tag

The Inside-Out Book Tag

Tag

I was tagged by my lovely friend Beth @Reading Every Night to do this tag. Thank you once more! ❤ 🙂 Be sure to check out her blog. If you aren’t already following her, I have no idea what you are doing with your life – so go and fix that!

Confession time: I have actually never watched this movie…No particular reason for that. I just didn’t feel like watching it, so I never did. I might watch it in the future, I might not (who knows what is going to happen).

Now, with that being said – lets get into the questions!


A Book that Brings you Joy:

The first book that came to my mind is Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. (Okay, that was a lie…the first one was Harry Potter but I decided not to use it as an answer because I ALWAYS pick Harry Potter for these kinds of questions and I want to change it up a bit!) Both the book and the animated movie make me VERY happy and bring me SOOO MUCH joy! Just thinking about them makes me want to smile. I just adore the story, the world, the characters, basically everything. I seriously need to reread the book some time soon, it’s been a long time since I have read it.


A Book that Brings you Sadness:

I was debating between A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. In the end I decided to go with A Monster Calls. (And it was a really hard choice, as I love both books for different reasons. I just decided to go with A Monster Calls, as it’s fresher in my mind and the sadness bigger because of that.) This book is ABSOLUTELY wonderful and also very sad. Just thinking about it makes me sad, but in the best way possible (if you know what I mean, or something). I’m very exited about the movie, I just can’t wait to watch it and I will probably cry while doing that. (SO I should probably prepare tissues before actually watching it…)


A Book that Brings you Fear:

For this one I immediately thought of It by Stephen King. Or rather most of Stephen King’s books would fit this category. (Two other choices that I debated between were Salem’s Lot and The Shining, both by Stephen King. As I said, most of his books really fit this one.) It is one of the scariest books that I have ever read. I was always wary of clowns…Why? I honestly don’t remember the reason for it, I just know that I never liked them. And this book did NOTHING to reassure me about clowns, it even increased my uneasiness of them. Thank you Stephen King, for scaring me many times (and hopefully many times in the future as well).


A Book that Brings you Anger:

This one was surprisingly much more difficult than I thought it would be. I thought I would be able to come up with many answers, but that wasn’t the case. I apparently suppress my anger and negative feelings for books (and other things) and eventually forget about it. The one that I do remember angering me is Reboot by Amy Tintera, or rather the whole duology. This book SOUNDED absolutely amazing and something right up my alley, but it just WASN’T that (not at all). It just wasn’t what I wanted it to be and the “differences” (between what it was and what I thought it would be) made me very angry.


A Book that Brings you Disgust:

I have to be honest, the first book that I thought of when I saw this question is Perfume: The Story of a Murderer by Patrick Süskind. This book brings me a lot of disgust but in the best way possible! (Which is apparently possible…) If you know what this book is about, I’m sure you can guess why I find it disgusting. Though I will mention one thing: the descriptions are VERY vivid…mostly the descriptions of smell…and they were horrible. (I still remember them, even though I read this book ages ago.) Plus the ending…THE ENDING. I’m not going to spoil anything, but everyone who has read this books knows what I mean.


This is everything for this tag!

Thank you for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day.

And I’m off to go and see Suicide Squad with my best friend.

-Anna♥

11 thoughts on “The Inside-Out Book Tag

  1. Loads of people seem to confess they haven’t seen this movie when they posted this tag! I’ll admit I only watched Inside Out when I was actually writing my response to this tag but it’s a great movie so I would recommend it.
    Great picks for this one as well, I haven’t read any but A Monster Calls is high on my to-read list, and I can definitely see why Stephen King’s It scared you. I saw the movie version and Jesus Christ I was terrified for days afterwards thinking a psychotic clown was going to jump out at me! I still can’t look at clowns in the same way even today, and I saw that movie years ago!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will definitely check it out when I’m in the mood for such a movie. (But knowing myself, that won’t happen for a while.) I was debating whether to watch the movie first and then write the tag, but I just couldn’t be bothered to watch it (as I wasn’t in the mood for it)! 😀
      I watched the movie for It after I read the book (because I apparently like to scare and traumatize myself) and it scared me EVEN MORE! Which I didn’t think was possible. And I agree, I can’t look at clowns in the same way anymore – they are just creepy now and I (if I do see one) always avoid them!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s a brilliant movie so I think you’ll really love it. I’ve yet to hear from anyone who hasn’t enjoyed it.
        But yeah I know that feeling, there are a few movies I need to watch, and some TV shows as well, but I just haven’t been motivated to get around to it!
        God does that mean the movie is worse than the book? Either way I’m very bad with horror movies and books in general so I don’t think I’ll be picking the book up anytime soon. Or any of Stephen King’s other works. 🙂 I’ll stick to fantasy! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’ll most likely watch it with my best friend, as she hasn’t seen it either. 🙂 And we tend to watch a lot of movies together.
          I understand completely. I have a HUGE list of tv shows, anime and movies that I need to watch but I just can’t motivate myself to start anything.
          It’s not that, it’s just I got it more visually (I didn’t have to imagine it in my head). Plus I watched it the same day that I finished the book, so everything was very fresh for me. So I think it was more the combination of both that scared me. Hahaha, you do that! 😀 I do tend to enjoy horror from time to time, so I’ll definitely continue with scaring myself.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I got with my friend to the cinema, but most times I’ll watch movies on my own, just because really 🙂
            Yeah, eventually I’ll get round to them but like reading I need to be in the mood, and I’ll always end up watching reruns of my favourite shows instead of starting a new one.
            Ohh yeah, maybe it would have been better if you’d given some time between reading the book and watching the film, and I guess it’s one thing reading something but another seeing it on the big screen.
            Nope, I prefer animated films above anything else. I’m a massive Disney fan! 😀

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I usually watch movies with friends, when I’m on my own I simply can’t motivate myself to watch movies. (For whatever reason that is.) I tend to go for tv shows and anime when I want to watch something.
              Yeeeaah, I should have waited for a while. It would have been better for me and would not have scared me as much as it did.
              I adore Disney as well! Which are your favourite Disney movies?

              Liked by 1 person

              1. It’s probably why I never get around to watching movies on my own, I just never have the motivation either.
                If I ever have to watch a horror film or read a scary book I go to chick flick and YA contemporary books for a while until it’s out of my mind!
                Oh definitely Alice in Wonderland (the original not the Tim Burton remake), Beauty and the Beast, and the Fox and the Hound. What about yours?

                Liked by 1 person

  2. I did this tag already too and I still have yet to watch Inside Out! I’ll probably get around to it eventually…my “to watch” list is insanely long right now! I love all of your choices. A Monster Calls is absolutely the saddest book I’ve ever read, but I love it so much ❤ I am totally going to bawl my eyes out watching the movie! The Book Thief is another fantastic choice. I still need to read It, but that and Misery are at the top of my Stephen King reading list. I did see the old It miniseries though, which is fantastic and definitely pretty scary! Stephen King is one of the few authors who can actually really freak me out with his stories!
    Great post, Anna! 😀

    Ps. How was Suicide Squad?! I still have to get out to see it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, I totally understand! My “to watch list” (of tv shows, anime and movies) is HUGE and this movie is honestly not my priority. YESSS! It’s such a sad book but I absolutely adore it as well. ❤ I usually hate crying in public, but I will have to make an exception for this movie. I would highly recommend It – it's probably my second favourite King book (second to The Shining). I have yet to read Misery, but it's on the top of my list of his books to read! 🙂 Same, he is one of the only ones who manages to creep me out with (nearly) each book.
      Thank you! 😀

      I had sooo much fun watching Suicide Squad. (Especially since I watched it with my best friend and we commented on it – the cinema was nearly empty so we could do it.) Otherwise it wasn't the best movie, but not the worst either. Personally I enjoyed it! 🙂 Though I would recommend you not going with too high expectations, as a lot of people seem to be disappointed with it. I do hope you enjoy it as much as I did! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

