top ten tuesday

Most Anticipated Releases For The Second Half Of The Year || Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme

created and hosted by lovely people at The Broke and the Bookish.


Today’s post is going to be a bit shorter than usual. I’m seriously busy today and don’t really have the time to write all my thoughts down. Plus, let’s be real, I tend to ramble and I have waaaay to little time to do that today. XD

Anyway, these books are in order of the publication date. It’s just easier that way for me to list them, as I’m quiet equally exited for most of them!

(Oh, and all the blurbs are taken from goodreads. Just wanted to point that out.)


1. This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab (June 7th 2016)

Victoria SchwabThere’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.


2. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling (July 31st 2016)

Harry PotterBased on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, a new play by Jack Thorne, is the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. It will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on 30th July 2016

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes darkness comes from unexpected places.


3. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff (August 11th 2016)

NevernightDestined to destroy empires, Mia Covere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.

Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and demons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no Hogwarts, but Mia is no ordinary student.

The shadows love her. And they drink her fear.


4. Pretty Deadly Vol.2: The Bear by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Emma Ríos (August 30th 2016)

Pretty DeadlyThe follow up to the Eisner-nominated, New York Times bestselling PRETTY DEADLY, VOL. 1: THE SHRIKE.

Sarah Fields is dying and her children strike a bargain with the Immortals: give them one month, until the moon is full again, to find her son. The boy is far away, in the trenches of France, stalked by the Reapers of Vengeance and Cruelty.

Collects PRETTY DEADLY #6-10


5. Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs (September 3rd 2016)

Tales of the PeculiarBefore Miss Peregrine gave them a home, the story of peculiars was written in the Tales.

Wealthy cannibals who dine on the discarded limbs of peculiars. A fork-tongued princess. These are but a few of the truly brilliant stories in Tales of the Peculiar—the collection of fairy tales known to hide information about the peculiar world, including clues to the locations of time loops—first introduced by Ransom Riggs in his #1 bestselling Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series.

Riggs now invites you to share his secrets of peculiar history, with a collection of original stories in this deluxe volume of Tales of the Peculiar. Featuring stunning illustrations from world-renowned artist Andrew Davidson, this compelling, rich, and truly peculiar anthology is the perfect gift for not only fans, but for all lovers of great storytelling.


6. Kingdom of Ash and Briars by Hannah West (September 15th 2016)

Kingdom of Ash and BriarsBristal, an orphaned kitchen maid, lands in a gritty fairy tale gone wrong when she discovers she is an elicromancer with a knack for shape-shifting. An ancient breed of immortal magic beings, elicromancers have been winnowed down to merely two – now three – after centuries of bloody conflict in the realm. Their gifts are fraught with responsibility, and sixteen-year-old Bristal is torn between two paths. Should she vow to seek the good of the world, to protect and serve mortals? Or should she follow the strength of her power, even if it leads to unknown terrors?

She draws on her ability to disguise herself as a man to infiltrate a prince’s band of soldiers, and masquerades as a fairy godmother to shield a cursed princess, but time is running out. As an army of dark creatures grows closer, Bristal faces a supernatural war. To save the kingdoms, Bristal must find the courage to show her true form.

Building on homages to Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Jane Austen’s Emma and the Chinese legend of Hua Mulan, Hannah West makes a spectacular debut.


7. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor (September 27th 2016)

Strange the DreamerStrange the Dreamer is the story of:

the aftermath of a war between gods and men.
a mysterious city stripped of its name.
a mythic hero with blood on his hands.
a young librarian with a singular dream.
a girl every bit as dangerous as she is in danger.
alchemy and blood candy, nightmares and godspawn, moths and monsters, friendship and treachery, love and carnage.

Welcome to Weep.


8. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (September 27th 2016)

27840861

No synopsis for this one, as I’m currently reading the first book and don’t want to spoil anything for myself!


9. Heartless by Marissa Meyer (November 8th 2016)

HeartlessLong before she was the terror of Wonderland — the infamous Queen of Hearts — she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king’s marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.


10. Scythe by Neal Shusterman (November 22nd 2016)

ScytheIn a world where disease has been eliminated, the only way to die is to be randomly killed (“gleaned”) by professional reapers (“scythes”). Citra and Rowan are teenagers who have been selected to be scythe’s apprentices, and—despite wanting nothing to do with the vocation—they must learn the art of killing and come to understand the necessity of what they do.

Only one of them will be chosen as a scythe’s apprentice. And when it becomes clear that the winning apprentice’s first task will be to glean the loser, Citra and Rowan are pitted against one another in a fight for their lives.



This are some of my most anticipated releases! 🙂 Do let me know of some books that you are looking forward to!

Thank you for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

45 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Releases For The Second Half Of The Year || Top Ten Tuesday

    1. I haven’t actually read anything by her yet. Though I do really want to read her Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. But I have decided that Strange the Dreamer will be the first book that I’ll pick up by her. 🙂 I have heard nothing but amazing things about her books and especially her writing!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Her writing is so beautiful it just flows so well. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is excellent so I hope you get a chance to read it after Strange the Dreamer (which I’m sure will not disappoint either)! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I am so so excited for so many of the books you’ve featured this week! Strange the Dreamer, Heartless, and Crooked Kngdom are at the very top of my to-read list, I seriously cannot wait to get my hands on them. I need to know what happens to Kaz and the crew, and Marissa Meyer and Laini Taylor are two of my ultimate favourite authors so I know their books are going to be amazing!
    I’m also quite excited for Nevernight at the moment, I was a little on the fence at first but I’ve been swayed and I finally pre-ordered it a few days ago! 😀
    Great picks for this week! 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m really happy to hear that you’re exited for them as well! 😀 I’m currently reading Six of Crows and I’m super glad that I’m late to the game, as it means that I won’t have to wait that long for the sequel.
      I have never actually read anything Marissa Meyer or Laini Taylor but I really want to! I do own Cinder and I hope to read it some time this or next month. And I also want to read The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy (I don’t own any of the books) but I have decided to start with Strange the Dreamer, 🙂
      I was also on the fence for Nevernight but a friend who loves Jay Kristoff managed to sway me!
      I have actually stopped pre-ordering books for some reason. I don’t know what it is but I haven’t done that this year at all. Though I’m sure that I’m going to pre-order at least SOME of the books on this list!

      Like

      1. God that was a wise love, I read Sox of Crows a while back now and ever since then I’ve been desperate for the sequel to be released!
        Marissa Meyer and Laini Taylor are two of my favourite authors so I would highly highly recommend all their books. The whole of The Lunar Chronicles is amazing so I’m sure you’ll love Cinder and while I can’t say anything about Strange the Dreamer (I have very high hopes for it though) I loved the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series. It’s unlike anything I’ve ever read before!
        I haven’t got as many books pre-ordered as I’d normally have but I have a feeling that’s gonna change very soon! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I can only imagine! I haven’t even finished the book and I’m desperate for the sequel!
          I did start Cinder once (around the time the second book came out) and I loved what I read. Sadly life came in the way and I had to put it down. SO I’m sure that I’m going to enjoy it a lot! 🙂 I would looove to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone soon BUT I’m on a book buying ban and can’t get the books at the moment! Sooo that’s going to have to wait a bit. (Sadly.)
          It does appear that the “most exiting” books come out in the second half of the year, or rather in autumn and winter. XD

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Trust me by the time you get the end you’ll be even more desperate for Crooked Kingdom than you are now! 😀
            Ohh, I’ve had a couple of books like that, I need to get back into them, but it’s great you loved Cinder way back when. It probably means you’ll enjoy the rest of the series even more 😀
            Ohh, I’m supposed to be on a book buying ban, it’s not going too well at the moment which my June book haul post will tell you when I post it at the end of this month 😀 but hey it’s great you’re sticking to yours. Maybe when your ban is over…
            It means we’re going to have a few months where we all go absolutely insane over new releases! I’m already looking forwards to it! 😀

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Hahaha, well I’ll be looking forward to that! (Or not, because who likes waiting?) XD
              I’m sure I will! I love fairy tale retellings and science fiction. And this is a combination of both and I’m very exited for it!
              I have also bought quiet a few books lately! I got some birthday money left (which I have now spent) and my mom bought me some books as well (randomly). I need to write a book haul as well! XD Well, my buying ban is a bit different – I need to read 5 books to buy 1 new one (review books don’t count). That way I can still get new books and I find it easier that way! 🙂
              Do you own many unread books? I have around 60. Also the only reason that I’m doing this ban is to save money. I’m in university and can’t (sadly) spend all my money on books.
              YES! Plus the illustrated edition of The Chamber of Secrets is coming out as well – and I NEED to get my hands on it as well!

              Liked by 1 person

              1. No one likes waiting for books, but when the waits over, that’s the best part!
                That was literally my reaction to this series! I love fairytale retellings and sci-fi books so this one was perfect for me!
                Well yeah I was the same, it was my birthday so I took a day off from my book buying ban and brought some books, and I got some from my sister as well so not too bad. I have loads of unread books on my shelves, not loads loads but more than a few, I still buy more regardless of what I still have to read. I put myself on a book buying ban because I overspent the last couple of months by a lot!
                Ohh yes, I need that edition of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets! 😀

                Liked by 1 person

                1. It really is! Especially the excitement of finally holding the book in your hands and being able to read it right away!
                  I see. I really want to bring my TBR pile to 10 books. How long that’s going to take me I have no idea! XD I would love to do that till the end of the year, but I’m not sure I’ll be able to read that many books (especially since I own quiet a few large epic fantasy books). We shall see!
                  I’m super exited about it! Chamber of Secrets is not my favourite HP – but I can’t wait to see some of the illustrations. Especially for the basilisk and the chamber itself!

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. There is NOTHING that can compare to that feeling!
                    Wow, if I wanted to try and bring my to-read list to 10 books I’d have to not pick up anything new for a couple of years at least, getting down to 100 would be an achievement for me! Well I’ll wish you luck with your aim for it, hopefully the massive fantasy books you have won’t take you too long to get through 😀
                    Yeah I would say it’s my favourite either, but the illustrations in the Philosopher’s Stone were amazing so I can’t wait to see the ones for the Chamber of Secrets!

                    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

