tag

The Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag || 2016

Tag

I was tagged by my wonderful friend Beth @ReadingEveryNight to do this tag. Thank you once more! 🙂 ❤ Be sure to check out her blog!

Confession time (or something like that), there are quiet a lot of tags and awards that I have to write (over 20 to be precise), but this is one that has priority! (Even though I was only recently tagged to do it.) After all, it is a mid-year book tag and July is the month to do it! I have also done this tag last year and you can check it out here, if you are interested!

It’s also been quiet a bit since I have last posted. Sorry about that! I have been busy with some things and when I wasn’t busy I was too lazy to write. So there is that. But I’m back now and I have quiet a few posts planed, but that’s for another day. Now onto the questions! 🙂


Best Book You’ve Read So Far In 2016:

GrishaIt definitely has to be Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. This book simply blew me away and I couldn’t have chosen another one. (Even though I have read many amazing books so far this year.)

This book has some of my new favourite characters (like EVER). The world that Leigh Bardugo has created is as wonderful as ever. And the story was fast paced, very interesting and addicting as well. What more could I ask for?

I have written a review for this book, if you are interested in reading more of my thoughts on it.


Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far In 2016:

Song of Ice and FireThis one has to be A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin, the second book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series. I already loved the first book and this one was even better, which I didn’t think would be possible.

Yes, it was slow at times (especially in the first half) but I enjoyed even those parts. I just loved revisiting the characters and seeing what was going to happen in their lives. I’m now really exited to start reading the next book! (Though I probably won’t be doing that for a few months, simply because I left the book in my dorm room in Vienna, and I don’t think I’ll be able to get it any time soon.)


New Release You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To:

Victoria SchwabIs anyone really surprised that I chose This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab (or Victoria Schwab)? I would hope not.

I actually got this book when it was released (I even pre-ordered it) but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. And I won’t for a while. Why? Because I’m an idiot and I forgot to bring the book with me from Vienna…sooo I’m not going to be getting around to reading it for some time. I’m not too bothered by it, as I do have a few Victoria Schwab books with me that I need to read. (Namely: The Archived – to reread, The Unbound, A Darker Shade of Magic.) So I’ll somehow manage to wait until I go back to Vienna to read this one. (Hopefully.)


Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year:

GrishaI can’t wait for Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo to come out! As I have already mentioned in this post – I absolutely ADORED Six of Crows and I NEED this book in my life!

I can’t wait to read more about the wonderful characters in this series. Also, after the ending of last book I have to know what is going to happen next! Luckily I won’t have to wait for it that long, as it’s coming out in a few months! (Well, at least that’s a positive thing about me reading this book nearly a year after it was released – I don’t have to wait that long for the sequel.)


Biggest Dissappointment:

TruthwitchSadly I have to say that it was Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I just recently finished this book and only gave it 2 stars. It actually put me in a reading slump as well – which I’ll write more about in my #MakeMeRead wrap up (or rather: the story of how I completely failed).

Anyway, I honestly expected to love this book – the premise sounded really interesting and I kept hearing amazing things about it. Sadly it didn’t live up to the hype for me. I did write a bit of a (spoiler free) rant on goodreads, which you can check out if you want to know more of my thoughts on this book. And no, I don’t plan on continuing with this series.

Do let me know if you want me to write a full review for this book!


Biggest Surprise:

NimonaThe book (or in this case, graphic novel) that surprised me the most was Nimona by Noelle Stevenson.

I did expect to enjoy this graphic novel, especially since the premise sounded simply amazing to me. BUT I didn’t think I would love it as much as I did. The art style wasn’t like anything I saw before – it was quiet refreshing. And the story went ways I never expected it to go, plus it was a lot darker than I thought it would be. (A LOT darker.)

I have also written a review for this one, sooo if you are interested in more of my thoughts do check it out.



Favourite New Author (Debut or New To You):

AuthorThe Star-Touched QueenI’m choosing Roshani Chokshi, the author of The Star-Touched Queen, for this one.

I just recently finished this amazing book and I absolutely adored it. Her writing style is sooo beautiful and I can’t wait to read more of her books, when she publishes them.

I will be writing a review for this book soon, so look out for that! I just have to write about it and share my thoughts.


Newest Fictional Crush:

tumblr_o1orjhmAxI1stg0g4o2_500

Do I even need to say anything more? Probably not. [This image is not mine, I have linked the tumblr page I took it from – just click on it and it will lead you there.]



Newest Favourite Character:

Shatter MeSo I finally read Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi this year. And my new favourite character definitely has to be Warner.

I loved him in Shatter Me, he was the most interesting one and the one I always looked forward the most to read about. (People don’t usually like him in this book, but I’m one of the few that actually did.) And then I read Destroy Me, the novella from his point of view, and I loved him even more after that.

I seriously can’t wait to continue reading this trilogy – I just need more Warner in my life!


Book That Made You Cry:

There isn’t one. Apparently I haven’t read a single book that made me cry this year. (Or at least when I went through my goodreads page I couldn’t find a book that I made me cry, or rather one that I remembered made me cry.)


Book That Made You Happy:

Harry PotterThere are quiet a few books that made me happy, way to many to actually name. But the one I have to mention is the illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling.

As you all know (or should know) Harry Potter is my all time favourite series. I got this beautiful illustrated edition as a Christmas gift (last year) and I read it this year. Harry Potter always makes me happy, especially this edition that has the most gorgeous illustrations that I have ever seen. I can’t wait to get my hands on the illustrated edition of The Chamber of Secrets (or the whole series, if I’m being perfectly honest).


Favourite Book to Film Adaptation:

GIFAs I have already mentioned quiet a few times on this blog – I’m not really a movie person. Meaning I haven’t actually watched that many this year.

Though I have to say that Deadpool is definitely my new favourite. I absolutely adored this movie! ❤ I have to watch it again soon (I’m just really in the mood for it).

Plus it works perfectly for this question, after all it is an adaptation, though not really a book to film one. We shall still count it as that!


Favourite Post You Have Done This Year:

SurveyHonestly I have no idea. I have written sooo many posts this year, that choosing just one seems impossible. And let’s be real, I’m waaay to lazy to look up everything that I have written so far and the think about which one of them is my favourite..

Though I will mention one of my favourites! (As I just remembered that I did it.) It’s the End of the Year Survey 2015. It’s also one of the first (if not the first) posts of this year and it provided the perfect recap for everything that I had read the year before. It was simply amazing to reflect back on a whole year of reading, plus I can keep track of my favourites reads throughout the years this way (as I plan to continue on doing them).


Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year:


What Book Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year:

I don’t really like making these ‘I HAVE/NEED to read until then and then’ lists, just because I don’t tend to follow through them and then I get annoyed at myself. Some books that I would like to get to, until the end of the year, are:



That is all for this tag!

I tag everyone who hasn’t done this tag yet!

Thank you all so much for reading, I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

19 thoughts on “The Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag || 2016

  1. The release of Crooked Kingdom can’t come soon enough! I’m dying here. I NEED it in my hands. AND KAZ!!! *swoons* ❤❤❤ Also, I feel the same way about Truthwitch. I was so excited, caught up in the hype and was so, so, so disappointed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really can’t! I MUST have that book as soon as possible! YES for Kaz! ❤ ❤ I'm really sad that I didn't enjoy Truthwitch, it had sooo much potential – especially with the female friendship and magic that was introduced. And I have mostly seen positive reviews of it, so I'm glad that you at least agree with me on it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved your answers for this tag Anna! 🙂 And I was the same even though I still have loads in my queue I had to post this one earlier just because of the time limit on it. It’s not like you can post a mid-year tag in October/November is it?
    I can’t wait to see your review for This Savage Song, I thought it was an amazing book, though my favourite V.E. Schwab book is still the Shades of Magic series. I really hope you love all of her books you have on your to-read list. And there are so many books on my most-anticipated to-read list but Crooked Kingdom is definitely way up there 😀
    I need to read The Red Pyramid as well before the end of this year (and pretty much the rest of Rick Riordan’s books as well) and the same goes for City of Ashes though that will be a re-read for me. I hope you love both Crown of Midnight and Cinder, they are favourite series of mine so I kind of want everyone to love them! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you loved them! 😀 Hahaha, yeah that’s true. There really would be no point in posting it that late!
      I’m sure I will love every book by Victoria Schwab that I have to read. She simply writes beautifully and I lover her stories and characters – so there really can’t go much wrong! 🙂 I have quiet a lot of anticipated releases, but they are mostly first books in series so Crooked Kingdom is the one I’m most anticipating at the moment. The more fanart and stuff I see on tumblr from Six of Crows the more exited I get for it as well.
      I want to at least start another series by Rick Riordan – it’s been a while since I finished all the Percy Jackson books (both series) and I’m really interested in everything that he has written. Plus I decided to start with The Red Pyramid – I’m just in the mood for Egyptian mythology. 🙂 This is the first time I’m reading The Mortal Instruments, so it’s my first read of City of Ashes. I’m sure I’ll enjoy both! I already enjoyed Throne of Glass, and I have heard that the second book is even better. Plus I had already started Cinder once (sadly couldn’t continue with it, because I was too busy at that time) and I was really loving it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Do you know what one of hers you plan to start next? I would recommend the Shades of Magic books, just because I think they’re the best of the lot but all her writing is amazing!
        I’m the same, a few anticipated sequels but most are new series I can’t wait for, oh and some of the fan art is amazing, I wish I had the talent for creating things like that.
        I still have a lot of Rick Riordan’s books to get through so I’ve got a lot to look forwards to, but I love the idea of Egyptian mythology so I’m excited to start The Red Pyramid.
        I hope you enjoy all the books on your to-read list, it sounds like you have more than a few great ones on there! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I don’t know yet. I might start with A Darker Shade of Magic, or I might reread The Archived first. It depends on how much time I’ll have once I finish the book that I’m currently reading. (As The Archived is a lot shorter and I can finish it faster.)
          Same! I do love to draw and paint, but I don’t think I’m all that good. So actually creating fanart is not something I do often.
          I haven’t read any book about Egyptian mythology (or at least I don’t remember ever reading one) – so I’m super exited to learn more about it through his books.
          I do really have some exiting books on my TBR! Now I only have to find the time (and motivation) to actually read them! XD

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I would recommend A Darker Shade of Magic, because reading new books can always be more fun than re-reading old books, especially with this one! 🙂 But yeah I need to re-read The Archived at some point as well!
            If it’s something you enjoy then keep doing it, practise makes perfect and all that 🙂 I have other hobbies I’d rather devote my time to.
            I think I’ve read one or two but I love all kinds of mythology so I’m eager to read more and more!
            For me it’s always more the time than the motivation! 😀

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Hahaha, that’s true! XD But I don’t have the next book in the series (and I can’t buy it yet) so I think I’ll read The Archived first. Knowing myself I would really get annoyed that I can’t read the next book immediately. (But that’s just the plan, who knows what will happen!)

              Liked by 1 person

                1. Hahaha, yes I am! But I’m doing the challenge where I have to read 7 books that I already own before I can buy myself a new one. Sooo when I read The Archived and The Unbound I’ll be able to buy a new book. Then I can order myself A Gathering of Shadows and I can start reading ADSOM! 😀

                  Liked by 1 person

                    1. Hahaha, I will! It’s really great – I can’t restrict myself to not buying any books, it simply doesn’t work for me as I keep on thinking about all the books I want. This way I can reward myself for shrinking down my TBR pile! 🙂

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. Well, I wish you luck when you decide to do it! 🙂
                      I currently have 53 books that I own and haven’t read (both physical and ebook – though I’m not counting review copies). I’m super proud of myself! 🙂 I want to bring it to around 10 books though, we shall see when that will happen.

                      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

