anime wrap up

A Mix of (nearly) Everything | Anime Wrap Up [#4]

As you probably already know, I watch quiet a lot of anime. And I have recently finished five of them, so it’s time for another wrap up! The anime that I managed to finish this time are all over the place (and I mean that genre-vise). I honestly don’t have much to add to this. SO! Lets get into the anime that I recently finished!


AnimeAnsatsu Kyoushitsu 2nd Season

Episodes: 25

Action | Comedy | Shounen

My rating: 9/10 (Great)

The students return as school is back in session for the second semester. Following their exploits on the island during summer vacation, Class 3-E continues to sharpen their blades with their sights set on their teacher, the slippery Koro-sensei. They have more to worry about than just their teacher, however, as enemy assassins, both old and new, are out for the increased bounty on the octopus’ head.

With all of these obstacles opposing them, the group must continue to work together in order to overcome their foes and accomplish their goal of successfully assassinating their teacher.

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

I greatly enjoyed this anime. I actually already knew what was going to happen, as I had already finished the manga. Still, it was really wonderful seeing some of my favourite scenes animated. In my opinion, this is one of the best manga to anime adaptation that there are. I loved how true to it’s original story it stayed! And yes, (for those who have watched it as well) I did tear up at the end, as many people have..

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes! Well, I obviously would recommend the first season rather than this one. XD Anyway, this is a wonderful anime and I would recommend everyone gave it a shot (even if it doesn’t sound like something you would enjoy – as it was that case with me as well).


AnimeKoutetsujou no Kabaneri

Episodes: 12

Action | Drama | Fantasy | Horror

Rating: R – 17+ (violence & profanity)

My rating: 5/10 (Average)

As the world is in the middle of an industrial revolution, a monster appears that cannot be defeated unless its heart, which is protected by a layer of iron, is pierced. By infecting humans with its bite, the monster can create aggressive and undead creatures known as Kabane.

On the island Hinomoto, located in the far east, people have built stations to shelter themselves from these creatures. People access the station, as well as transport wares between them, with the help of a locomotive running on steam. Ikoma, a boy who lives in the Aragane station, creates his own weapon in order to defeat the creatures.

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

I really enjoyed this anime in the beginning – it was very interesting and I was very much invested in the story. Then came the problems for me. Some of the explanations I couldn’t get behind, at all. I can’t go much into detail about that, but some of them I found ridiculous and unconvincing (even though it was a fantasy). The biggest problems I had with the main villain. His motivation and actions were plain stupid. When one of his plans and his backstory was revealed I literary face-palmed (and I mean literary). He might be one of the worst villains that I have EVER seen. Plus after the first four or so episodes I really started losing interest in this anime.

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes and no. This anime is compared to Attack on Titan a lot (and I seriously mean A LOT), so if you enjoyed that anime you might like this one as well. Otherwise I’m not really sure if I would recommend it. So, maybe?


AnimeSakamoto desu ga?

Episodes: 12

Comedy | School | Seinen

My rating: 7/10 (Good)

Sophisticated, suave, sublime; all words which describe the exceedingly handsome and patently perfect Sakamoto. Though it is only his first day in high school, his attractiveness, intelligence, and charm already has the girls swooning and the guys fuming with jealousy. No one seems able to derail him, as all attempts at tripping him up are quickly foiled. His sangfroid is indomitable, his wits peerless. Will any of Sakamoto’s classmates, or even teachers, be able to reach his level of excellence? Probably not, but they just might learn a thing or two trying.

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

Sakamoto is amazing! I seriously loved watching his adventures and the way he “deals” with people – if you can call it that. I don’t really know what more to say about this anime. It’s ridiculous most of the time, but in the most amazing way possible. Other than that, I can’t say much. You just have to experience it for yourself, if you want to know what I mean. And this is not going to be everyone’s cup of tea, but it was definitely mine.

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes I would recommend it, especially if you enjoy comedy. Though I should mention that this comedy is seriously out there and very ridiculous.  But I absolutely loved it. I found myself laughing out loud sooo much while watching this anime.


AnimeNichijou

Episodes: 26

Comedy | School | Slice of Life

My rating: 5/10 (Average)

Nichijou primarily focuses on the daily antics of a trio of childhood friends whose stories soon intertwine with the young genius Hakase, her robot caretaker Nano, and their talking cat Sakamoto. With every passing day, the lives of these six, as well as of the many people around them, experience both the calms of normal life and the insanity of the absurd. Walking to school, being bitten by a talking crow, spending time with friends, and watching the principal suplex a deer: they are all in a day’s work in the extraordinary everyday lives of those in Nichijou.

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

This is one of the most popular Slice of Life anime that are there (or at least it is from what I have seen). Sadly, I didn’t love it (or enjoy it) as much as everyone else. The humor just wasn’t for me and I didn’t really care about the characters all that much. I was mostly meh (don’t really know a better word for it) about everything that was happening. The things that were “supposed” to be cute, I didn’t find particularly adorable. The ones that were “supposed” to be funny, I just found ridiculous and so on. This just wasn’t for me.

Would I recommend this anime?

Well, yes and no. Personally I didn’t enjoy it, so recommending it seems a bit weird. Then again, the humor was just not mine – so you probably should check it out and see if you enjoy it. Who knows, it might just be perfect for you (plus there are MANY people who adore this anime, so there is that).


72078lGintama°

Episodes: 51

Comedy | Action | Sci-Fi | Historical | Parody

Rating: R – 17+ (violence & profanity)

My rating: 10/10 (Masterpiece)

Gintoki, Shinpachi, and Kagura return as the fun-loving but broke members of the Yorozuya team! Living in an alternate-reality Edo, where swords are prohibited and alien overlords have conquered Japan, they try to thrive on doing whatever work they can get their hands on. However, Shinpachi and Kagura still haven’t been paid… Does Gin-chan really spend all that cash playing pachinko?

Meanwhile, when Gintoki drunkenly staggers home one night, an alien spaceship crashes nearby. A fatally injured crew member emerges from the ship and gives Gintoki a strange, clock-shaped device, warning him that it is incredibly powerful and must be safeguarded. Mistaking it for his alarm clock, Gintoki proceeds to smash the device the next morning and suddenly discovers that the world outside his apartment has come to a standstill. With Kagura and Shinpachi at his side, he sets off to get the device fixed; though, as usual, nothing is ever that simple for the Yorozuya team.

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList – I honestly don’t know how to describe/summarize this anime.)

My thoughts:

Gintama is one of my all time favourite anime. I simply LOVE the characters, the world it takes place in and the humor is simply amazing. I love the fact that this anime doesn’t take itself seriously and parodies basically everything (from other anime, to tv shows, to movies and so on). This season of the anime had some VERY SERIOUS moments and I loved them as well. It was great seeing some of the conclusions and some crazy things happened. (I really can’t write about anything, as I don’t want to spoil stuff.)

Would I recommend this anime?

YES! As I said, this is one of my all time favourite anime. Though I don’t know if I would recommend it to someone who just started watching anime. Why? Because (as I already mentioned) it parodies and references many other anime and if you haven’t seen these anime you won’t get the references. So I’m not sure that “anime beginners” (if you can call them that) would get as much out of it as it’s possible. But still, I would definitely recommend this anime – though the first season and not this one (for obvious reasons). 😀



That is all for this wrap up.

Do let me know if you have watched any of these anime and what you thought about them! Do you plan to watch any of them?

Thank you for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

Leave a Reply

