book review

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi || Review

The Star-Touched QueenTitle: The Star-Touched Queen

            ( The Star-Touched Queen #1 )

Author: Roshani Chokshi

Published: 26. April 2016.

Edition: St. Martin’s Griffin

                 Hardcover, 342 pages

Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult | Romance

Summary:

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 5 out of 5 stars ►

The writing style in this book is absolutely wonderful! I don’t remember the last time that I have encountered such a beautiful writing style. It basically made me want to read EVERYTHING that Roshani Chokshi has EVER written (or rather will write). She is definitely an author that I’ll be on the lookout for in the future.

The world building was vivid and the magical elements very interesting. The mythology (or folklore or whatever, I’m not sure from where the inspiration for the world came from) that it’s based was not something I was familiar with, so I had even more fun exploring it and learning more about it as I continued reading this book. I don’t want to go into the plot, at all – I just think it’s best to go in this book not knowing much about it. (At least it was that way for me and it really pleasantly surprised me.)

The characters were wonderful as well. I loved both main characters, Maya and Amar. I don’t really want to go into detail, as to why – knowing myself I would spoil stuff without meaning to. 😄 I didn’t really care about the side characters, as they weren’t developed much. I liked the fact that we got to see more of them (well, some of them) later in the novel, which I didn’t expect at all. The one character that I’m most interested in (aside from the two main ones) is Gauri, the little sister of Maya, and that makes me even more exited about the companion novel, as it is going to be her story.

This story has also Hades and Persephone elements and I absolutely LOVED that fact. If you know me, you know that I adore Greek mythology (and mythology in general) and that the story of Hades and Persephone is one of my all time favourites. And I love it when books have elements of their story in them.

The romance in this book can be seen as insta-love…a bit that it? It depends on how you interpret it. I’m not usually a fan of it, but with Hades and Persephone retellings (inspired stories) I don’t mind it AT ALL. I just wanted to point it out, as I know that many people are put out by that.

Would I recommend this book? DEFINITELY! I absolutely adored everything about this book and there is no way that I wouldn’t recommend it!

GIF


Have you read this book? Did you enjoy it? Do you want to read it? Do let me know!

Thank you so much for reading my review! I hope you have a wonderful day.

-Anna♥

24 thoughts on “The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi || Review

  1. Glad to hear that you enjoyed this one! I really like the writing style, but upon reflection I felt like some of her sentences don’t make sense, haha. Still beautiful, but just very… flowery, for lack of a better word. 😛

    I’m excited for the companion novel too! I’m hoping we’ll get to see a bit more of Maya in it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think flowery is a very fitting description of the writing style! 😀 Haha, if I looked it up right now I might find sentences that don’t make sense either (now that you pointed that out). BUT the book is in my dorm room and in a different country, so I can’t really do it. 😛 I just managed to finish it before going home!

      I really hope we get to see more of her as well. She was an amazing character! 🙂

      Like

      1. I knooow, haha. During my first read I was totally in love with the writing but after reading some select passages from the story, I was like ???. It’s still beautiful, but I do think the meaning is sacrificed sometimes. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 And also thank you for pointing out on what mythology and folklore it’s based on, I thought it was Indian but wasn’t really sure about that. I’ll be looking forward to your thoughts on this book (if you decide to read it), especially since you’re already familiar with the mythology and folklore and judge it better than I. 😀
      Yeah, it’s too bad about that. But I already knew it would be that way, as I have read a review that mentioned it as well, and as I said – I don’t really mind it in Hades and Persephone inspired stories (otherwise I absolutely hate it – don’t ask me about that logic 😄 ),

      Like

  2. Great review Anna, and I am so thrilled that you loved this book. It’s one of my favourites that I’ve read so far this year and that’s in large part due to the amazing world-building The Star-Touched Queen has. I thought the magic was amazing and I love any books with even a hint of Greek mythology so that fact that this was a slight retelling of the Hades and Persephone myth pretty much guaranteed I was going to love the book!
    I do agree with you about the side character, we didn’t really learn much about them but I am so excited to see more of Gauri in the companion novel!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 It is definitely one of the best ones that I have read this year as well. The world-building was seriously wonderful! I seriously need to read more books with Greek mythology, as I feel like I haven’t read enough.
      Gauri was great in this first book so I’m super exited to see what will happen to her!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think after reading The Star-Touched Queen I will pick up anything and everything Roshani Chokshi writes, she just has such a way of telling the story doesn’t she? Ohh I will read anything that has Greek mythology in, and there are some amazing books out there that take inspiration from there. I’m sure there’ll be plenty you find to read that you love! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

