.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I see so many people pick fictional children that they want to follow up on but I love your choice with Emma! I’d really want to know how she is a couple of years later and what she’s doing. A check-up on Knightley and Harriet would be so cool too =)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

