wrap up

The Month In Which I MOSTLY Just Didn’t Like Anything || July Wrap Up

This month I have managed to read 5 books. Out of those five I:

  • loved one,
  • kind of enjoyed another,
  • was disappointed by one I was really looking forward to,
  • and hated the other two.

So, July wasn’t the best month for me. I seriously hope that August is going to be A LOT better, we shall see. Now onto the books I read this month!

(I’ll also try and keep this one short, I really don’t have the time to write a lot at the moment. We shall see how that is going to work out, as I tend to ramble a lot.)


Jane AustenMansfield Park by Jane Austen

3 out of 5 stars

I love the way Jane Austen writes and this book is no exception. The writing was wonderful. What I had problems with was the story line, I didn’t like where it went. I also didn’t really care about most of the characters, though I have to say that some of them were interesting, just not interesting enough…if you know what I mean.

I did enjoy this book in parts but as I said, it wasn’t really anything special. It was just all right.


The Star-Touched QueenThe Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

5 out of 5 stars

This book was simply wonderful. I loved nearly everything about this book! It’s definitely one of my favourites that I have read this year.

I have also written a full review for this book, where I expressed my feelings and thoughts about it (I don’t know why I’m suddenly “explaining what a review is”) and you can read it here.

I’m super exited for the companion novel – it can’t come out soon enough. I just need more from this world and the beautiful writing.


TruthwitchTruthwitch by Susan Dennard

2 out of 5 stars

So yes, I was disappointed in this book. I expected a lot more from it, as I have been seeing amazing reviews and everyone seems to love it. Not me though (obviously). I’m rather annoyed with it, as I wanted to enjoy it soooo much – it just didn’t happen.

I did enjoy parts of it. I enjoyed some of the interactions and action scenes. Plus I had fun reading it. Well, the first half at least, before I got annoyed at everything.

No, I don’t plan on continuing with this series . I just DON’T CARE about what will happen in the future or where the story is going.

I have written quiet a long rant on goodreads as to why I didn’t enjoy this book. You can check it out here, if you are interested in that.


The Woman in WhiteThe Woman in White by Wilkie Collins

2 out of 5 stars

I had fun reading this book but only because I was buddy reading it with my best friend. And we could rant and be annoyed about the same things together.

All in all this book was just boring to me. From the characters, to the story, to the happenings in it. I just didn’t care about any of it.

Honestly the only reason I finished this is because I was reading it with my best friend and we were making fun of it nearly the whole time. Otherwise I wouldn’t have bothered, especially since this book is massive.


Angel TimeAngel Time by Anne Rice

1.5 out of 5 stars

The summary for this book sounds absolutely amazing and like something I would enjoy. It wasn’t, as simple as that.

I bought this book a few years ago (I think around 4 years ago) and for some reason I was never in the mood to actually read it, well until now that is. And I do wish that I hadn’t even bothered with it.

I ended up skimming quiet a lot of the second half, because it felt as if nothing was happening. I was seriously bored nearly the whole time. The main character didn’t help either – I found him very annoying and I just wanted for this book to finish, so that I didn’t have to read more about him. (Obviously not reading the next book in the series.)



Well, that is all. This month wasn’t such a good month rating-vise for me. I really do hope that the next one will be a lot better!

I hope your reading month was a lot better than mine! Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? What is the best book you read this month?

Thank you for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

20 thoughts on “The Month In Which I MOSTLY Just Didn’t Like Anything || July Wrap Up

  1. Aww, sorry to hear that July wasn’t so great for you in terms of reading and I hope August is a lot better! Out of your list, I’ve read TSTQ and tried Truthwitch – the former I gave 3.5 stars to and the second I DNF-ed after that looong beginning. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope August will be better as well! 🙂 I just was in some weird reading mood this month and didn’t get to the books I knew I would enjoy (for whatever reason that was). Hahaha, the beginning was seriously long in that book! I somehow managed to get through it. 😛

      Like

    1. Yeah, July wasn’t the best one for me – regarding books that is, otherwise it was a wonderful month. 🙂 I’m just glad that I loved at least one book, plus it did make up for the ones I didn’t enjoy. I hope you love it as much as I did!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh it sucks you had a disappointed reading month for July. It’s always a shame when books don’t live up to your expectations isn’t it; even when they’re not really really hyped books it’s still disappointing when you don’t enjoy them.
    Still I’m really glad you loved The Star-Touched Queen, at least that was one book that lived up to it’s promise, although it really sucks you didn’t enjoy Truthwitch. I still have that on my to-read list but I’ve seen a lot of negative reviews for it lately so I’m honestly not sure what I’ll think when I get around ot it.
    Still great recap Anna! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is a shame! I just don’t know what was up with my reading this past month. I was kind of in the mood to read, but then again I wasn’t in the mood for any books that I was exited about…It was seriously strange! XD Luckily that mood is over and I’m really enjoying the ones that I’m reading at the moment.
      YES! The Star-Touched Queen really made my month! And I’m sooo glad that it lived up to my expectations. Yeah, I have been seeing more negative reviews for Truthwitch lately as well – though there are many positive ones as well. I do hope you end up enjoying it more than I did! 🙂
      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I felt the same with my reading this past month as well. Compared to what I normally get through in a month July just hasn’t compared for some reason! Maybe you were in a little bit of a reading slump. I seem to get them every so often and they really suck! But at least it’s over now! 🙂
        At least when it comes down to it The Star-Touched Queen lived up to your expectations, even if Truthwitch didn’t.
        That’s all right! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

