anime wrap up

Old and New Favourites | Anime Wrap Up [#2]

It’s rather four old favourites and one new one! 😀

Somehow I have already managed to finish 5 anime since my last wrap up (which was at the beginning of the month). How? I have no idea, though I did watch two movies which has helped. Anyway, onto the anime that I recently finished and absolutely loved! ❤

GIF

I have linked all the anime to their MyAnimeList page – so if you want to know more about them just click on the title of the anime you’re interested in!


AnimeHowl’s Moving Castle

Movie

Adventure | Fantasy | Drama

My rating: 10/10 (Masterpiece)

This movie is about Sophie, the plain daughter of a hatmaker who enjoys working hard at the shop. Sophie’s simple life takes a turn for the exciting when she meets the mysterious Witch of the Waste who turns her into an old woman.

To change back Sophie needs the help of the magnificent wizard Howl who lives in a magical castle. She must accompany him on a dangerous adventure as a raging war tears their kingdom apart.

My thoughts: 

First of all this is not at all objective. This movie has been one of my favourites for years and I just felt the need to re-watch it. I absolutely adore both the book by Diana Wynne Jones and this animated movie. I love the characters, the story, the magic, basically everything! ❤ This movie just brings me such joy I can’t even explain it!

Would I recommend this movie?

YES! Please watch this movie it’s absolutely wonderful! I highly recommend it!


Hotarubi no Mori eAnime

Movie

Drama | Romance | Supernatural

My rating: 9/10 (Great)

Intrigued by the tale of a mountain god, six-year-old Hotaru Takegawa loses her way in the ancient forest while visiting her uncle. Exhausted and desperate for help, Hotaru is thrilled to find a masked forest spirit named Gin. She learns the hard way that she should not touch the boy, or he would disappear. In spite of this, Gin leads Hotaru out of the forest and warns her never to return when she promises to come again with a gift.

Paying no heed to his cautionary words, and despite being separated by both distance and planes of existence, Hotaru and Gin become close friends as she visits him every summer. However, their relationship and resolve are put to the test, when romantic feelings conflict with the one and only rule. (This is taken from MyAnimeList as I didn’t really know how to summarize it.)

My thoughts:

Like with the previous one I adore the characters and the story is also wonderful. This one is more heartbreaking and I did cry while watching it. (At many different points, even the beginning – this movie just makes me cry.) Still it is absolutely gorgeous and I adore the art of this movie as well. This one was recommended to me by one of my friends and I’m forever thankful that she convinced me to watch it! (Or in this case re-watch it.)

Would I recommend this movie?

Yes! I would definitely recommend it, though be warned it’s a sad one.


AnimeNatsume Yuujinchou

Episodes: 13

Drama | Slice of Life | Fantasy

My rating: 9/10 (Great)

This anime is about a boy called Natsume who can see youkai (spirits/demons). For as long as he can remember, he has been constantly chased by them. One day he stumbles upon the “Book of Friends” that his deceased grandmother Reiko possessed. This book contains the names of all the spirits that were under her control and now they are under Natsume’s. His adventures begin from there!

Without parents and a loving home, and constantly being hunted by hostile, merciless youkai, Natsume is looking for solace—a place where he belongs.

My thoughts:

I love supernatural stories that feature youkai! This is such a beautiful and moving anime. It’s very sad at times, but also happy and hopeful. The characters are wonderful and Natsume is one of my all time favourites. I seriously adore him! I love the supernatural elements and the story is amazing as well! The atmosphere is something I appreciate greatly, it’s very calming and soothing. (At least it is to me!)

I should probably mention that this anime follows his daily life with supernatural and fantasy elements added into the mix.

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes, I would absolutely recommend it! A little warning beforehand, this is only the first season of the anime – right now there are four of them. They are all wonderful, I just wanted to point out that there is a lot of it to watch!


AnimeBaccano!

Episodes: 13

Comedy | Historical | Action | Supernatural

Rating: R – 17+ (violence & profanity)

My rating: 9/10 (Great)

During the early 1930s in Chicago, the transcontinental train, Flying Pussyfoot, is starting its legendary journey that will leave a trail of blood all over the country. At the same time in New York, the ambitious scientist Szilard and his unwilling aide Ennis are looking for missing bottles of the immortality elixir. In addition, a war between the mafia groups is getting worse. On board the Advena Avis, in 1711, alchemists are about to learn the price of immortality.

(This is taken from MyAnimeList as I didn’t really know how to summarize it.)

My thoughts:

This is the new favourite that I mentioned in the beginning of this post. This anime kept on surprising me again and again. I had no idea what expect when I started watching it (as I didn’t read the summary or anything about it) but it turned out to be absolutely brilliant! The story alternates between different times which was very interesting. The characters were quirky and very lovably (aside from a few). This story is just so cleverly written, I absolutely loved it!

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes! Especially if you like historical and mafia themed stories. This one is also very focused on the interactions between the characters, though there is quiet a lot of action in it as well!


AnimeKuroshitsuji: Book of Circus

Episodes: 10

Demons | Fantasy | Historical

Rating: R – 17+ (violence & profanity)

My rating: 9/10 (Great)

Full of wonder and excitement, the Noah’s Arc Circus troupe has captured audiences with their dazzling performances. Yet these fantastic acts don’t come without a price. Children have mysteriously gone missing around London, correlating to that of the groups’ movements. Unsettled by these kidnappings, Queen Victoria sends in her notorious guard dog, Ciel Phantomhive, and his ever-faithful demon butler, Sebastian Michaelis, on an undercover mission to find these missing children.

(This is taken from MyAnimeList as I didn’t really know how to summarize it.)

My thoughts:

This is actually one of my favourite manga of all time. And this adaptation is wonderful! It follows the original story from the manga and I’m super happy about that! I love the characters, the time period it’s set in and all the supernatural elements. Plus it’s set in the circus, I couldn’t ask for more!

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes and no. I would recommend this to people who are already into Kuroshitsuji. This is not the first season of the anime. And the first season is not that good, as it doesn’t really follow the manga. The manga is amazing and I would highly recommend you read it!


That’s all for today! 😀

Thank you all for reading and I hope you have an amazing day!

-Anna♥

22 thoughts on “Old and New Favourites | Anime Wrap Up [#2]

      1. YAY! I’ve been looking for bloggers who have watched both of them haha. They are my favourites! I think a rewatch of Code Geass is due. Have you finished Gintama?

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I was crying like a baby when I finished Hotarubi no Mori e. Seriously, if I want to torture someone, I would rec that to them (just kidding, it’s sooo good) *sob* The only one on your list I haven’t watched is Baccano. Will definitely add it to me to-watch. Love the post ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Some great anime on this list. I love Natsume and Baccano. Book of Circus is also fantastic except that it probably works better if you are already into Black Butler.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I only recently started watching anime again, barely, after not having watched anything since maybe 2012. Posts like this inspire me to really pick it back up 😀 I need to find out what’s new, I haven’t been paying attention at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to help motivating you to watch anime again! 🙂 Well, MyAnimeList always helps me find anime to watch and you can look up the more recent ones as well! (I don’t know if you use it or not.) 😀

      Like

  4. omgomg we have such similar tastes in anime! Howl’s moving castle is forever my #1 & I recently just watched Hotarubi no mori e and bawled like a baby haha. It’s the reason I started Natsume ^^

    Like

  5. Howl’s Moving Castle is one of my absolute favorites alongside Spirited Away ❤
    Hotarubi no Mori e was such a bittersweet story.
    And OMG, Baccano! was such a fun watch! xD I loved the mixture of blood and humor.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES for both of those movies! ❤ I adore Spirited Away nearly as much as Howl’s Moving Castle!
      It sure was but I loved it non the less.
      Hahaha, yeah it was! At first I was surprised at the amount of blood (as I didn't look up the rating or anything about the anime really). It's such a good anime!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

