book review

The Reflections of Queen Snow White by David Meredith || Book Review

Disclaimer: I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

The Reflections of Queen Snow White

Title: The Reflections of Queen Snow White

Author: David Meredith

Published: 2. October 2013.

Edition: David Meredith

                  Kindle Edition, 155 pages

Genre: Fairy Tale | Romance | Fantasy

Summary:

What happens when “happily ever after” has come and gone?

On the eve of her only daughter, Princess Raven’s wedding, an aging Snow White finds it impossible to share in the joyous spirit of the occasion. The ceremony itself promises to be the most glamorous social event of the decade. Snow White’s castle has been meticulously scrubbed, polished and opulently decorated for the celebration. It is already nearly bursting with jubilant guests and merry well-wishers. Prince Edel, Raven’s fiancé, is a fine man from a neighboring kingdom and Snow White’s own domain is prosperous and at peace. Things could not be better, in fact, except for one thing:

The king is dead.

The queen has been in a moribund state of hopeless depression for over a year with no end in sight. It is only when, in a fit of bitter despair, she seeks solitude in the vastness of her own sprawling castle and climbs a long disused and forgotten tower stair that she comes face to face with herself in the very same magic mirror used by her stepmother of old.

It promises her respite in its shimmering depths, but can Snow White trust a device that was so precious to a woman who sought to cause her such irreparable harm? Can she confront the demons of her own difficult past to discover a better future for herself and her family? And finally, can she release her soul-crushing grief and suffocating loneliness to once again discover what “happily ever after” really means?

Only time will tell as she wrestles with her past and is forced to confront The Reflections of Queen Snow White.

Goodreads | Amazon

◄ 3 OUT OF 5 STARS ►

First of all I wanted to thank the author for kindly providing me with a copy of his book!

Now onto the actual review!

The writing in this book was absolutely beautiful! It was very lyrical and it flowed very well throughout the story. It had a very fairy tale like feel to it, which I absolutely adored. It has been a really long time since I have read such an uniquely written book and I found myself immersed in it immediately.

The grief, pain and depression of Snow White in the beginning of the book was portrayed beautifully. I truly felt for her. It was very heartbreaking to read. The reflections part of the book was very interesting as well. I enjoyed getting a look in the past of Snow White and being reminded of the original story.

The first half of the book was really amazing and I enjoyed it a lot.

The second part wasn’t really to my liking.

Why? The flashbacks (or reflections, however you want to call them) continued throughout the whole book. Personally I stopped caring for them that much in the second half, it was just starting to get a bit repetitive. This is really a personal thing as I’m sure that there are many people who enjoy reading backstories, but I’m just not really one of them.

I was also very interested in the current events of the story and in Snow White’s daughter. We didn’t get to see enough of that, or rather enough for me.

I also didn’t really like the character of Snow White. She just started irritating me as I continued reading. Why? She relied too much on others and continuously made dramatic decisions. I generally don’t like reading about such people. She simply wasn’t a strong character. And I felt as if she didn’t really develop throughout the story. I also felt that the way she came out of the depression was unrealistic.

OVERALL:

The writing in this book was absolutely beautiful. The story very interesting, as it is not a retelling of the original story but more of a sequel. I did have some problems with it but I still enjoyed it quiet a lot.

I would recommend you to check out this book, if you like fairy tales and the premise sounds interesting to you!



Thank you for reading my review! Do let me know if you have read this book and what you thought about it!

I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

 

8 thoughts on “The Reflections of Queen Snow White by David Meredith || Book Review

  1. I am a massive fan of fairy tale retellings. They’re part of my favourite genre and honesty I will pick up anything that has even a hint of fairy tale in it. I’ve never heard of this one before but it sounds interesting so I may have to look it up when I have the opportunity! I like the idea of a sequel to Snow White’s story as well rather than another retelling!
    Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really liked the fact that it was more of a sequel! 🙂 I really enjoy retellings of all kind, they are very interesting and I want to read more of them! Have you got some to recommend me?
      I hope you enjoy it, if you decide to pick it up. Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

