anime wrap up

Anime Wrap Up [#3]

It’s time for another anime wrap up! (As you could already guess from the title of this post.) This time I’m writing about six anime instead of five. Why? Well, some of them are from the spring 2016. anime season and happened to finish around the same time. So somehow I ended up with six anime to write about instead of five (which is what I usually do).

Also most of the anime in today’s wrap up are slice of life. That’s a genre that I have been getting into lately, mostly because I was super busy and stressed and for that I needed something relaxing. And that’s just the way these kinds of anime are. I didn’t use to like this genre (some years ago) but it has seriously grown on me and I tend to really love these kind of anime now!

Onto the anime that I recently finished! (I have rambled enough.)


AnimeGekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun

Episodes: 12

Comedy | Romance | School

My rating: 9/10 (Great)

Chiyo Sakura is a cheerful high school girl who has fallen head over heels for the oblivious Umetarou Nozaki. Much to Chiyo’s confusion, when she confesses to her beloved Nozaki, he hands her an unfamiliar autograph.

As it turns out, the stoic teenage boy is actually a respected shoujo mangaka, publishing under the pen name Sakiko Yumeno! A series of misunderstandings leads to Chiyo becoming one of Nozaki’s manga assistants.

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

I really adored this anime! I honestly didn’t think I would love it as much as I did. It was very light and fun, just what I needed at the time I watched it. The characters were great, I loved their personalities and interactions and their little quirks.

The humor was simply wonderful, I laughed quiet a lot and at some points I even teared up (from laughing). I just found this anime addicting and very interesting and it made me pick up the manga – which is a sigh of how much I enjoyed it!

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes! I would definitely recommend this anime! Especially if you enjoy comedy, romance and anime set in school. This anime is not the usual school romance story (that you find in many anime), it was very refreshing and I greatly appreciated that.


AnimeDanshi Koukousei no Nichijou

Episodes: 12

Comedy | School | Slice of Life

My rating: 8/10 (Very Good)

The English title of this anime is “Daily Lives of High School Boys” and it’s basically the summary of this anime as well. It follows the everyday life of high school boys (and some girls) and their adventures.

Each episode is made of short stories, or rather short moments from the perspective of different characters (most of the time).

My thoughts:

I really enjoyed this anime a lot! And I honestly didn’t expect to like it as much as I did, for whatever reason (mostly because I thought I wouldn’t enjoy the comedy in this anime). The characters were very interesting and I enjoyed their interactions with each other, they were seriously hilarious. I do have to say that some of the jokes went over my head, but that I had already expected. I really hope that they decide to make another season!

Side note, the voice actor for Hidenori (one of the main characters) is the same one as for Gintoki (from Gintama). I was seriously surprised when I heard him speak for the first time! 😄 Just felt like mentioning that.

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes I would recommend you to check out this anime, see if the humor is to your liking. (As I don’t know if it’s for everybody – my good friend for instance didn’t like it much.) And if it is, you are definitely going to enjoy this anime as much as I did!


AnimeMayoiga

Episodes: 12

Drama | Horror | Mystery | Psychological

Rating: R – 17+ (violence & profanity)

My rating: 3/10 (Very Bad)

A bus full of eccentric individuals is headed towards the urban legend known as Nanaki Village, a place where one can supposedly start over and live a perfect life. While many have different ideas of why the village cannot be found on any map, or why even the police cannot pinpoint its location, they each look forward to their new lives and just what awaits them once they reach their destination.

After a few mishaps, they successfully arrive at Nanaki Village only to find it completely abandoned. Judging from the state of disrepair, it has been vacant for at least a year. However, secrets are soon revealed as some of the group begin to go missing while exploring the village and amidst the confusion, they find bloody claw marks in a forest. As mistrust and in-fighting break out, will they ever be able to figure out the truth behind this lost village?

(Taken from MyAnimeList, as I couldn’t be bothered to summarize it.)

My thoughts:

Where to even start with this one. I really hated this anime. Like I felt annoyed after every episode and I have honestly no idea why I forced myself to finish it. Probably because I dislike leaving anime unfinished. The worst part of this anime? The freaking characters. I hated every single one of them and I wanted to strangle them. They angered me sooo much! I have never seen an anime with characters I hated more than this one.

Why did I give it a 3 than instead of an even lower score? Well, I really enjoyed the art style and the mystery was interesting (in the beginning). At least there was something redeeming about it. Or something along those lines.

Would I recommend this anime?

Nope. I would stay away from it if I were you. Though if you want to watch an anime about very self centered, judgmental, annoying characters, then go ahead. (Sarcasm.)

(I have a lot of rage for this anime, as you can see.)


AnimeHaikyuu!! Second Season

Episodes: 25

Sports | School | Drama

My rating: 10/10 (Masterpiece)

Following their participation at the Inter-High, the Karasuno High School volleyball team attempts to refocus their efforts, aiming to conquer the Spring tournament instead.

When they receive an invitation from long-standing rival Nekoma High, Karasuno agrees to take part in a large training camp alongside many notable volleyball teams in Tokyo and even some national level players. By playing with some of the toughest teams in Japan, they hope not only to sharpen their skills, but also come up with new attacks that would strengthen them.

(Summary was taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

This is one of my personal favourite manga and when it got adapted into anime I was very happy! Especially since the anime is wonderful as well (though I prefer the manga slightly to it). I honestly don’t know what to write about this one. I simply loved everything about it – the characters, the story, the art and everything else.

I’m sure that most people (who watch anime) have already seen this one, or are familiar with it to some degree. If you are interested in my five favourite characters, they are: Oikawa Tōru, Tsukishima Kei, Nishinoya Yū, Kuroo Tetsurō, Kageyama Tobio. (This is also in no particular order, just the way the came to my mind.)

Would I recommend this anime?

Of course I would! (As I already said, it’s one of my personal favourites.) Well, the first season that is if you haven’t watched it yet, for obvious reasons. 😄


AnimeBarakamon

Episodes: 12

Comedy | Slice of Life

My rating: 8/10 (Very Good)

Our main character, Handa, is an calligrapher. When a veteran labels his award-winning piece as “unoriginal,” he quickly loses his cool. As punishment his father exiles him to the Goto Islands, far from the comfortable Tokyo lifestyle that he is used to. Now Handa must attempt to find new inspiration and develop his own unique art style while encountering many eccentric characters that live on the island with him.

My thoughts:

Continuing the trend of me watching slice of life anime I decided to start this one, as I have heard many amazing things about it from friends. And it did not disappoint! This one is also rather slow paced and relaxing. (As are most anime from this genre.)

This anime is more character focused than actually on the plot, which was all right for me as I loved all the characters. They were simply lovable and adorable and I ended up caring for all of them. I especially liked the main character Handa, and I’m very exited for the prequel to this anime that is coming out soon! (Since it’s about Handa in school.) And I also plan on reading the manga some time soon!

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes, I would recommend this anime to everyone! It was simply calming and wonderful and I would love if everyone watched it!


78879lFlying Witch

Episodes: 12

Comedy | Magic | Supernatural | Slice of Life

My rating: 5/10 (Average)

Aomori, Japan.

In a land blessed by nature’s bountiful beauty, bizarre things begin to take place. Makoto Kowata, 15 years old, is a professional witch. She left Yokohama with Chito, her black cat, to live in the house of her relatives in Aomori. This is where she begins to train as a witch.

Even though Makoto’s powers are still limited to just flying through the sky, she and her second cousins Kei and Chinatsu surely make the most out of each and every day.

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

This was a cute and relaxing anime. That’s basically all there is to it. I have nothing special to say about it, it’s just not an anime that stands out (in my opinion at least).

Before watching it I expected there to be more action and more of a focus on magic (for whatever reason). It wasn’t like that at all. It was basically a slice of life anime with magical elements. The characters were nothing really special and I didn’t care much about any of them. The art is super cute though and I enjoyed that part quiet a bit. (Though it was a bit weird at times as well.)

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes, but don’t go into it expecting to get a lot of action or magic – like I did. If you enjoy slice of life anime, this one is definitely for you.



Have you watched any of these anime? What did you think of them?

Thank you for reading! I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

8 thoughts on “Anime Wrap Up [#3]

            1. I agree! Everyone from Karasuno is amazing and I love their quirks! 😀

              I’m super exited for the next season to come out! I can’t wait for the some of the future scenes to be animated! (I remember having heart attacks when the manga about it was coming out and I had to wait to find out what happens.) 😄

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

