book review

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo || Book Review

GrishaTitle: Six of Crows

           ( Six of Crows #1 )

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Published: 29. September 2015.

Edition: Henry Holt and Company

                 Hardcover, 465 pages

Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult | Magic

Summary:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 5 OUT OF 5 STARS ►

THE WORLD:

Already before starting this book I was in love with the world that it was set in. I have read The Grisha trilogy beforehand, so I was familiar with it and the magical elements within it. I adore the magic system in this world, it’s very fascinating. Plus the world is partly inspired by Russia, which I also very much adore!

What I really loved about this book is the different perspectives that we got. We had the pleasure to read about the world from different points of view, from someone from Ravka, Fjerda, Novyi Zem and so on. That added sooo much more to the experience and made the world even more interesting than it was before. I just love learning about the world and the relationships between the nations from different points of view. It gives more of a perspective and insight than hearing everything from one person.

THE CHARACTERS:

Oh. My. God. The characters! They were simply fantastic and one of my favourite things about this entire book.

Thieves, spies, assassin’s are some of my favourite characters to read about and this book had them all (well, nearly all). I loved all six of the main characters, well some from the beginning and some grew on me as the story progressed. In the end I cared and adored every single one of them! My favourite of them all has to be Kaz Brekker. ❤ (Just thought I would mention that as well.)

We also get to read from the point of view from five of them and I could clearly distinguish each of their voices without a problem. I loved the character development that they went through, individually and as a group as well. I would love to write more about the characters, but that would contain spoilers sooo I’m not going to be doing that.

THE STORY:

I’m a sucker for thieves, assassin’s and the like. Whenever I read the word “heist” I immediately want to check out the book. Sooo the premise for Six of Crows was absolutely for me. And the story did not disappoint!

The story was very fast paced and there were many twists and turns. I loved the direction that the story went (though I can’t get much into that because of spoilers). The cliffhangers on the end of chapters were very infuriating – which is good in it’s own way! (Though not for my heart while I’m reading!) I simply could not put this book down!

OVERALL:

This book was simply wonderful and I enjoyed every second of it! I would highly recommend it to everybody! 🙂

GIF


Let me know if you have read this book and what you thought of it!? Or do you plan to read it? Which one was your favourite character? Your least favourite?

Thank you for reading my review! I hope you all have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

26 thoughts on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo || Book Review

  1. Yay! Great review and I’m soooo happy you loved it! It really is an amazing book and the characters and execution were fantastic (I’m a sucker for anything with a heist as well). I gotta say Inej is my favorite character, but they’re all great. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YAY! I am so so glad you loved this book! The Grisha series is a favourite of mine as well so as soon as I heard there was a sequel/companion story it went to the top of my to-read list. I loved how we saw more the world in Six of Crows as well, not just Ravka, it felt a lot more developed and just bigger than the Grisha books because there was more at stake.
    Oh the characters were amazing; Kaz was my favourite of the lot but there was something about each of them that I fell in love with 😀
    I can’t wait for the sequel now, still feels like a really long wait for it’s release though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was the same with me! I adored the Grisha trilogy and when I heard that there were going to be more books set in that world I got very exited! I agree, it was amazing seeing more of the world aside from Ravka – I do love good world building and Leigh Bardugo is amazing at that! 🙂
      The characters were simply amazing! I loved all of them, but Kaz does stand out quiet a bit in my mind. I think my second favourite is Inej, though that’s really hard to choose since all of them are wonderful!
      I really hope that we will see Nikolai in the second one! He is one of my favourite characters from the Grisha trilogy and I would love to see where he ended up being! 🙂 Plus I would love to read a book from his point of view (or at least a novella).
      YESSS! I can’t wait for the next one to come out! I NEED that book in my hands!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually think I enjoyed Six of Crows more than the Grisha series, it just felt like there was more at stake and the world building was so much more developed I couldn’t help but love it! Yes Leigh Bardugo is amazing at that 😀
        Oh I loved Inej as well, I think Nina was my second favourite though. Some of her interactions with Matthias were hilarious but honestly there were so many different sides to her character, and what she did at the end just made me love her all the more.
        God I would love if more of the characters from the Grisha series made an appearance, I’d settle for anyone honestly! 🙂
        I’ve been waiting since the first one came out pretty much, but not much longer now! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I enjoyed Six of Crows more as well! As much as I do love the Grisha trilogy I also had some problems with it. And Six of Crows was simply wonderful! 🙂
          Hahaha, yeah there were quiet a lot of funny interactions between Matthias and Nina. Yes! She is such a strong character and I couldn’t believe what she did at the end!
          I think there will be at least some characters from the Grisha trilogy showing, as they did want to contact people from Ravka at the end of the book. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I just didn’t conect with some of the characters in the Grisha series like I did with those in the Six of Crows book. I agree it was simply wonderful! 😀
            God I can’t wait to see more of Matthias and Nina together, and I need to know what happens to her after what she did!
            I guess we’ll have to find out when Crooked Kingdom is released won’t we? 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  3. I recently had the pleasure of reading this, too! I loved it 🙂 My favorite character was also Kaz ❤ He's so intelligent and cool and practical, but hidden emotions. I didn't have a least favorite, but I really hope there is a POV for Wylan in Crooked Kingdom. I want to know him better! And I just loved reading through the whole heist :3

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to hear that you loved it as well! 🙂 He really is an amazing character! I didn’t have a least favourite either, they were all wonderful! I hope that we get Wylan’s point of view as well. It would really be amazing and I would love to get to know him better. I agree, it was really exiting! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I just read this book as well (and posted a review if you wanted to check it out) and I think that we experienced a lot of the same feels regarding one thief in particular. Literally Kaz stole my heart from the beginning, because I’ve always had a soft spot for fictional bad boys (who doesn’t?) but as the story went on I really grew to love him because he’s gone through so much and he still finds it in himself to love Inej. Omg I’m still getting over all the feelings that come along with this book.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great review Anna. I picked Six of Crows a few months back but I had to put it down because school was ruining my enjoyment of it.😔 But I hoping to pick it back up soon again because I really enjoy what I read of it so far. I can’t pick a favourite just yet but Inej, Kaz, Matthias were the most interesting to me and I need to more about them.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. UM EXCUSE ME ANNA. HOW IS YOUR BLOG SO PERFECTLY ORGANIZED?! I love it. So I’m basically an embarrassment to the bookworm society considering I haven’t read…
    -THIS
    -A Court of Thorns and Roses
    -Percy Jackson (is that bad?)
    -Probably other important stuff
    Anyways, you might be wondering if I even read? Yep somehow, I read A LOT like all other book bloggers. Not very believable now…nice Sarah. I actually made a poll and put it on my sidebar, to let other people solve which book I should read next, which has to do with my permanent problem with being extremely indecisive. I swear (and I know a lot of people say this) but I’m ACTUALLY planning to read this ASAP (just look at my poll results…) 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, it’s because I love to have everything in my life organised and that includes my blog as well. And it may have to do with the fact that I spent hours getting it to be this way! 😂 I’m glad that you like it! ❤
      Well, I haven't read A Court of Thorns and Roses either, I just own the books. I don't think it's bad that you haven't read Percy Jackson – though I would still recommend you to check those books out when you have the time. The Percy Jackson series is one of my all time favourites! 😀 And obviously I would recommend Six of Crows as well.
      I haven't read many of the popular books among bloggers either, so you aren't on your own there. Polls are really great when you can't decide what to read and I have looked at yours and it seems you will be reading this book soon! I hope you end up loving it as much as I did! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

