wrap up

June || Wrap Up

This is the first month, since I have started my blog one year ago, that a wrap up has been late. Until now I have always posted it on the last day of the month, or even the day before. Now, thanks to the loads of university work that I had to finish, I haven’t managed to do it in time. So it’s now late and it really annoys me, for various reasons, but I can’t really do anything to change it, so I’ll have to try and ignore that it’s late.

June has been a rather good reading month for me. I managed to read 6 books (HOW? I honestly have no idea. I felt as if I had NO TIME to do anything all month) and I enjoyed most of them quiet a lot! So without me staring to ramble (more than I already have), lets just get into the books that I managed to finish this past month!


Harry PotterHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7)by J. K. Rowling

5 out of 5 stars

This was a reread for me (obviously, as I have read this series numerous times already) and it was simply wonderful being back in this magical world. With this book I have finished my yearly reread of my absolute favourite series. (You can imagine how much fun I had.) 🙂

This is also my favourite book in the whole series (just wanted to point that out), so it was absolutely amazing reading it again, and I enjoyed and loved it as much as I always do!


Mr. Penumbra'sMr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

3 out of 5 stars

I didn’t really know what to rate this book. I was and still am really conflicted about it. There were quiet a few things I liked about this book, but I also had some problems with it as well.

I had the most problems with the main character, I really loved him in the beginning but he started to get on my nerves (and I mean A LOT) and I just didn’t care about him and that made me not interested in picking up the book. I enjoyed it a lot more in the beginning (as that’s when I loved the main character), but it just fell flat for me. I just wasn’t blown away, as I expected I would be.


A Portrait of the Artist as a Young ManA Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce

3.5 out of 5 stars

This is another book that I had to read for an university course. And I enjoyed it quiet a lot. A lot more than I thought I would. Why didn’t I think I would enjoy it? My best friend basically hated it and we tend to enjoy the same books. (So I was surprised at how much our opinions clashed on this book – it was a fun discussion.)

It was a very interesting journey. Even though I had some problems with it I was fully invested in the story and I couldn’t put this book down. I would definitely recommend you read this book! (It was quick an easy read for a classic – so you can get into it quiet easy, even if you aren’t used to reading classics.)


Song of Ice and FireA Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire #2) by George R.R. Martin

4.5 out of 5 stars

I really loved this book! The beginning was rather slow, but I still enjoyed it quiet a lot. I just loved reading about the characters and what was happening to them. The ending was incredible (or rather the second half)! Can’t get much into it, because of obvious spoilers.

All in all I loved this book, even more than the first one. I’m looking forward to reading the next book in this series! (It took me ages to finish, as it’s usual with me and these books. Though I don’t mind it that much.)


GrishaSix of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo

5 out of 5 stars

This book was fantastic and wonderful and beautiful! I’m absolutely in love with it! (As you probably can tell.) This is definitely one of the best books that I have ever read all year. (And obviously a new favourite of mine as well!) The next book can’t come out soon enough, I just HAVE TO KNOW what’s going to happen next! Luckily I won’t have to wait that long, as the second book is coming out soon-ish.

If you want to know more of my thoughts on it, I have written a full review and you can check it out here!


The Reflections of Queen Snow WhiteThe Reflections of Queen Snow White by David Meredith

3 out of 5 stars

This was a really interesting take on the whole “fairy tale retelling” genre, as this was more of a sequel than an actual retelling.

There were quiet a few aspects of the story that I very much enjoyed, though I had some problems with it as well (mostly with Snow White as a character).

I would definitely recommend you to check out this book if you enjoy stories inspired by fairy tales (or fairy tale retellings). I have also written a full review for it, you can check it out here.



So these were all the books that I managed to finish in June. Let me know if you have read any of them and what you thought of them!

Thank you for reading and I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

28 thoughts on “June || Wrap Up

  1. I read Six of Crows in June as well and absolutely loved it. I haven’t finished A Clash of Kings yet (it’s huge, omg) but I’m glad you liked it so much. Great list, and I hope you have an awesome July! Good luck with university ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to hear you loved it as well! It’s such a wonderful book! Yeah, all of the A Song of Ice and Fire books are huge – and I take like a month or two to finish one. I do love the series, but it’s going to take quiet a long time to actually finish it, in my case. 😄 Thank you! ❤ I hope you have an amazing July as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I started reading Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore but couldn’t finish it. I don’t even remember where I quit but I think it was somewhere at the beginning. I will probably give it another try because it seems that people were loving it and I really want to know why 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great recap, and it’s still impressive that you made it a year before posting a monthly recap late. I made it about two months before I did the same thing! 😀
    I feel like we’ve already fangirled a lot over Six of Crows but god it’s such a brilliant book, and I am so glad you loved it as well!
    I do agree with you about the Game of Thrones thing, it’s really hard to get into the series when there are spoilers everywhere. I have only got the fifth book left to read but I already know the bulk of what happens, and not just because I’m up to date on the TV show! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Hahaha, yeah I’m super proud of myself that I managed to do it on time for such a long time! 🙂 I do hope to continue with it once it comes to this months wrap up. (We shall see if that’s going to happen.)
      We did indeed fangirl a lot over Six of Crows, but it’s such an fantastic book that I can’t stop myself from doing it more and more! ❤
      I think that avoiding spoilers for the A Song of Ice and Fire is the hardest! I see spoilers for the books and the tv show all the time! But I already knew that it's going to be like that, as I got into them pretty late – when everyone was already obsessed with it (if only with the tv show) and honestly I don't care about the spoilers. It's a different experience reading the spoiler and reading the things that happen before and after that information in the book, 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well you made it a long time so that’s something at least, and I managed to post my months recap on time since then, for the most part at least! 🙂
        Imagine how we’ll be when Crooked Kingdom is released and we’ve read that! 😀 I have a feeling it’s going to be a lot more fangirling over both books because I know the second is going to be just as amazing, if not even better ❤
        I've kind of accepted that I can't avouid spoilers, and technically even though the sixth book hasn't been released yet because the TV show is so far ahead I've technically seen spoilers for the book just by keeping up to date with the show. Exactly though, and I do think it's one of those series you can enjoy even after you've seen/read spoilers for it. I'm not going to not pick up the fifth book just because I know a lot of what's going to happen in it! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. That’s great! 🙂
          YES! I’m definitely pre-ordering Crooked Kingdom, as I want to read it immediately when it comes out! ❤ It's definitely going to be amazing! And I agree, there's going to be a LOT more fangirling – after all we will finally get more about those wonderful characters and everything else that makes the first book so amazing! 😀
          I haven't started the tv show yet, I just want to read the books first (and, honestly, I'm never in the mood to watch it), but I know what happens in season six as well, because twitter (and other sites). 😄 Who are your favourite characters?
          It was the same situation with Lord of the Rings – I had watched the movies a million times before actually reading the book. And they still turned out to be my favourites! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I can’t remember if I have it pre-ordered or if I still need to pre-order it, either way I’m going to make sure I get my hands on it as soon as possible! It’s definitely one of my most anticipated books for this year,so excited for it’s release, and yep, a lot more fangirling as well!
            I’m actually rewatching the TV show from the beginning at the moment, but it is brilliant. I love Jon, Dany, and Arya the most I think, but I Like Sansa too! 😀

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I haven’t actually pre-ordered it yet! 😄 I’m waiting for a closer date (as I don’t want to spend money on books at the moment). It’s definitely my most anticipated book as well!
              I’m sure I’ll get around to it eventually, but at the moment I’m just not in the right mood. My favourite so far (in the two books that I read) are Jon, Dany and Tyrion. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

              1. I tend to pre-order books the second they’re available on Amazon, the same with DVDs as well, I have no self-control! 😀
                As long as you have it pre-ordered before it’s actually released, that way you know you’ll get it as soon as it’s available!
                I think it’s the same with the books, I need to be in the right mood to pick them up. Oh my god how could I forget about Tyrion?! He’s one of my favourites as well! 😀

                Liked by 1 person

              2. Hahaha! I somehow manage to control myself. How? That’s even a mystery to me. 😄
                I’m most likely going to pre-order it in August (or later this month) just to be sure it arrives in time!
                Tyrion is amazing and I absolutely adore reading his chapters! 🙂

                Liked by 1 person

              3. I’ve given up trying to control myself! If I don’t go into my overdraft at the end of the month then I consider that a small success 🙂
                Yes! I think as long as you pre-order it before it’s released you’ll be fine!
                He gets better in the later books, honestly all of the characters do (I wasn’t a major fan of Sansa in book one but by the time I got to book four I really loved her character!)

                Liked by 1 person

              4. Yes, I should be fine whenever I pre-order it! 🙂
                Super glad to hear that! I’m really looking forward to the future books then! I’m not really liking Sansa at the moment, though I have heard she becomes a better character later and I’m very much looking forward to seeing that! 😀

                Liked by 1 person

              5. The series does get a lot better (well, except the fourth book in my opinion; it was still good but not my favourite). Sansa becomes a much better character as the story goes on, and based on what I’ve seen in the TV show I’m really excited to see more of her in book six, when it’s released! 🙂

                Liked by 1 person

              6. Then I’m looking forward to continuing it! 🙂 I have heard that A Storm of Swords is amazing and I’m exited to read it and see why so many people love it! 😀
                Well, I hope that book six will be released very soon (as I know that people have been waiting for it for YEARS)!

                Liked by 1 person

              7. I do remember it being an amazing book, but I haven’t read it in so long I feel I should try re-reading the series at some point. But the books are so long it takes me a while to get around to each. 😀
                I’ll keep my finger’s crossed for that! The wait for the seventh book after reading the sixth will be worse. 🙂

                Liked by 1 person

              8. Yeah, they really are huge. And rereading all of them would be a pretty big commitment!
                Well, I have three books left to catch up to, so the wait isn’t really that bad for me! (YET) 😄 Though I’m not looking forward to waiting years for the sequels to come!

                Liked by 1 person

              9. Maybe one day, but yeah a massive commitment! And maybe the sixth book will have been released as well while you’re reading the other three you’ve got left to go, but I imagine it will be a long time between the release of the sixth and the seventh books :/

                Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

