book haul

Birthday | Book Haul

Book Haul

So this is the first ever book haul that I’m posting on this blog! It was also my birthday on the 3rd of May. Seeing as it was my birthday and I got books, it gave me the perfect opportunity to post my first ever book haul! πŸ™‚

I, most likely, won’t be posting monthly book hauls because I don’t buy many books in one month. So I’ll be posting them once I have some books to show! Who knows when that’s going to happen, as I have had this blog for months and now I’m posting a book haul. XD We shall see!


Book HaulI have mentioned quiet a few times on my blog that I absolutely adore The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien.

But I have read them in German (and reread them in Serbian and German) and never in English. I have wanted to do that ever since I read them for the first time! (Which was at least seven years ago.)

And now I finally got all of them in English, with beautiful covers in a box set. I’m super exited about these books! πŸ˜€


As we are already talking writingΒ about classics lets talk about the only other classic I got! (I actually requested it, as I need to read it for University – I’m doing a course on English Literature this semester.)

Book HaulThe book is Hear of Darkness by Joseph Conrad.

I actually have no idea what this book is about and I’m not sure I’ll be looking it up before reading it. (I mean it’s only about 140 pages long and I want to explore the story without knowing much about it.)

I adore the Penguin English Library editions. They are freaking beautiful and this is the third one that I own. (The other two are Jane Eyre and Great Expectations.) I do plan to buy more books in this edition, as I want to collect as many as possible.


Book HaulI also got a graphic novel – one that I have wanted for ages! (As I have heard only amazing things about it.) It’s obviously Nimona by Noelle Stevenson.

I have already started reading it, though I’m only around 30 pages in (from around 270). I am seriously enjoying it so far! It’s very good and Nimona is freaking amazing! I love her as a character. The art is also really cute.

If it’s already this good and I’m enjoying it this much when I only read 30 pages I can’t wait to read more. This is going to be such an amazing read!


The next two books I got as gifts are:

Book HaulI have read The Archived by Victoria Schwab quiet a while ago. It was also the first book I read by her and it was also the one that made me fall in love with her writing. For some reason I never got the sequel, until now that is! I’m really exited to be reading it soon, though I should reread The Archived as well.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet is a book I have been hearing a lot about lately, and only positive things. I also want to read more science fiction, so I’m super glad to have gotten this book! (I don’t know anything about it beside that it’s science fiction, just wanted to point that out.)


Book HaulAnd the last two books I got (that are quiet yellow) are:

Patrick Ness is one of my favourite authors and I have loved everything I read by him so far (which is 4 books). And I do want everything that he has ever written. Guess the next one I’m going to be reading is More Than This – it’s going to be great.

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore is a book for book lovers. Or that’s at least what I heard and what made me want to read it in the first place! I’m very exited about it.


Well, that was very chatty. I didn’t expect to write as much as I did, but oh well! XD Have you read any of these books? Do you want to read any of them?

Thank you for reading! I hope you have an amazing day!

-Annaβ™₯

34 thoughts on “Birthday | Book Haul

  1. There’s only one from this whole list that I HAVE read and that was Nimona! I didn’t expect much from it and so I was so impressed! The book was really funny and cute yet also a little different in terms what I thought the mood was going to be like. As for the others, I haven’t read any of them BUT most of them ARE on my TBR, I’m excited to hear your thoughts on them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your editions of The Lord of the Rings & Hobbit!
    I read More Than This and I really enjoyed it. But I was not so impressed with Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore – I started reading it but I didn’t finish it. But I think it was just not the right time for me to read this book. I will definitely try to read it again someday because I still think that synopsis is interesting and I want to read it.

    And Happy Birthday! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are really beautiful and I’m very happy to have gotten them! πŸ™‚
      I’m really exited to read More Than This, as I have absolutely loved everything else I read by Patrick Ness. I’m reading Mr Penumbra’s right now (though I have only read a little bit) but I’m enjoying it so far.

      Thank you! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Birthday Anna!
    And this is such a great haul as well. I love Nimona so I really hope to rest of the book lives up to the 30 pages you’ve read so far πŸ˜€
    Also I’ve heard a lot about The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet so I’ve added it to my to-read list purely based on the positive reviews I’ve seen so far πŸ™‚ and The Archived is brilliant, if you love V.E. Scwab you’ll love this one as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! ❀
      I just finished Nimona and wow – it was amazing! I absolutely loved it, didn't expect for it to turn out the way it did though. XD
      Yes, everyone seems to love The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and I'm super exited to read it. Hopefully I'll enjoy it as much as everyone else! πŸ™‚ I'm sure it's going to be amazing, I hope to reread The Archived soon, so that i can read the sequel.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right ❀
        Neither did I actually but wow it was amazng wasn't it?! I'm hoping there'll be a sequel one day!
        I've added The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet to me to-read list, hopefully yeah it'll be as amazing we both think it's gonna be πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes it really was! A sequel would be fantastic! I really hope that she writes/illustrates one soon! πŸ˜€
          Have you read Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson? I just need more of her work in my life – though I’m also not sure if it’s something for me…

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

