tag

The Childhood Book Tag

Tag

I was tagged by my amazing friend Ariana @TheQuirkyBookNerd to do this tag. Thank you once more! ❤ 🙂 Be sure to check out her blog, she is one of the nicest people that I know and her blog is wonderful as well!

Now, before I actually start writing this post I would like to say a few things:

  • You most likely won’t recognize some of the books I mention today. Simply because I didn’t grow up in a English speaking country and the “popular children books” were not translated until much later.
  • My memory is really bad. Regarding my early childhood and reading. For the life of me I can’t remember most of the books I read, so I had my mom help me a little (basically she listed all the books she remembers I read to refresh my memory). Thanks mom! ❤

1. First book you remember reading on your own?

NarniaI think I have already mentioned this somewhere, but I’ll mention it again (obviously). The first book I remember reading on my own is The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis. Or the whole Chronicles of Narnia actually.

Before I read this completely on my own, my mom read it to me a few times (or we read it together). This is also the book that got me into reading and the first one I was obsessed with. I have seriously reread this series a lot!

I distinctly remember reading it (the whole series that is) one summer holiday when we went to Croatia for two weeks. That vacation is one of my clearest memories in general. (Just felt like mentioning that as well, when I’m already writing about this book.)


2. First book you remember having your parents read to you?

Jezeva KucicaZmajFor this one I have two answers. I remember two books that my mom always used to read to me.

They are Ježeva kućica by Branko Ćopić and Riznica pesama za decu by Jovan Jovanović Zmaj.

The second one is a poetry collection that my mom always used to read me and I knew all the poems by heart. (I do remember parts of them even now.) The first one was my all time favourite story when I was little and I knew it by heart as well. (And yes, I still do remember parts of it word by word.)


3. Book you read because of your parents? Because of a friend?

The FortressThe first book that came to my mind is The Fortress by Meša Selimović. I read this book for two reasons:

  • I had to read it for school
  • and it’s one of my mom’s all time favourite books.

Plus she named me after the main female character in this book. Ever since she told me that I was named after her I was interested in reading it. I find it amazing that she named me after a fictional character!

And then when I was in high-school I had to read it for school. Honestly I absolutely loved this book! It was really good and I’m very happy that I enjoyed it as much as I did. This book simply means a lot to me.

Also, I’m nothing like the main character in this book – which I found to be quiet amusing! Especially since my friends (that knew the fact that I was named after her) kept pointing that out.


4. Favorite book from school?

The Master and MargaritaThis is a rather hard question to answer. I have read many amazing books for school. And I was one of those people that didn’t lose the enjoyment of the book because I had to read it for school (well, most of the time anyway – there were some instances where I absolutely hated a book, simply because the teacher made me read it).

One book that stands out among the rest of the books I read is The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov.

I read this book in my last year of high school and I absolutely adored everything about it. From the writing style, to the story, to the weird happenings in this book. Everything was just amazing! This book stands out especially because I read it together with my best friend and we discussed what we read every few chapters. So it was even more wonderful and memorable because of that.


5. Favorite book in elementary school?

Orlovi rano leteThis was a rather easy question to answer, if I’m being honest. The book that I adored from elementary school is Orlovi rano lete by Branko Ćopić.

In my years in elementary school I hated assigned reading – I hated everything about it, from reading the books, writing a report and then discussing it in class – I couldn’t stand anything about it. (I did still love reading the books that I wanted to read, just not the ones for school.)

So I was very surprised when I started this book and actually enjoyed it quiet a lot. I honestly didn’t see that one coming! I loved writing the report as well. Honestly the whole situation with this book was very weird for me at that time.

There is also quiet an old movie adaptation of this book that I still enjoy watching from time to time. It’s simply very nostalgic for me (the movie more so than the book).


6. In middle school?

Gulliver's TravelsWell, first of all – we don’t have a middle school. Sooo I couldn’t really have a favourite book from it. But I did look up the age range of it and chose a book that I loved that fit. XD

Anyway, that book is Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift. (I think I read it when I was 12.) I remember loving this book, after all it had two of the elements I enjoyed most in a book – adventure and fantastical elements.

I reread this book when I was 17, I had to write an essay on it. Did I love it as much as I did? No, not at all. Everything about it was just all right, nothing special. I just didn’t love it, but I also didn’t hate it either.

I find it very interesting how our opinions on books can change when we reread them years later.


7. In high school?

Povratak Filipa LatinovicaGerminalFor this one I’m going to pick two books. I just couldn’t choose one favourite out of them, as I love them both but for completely different reasons.

Those two books are The Return of Philip Latinowicz by Miroslav Krleža and Germinal by Émile Zola. (I think I read them in the same year, just for two different classes.)

Both of these books are very dark and I don’t know if I would actually recommend them to people. They are just simply not easy reads and they also aren’t books that everyone would enjoy. Still, both are amazing and I enjoyed them greatly! Definitely the best two, out of all the ones that I had to read in high school.


8. Book you gave up on as a kid that you’d like to revisit?

I honestly have no idea. I was never a person who gave up on books – I usually forced myself to finish all of those that I started. Or at least that’s how I remember it. As I mentioned in the beginning, my memory isn’t the best sooo there could be some books that I didn’t finish. But as I can’t remember them, that means I don’t want to revisit them either. So I don’t have a proper answer for this one.


9. Book you checked out from the library the most as a kid?

Another question where I don’t know the answer. I didn’t check out the same books more than once. Why? Simply because I didn’t like rereading as a kid, so I wasn’t interested in picking up the same books that I already knew. If there was one book or series that I adored my parents bought them for me, so I could read them whenever I wanted. But I usually picked up new and unfamiliar stories to read.


10. Book you made all your friends read?


11. The book that made you love reading?

I have already mentioned this once in this post – the books that made me love reading are The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis. Or rather The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, as it’s the first one that I read from this series.


12. Favorite middle grade read?


13. Favorite young adult read?


14. First long series you read as a kid?

Well, as I keep mentioning – I loved The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis, and that is quiet a long series of books. I believe it was also my first one, especially since my mom used to read it to me as well when I didn’t even read on my own. (I promise this is the last time I’m mentioning this series! I don’t even know how many times I have mentioned it in this post.)


15. How did you learn to read? How old were you?

There is no freaking way I could remember this – so I asked my mom! 🙂

I started learning to read when I was around 2 or 3. One way was through memorizing the stories and poems that my parents read to me and then looking at the books and “reading” on my own. The other was playing office with my mom – she used to bring some work home with her, so we sat together while she worked and I pretended to be like her and that I was doing “office stuff” as well. That’s how I learned all the letters among other things. When I was 5 I could read both Cyrillic and Latin script (and write it as well).


16. How obsessed were you with the scholastic book fairs as a kid?

Not at all. Why? We didn’t have scholastic book fairs in the country I grew up in. I did, however, LOVE going to the book fairs that we did have! Why wouldn’t I love going to them and seeing all the amazing books there?



That’s all for this tag!

I really had fun remembering all the books that I have loved throughout the years. I also have no idea who has and hasn’t done this tag (and I’m too lazy to look it up). Sooo:

If you feel like doing this tag – CONSIDER YOURSELF TAGGED!

Thank you for reading. I hope you have an amazing day!

-Anna♥

17 thoughts on “The Childhood Book Tag

  1. You were right at the beginning when you said I wouldn’t recognize most of these books! The only one of the children’s books I remembered was The Chronicles of Narnia, that was a favourite of mine as a child, also I have recommended The Night Circus to all of my friends as well, that’s definitely a favourite of mine too! 😀
    I only recently read the Percy Jackson books but I thought they were amazing, also I’ve heard great things about The Knife of Never Letting Go so I can’t wait to start that one.
    Great picks for this tag, I really enjoyed reading your answers! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, I expected that! Some of these books haven’t been translated into English and therefore not that widely known.
      The Chronicles of Narnia is amazing and I’m very thankful to my mom for reading it to me when I was a child. Whenever someone asks me for a book recommendation my first response is: “Have you read The Night Circus?” XD
      I really hope you end up loving The Knife of Never Letting Go! It’s my favourite trilogy and the one that got me into the books of Patrick Ness. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well given the only language I can speak and read is English that makes more sense now! 🙂
        I think I read the first book at primary school, and I love it so much my mum brought me the box set of the series so I could read the rest.
        I’ve got to get around to A Monster Calls next, but immediately after that it’s onto the Chaos Walking books! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This tag looks like SOO much fun. I’ll put it on my radar for tags that I should try and do 🙂
    your fav YA and middle grade books are so cool! I love love your answers♥ great post!

    PS, I found you on my twitter so I decided to give you some love and follow your blog 🙂
    Jumana @ Books by Jay

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my gosh what as awesome tag! And lovely answers! I’m glad they split the school questions into grade levels, because I could never pick just one favorite from school! I feel bad I still haven’t finished Narnia – I’ve got 2 books left and haven’t picked up the series in a very long time. I must finish!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This tag is really amazing and a lot of fun! Thank you! 🙂 I’m glad that they did that as well, choosing just ONE favourite book from all the years I spent in school is literary IMPOSSIBLE! I hope you enjoy the two Narnia books that you have left, when you get around to them!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Aww you’re so sweet! ❤

    I absolutely LOVED reading your answers! This is the first time I've seen this tag done by someone outside the US, so it was so awesome to see all the books you grew up with! I love that the first book your read on your own was The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. That series is truly magical! Also, I just have to mention, since I've now read Vicious, I'm forcing it on everyone I know! Haha! 😛

    Great post, Anna! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I'm glad you enjoyed reading my answers! 😀 It's very interesting seeing people who grew up in different countries do this tag – it just shows the variety of books and you see books you have never heard of before, and that is always fun! It really is, I adore Narnia! ❤ Hahah, that's the way it should be – everyone NEEDS to read Vicious! 😛

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

