book review

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson || Graphic Novel Review

NimonaTitle: Nimona

Author: Noelle Stevenson

Published: May 12th 2015.

Edition: HarperTeen

                  Paperback, 266 pages

Genre: Graphic Novel | Fantasy | Young Adult

Summary: Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Featuring an exclusive epilogue not seen in the web comic, along with bonus conceptual sketches and revised pages throughout, this gorgeous full-color graphic novel is perfect for the legions of fans of the web comic and is sure to win Noelle many new ones.

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 4.5 OUT OF 5 STARS ►

When I started reading this graphic novel I didn’t plan on writing a review for it. But after actually finishing it I knew I had to write a review (even if it turns out to be a short one).

THE ART: I was very surprised by the art, it wasn’t the way I expected it to be. Why? I simply wasn’t used to reading graphic novels that had that many panels on one page. (And that’s the way this one starts out.) The surprise aside, the art was simply wonderful. I loved the way the characters were designed. The backgrounds and everything else was gorgeous as well. After reading this I seriously need more art from Noelle Stevenson. (Definitely going to pick up something else by her.)

THE CHARACTERS: The characters were very interesting and a lot more complex than I expected them to be. Ballister, Nimona and Ambrosius were all wonderful and I really loved reading about them. Their interactions and dialog were also wonderful. I can’t go into much detail about the characters, as I don’t want to spoil anything.

THE STORY: The story started out being really fun and cute. Then it went ways I never expected it to go and it got a lot darker. I greatly appreciated that and absolutely loved it. It just made my whole experience of this graphic novel greater than I thought it would be. The story just kept surprising me and I couldn’t put this book down.

OVERALL: This graphic novel was simply amazing. Everything about it is wonderful – from the art, to the characters, to the story. I would highly recommend it!

GIF


Have you read this graphic novel? Did you enjoy it?

Thank you all for reading my review. I hope you have a wonderful day! 😀

-Anna♥

11 thoughts on “Nimona by Noelle Stevenson || Graphic Novel Review

Leave a Reply

