top five wednesday

Books I Will Never Read || Top Five Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday

Top Five Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey @GingerReadsLainey and she has passed down the torch to Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. For more information and for future topics you can check out the goodreads group.


I had a lot of fun thinking about the books that I don’t want to read. (For whatever reason that was.) So, I kind of went overboard and ended up picking 10 books instead of 5. I just kept thinking of books that I have no interest in reading. As I did enjoy the theme a lot I decided to just go with every book I could think of (at this particular moment that it). So this could be considered a double list.

Also, I’m not going to give reasons as to why I don’t plan on ever reading these books. There are simply to many for me to write about (and lets be real, I’m lazy). So, if you are interested in why I don’t want to read them, feel free to ask! 😀


The first five are ones I simply have no interest in reading.

(Though I also have to say that they are not in any particular order.)

  1. The Selection by Kiera Cass
  2. Fifty Shades of Grey by  E.L. James
  3. Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined by Stephenie Meyer
  4. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by  Seth Grahame-Smith, Philip Smiley (illustrator)
  5. Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

The next five are from series where I didn’t enjoy the first book and therefore don’t plan on continuing with the series.

(Same as before, there really is no particular order.)

  1. Windwitch by Susan Dennard
  2. Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness
  3. Tatiana and Alexander by Paullina Simons
  4. World After by Susan Ee
  5. Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Do you plan to read any of these books? Have you already read them? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading! I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

18 thoughts on “Books I Will Never Read || Top Five Wednesday

  1. Oh noooo, I loved the All Souls Trilogy! I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy it. I definitely recommend trying the 2nd book out at some point down the road though, it’s the best book in the series.

    And don’t worry about The Selection series – you aren’t missing anything lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it! I don’t think I’ll give this series another try…I just really didn’t like the first book and there are literary a ton of other ones that I want to read.

      Hahaha, glad to hear that! I have heard the worst things about America Singer (I think that’s her name) and I simply can’t be bothered to read it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I will admit that 50 Shades of Grey and Life and Death are two books I will not be picking up anytime soon! I’ve seen too many negative reviews and I’m not too keen on the Twilight series anymore so I won’t enjoy them and life is too short to read books you don’t enjoy right?
    It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy Angelfall, it’s actually one of my favourite series but I guess we can’t all have the same taste in books can we! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was never interested in 50 Shades of Gray, it’s just not something I’m interested in. I was actually interested in Life and Death when it was first announced. I was expecting a rewritten story, but when I found out that only the genders were flipped I lost all interest that I had.
      I think I have a problem with books about angels in general. I don’t think I have read a single one that I like. Soooo me picking up Angelfall might not have been the best idea. XD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was the same with 50 Shades of Grey, never interested enough to pick it up, and honestly I wasn’t ever interested in Life and Death either. I’ve just outgrown my Twilight phase I think.
        No probably not if you don’t like books about angels. I haven’t read many books about angels so I can’t really say for sure whether I’d enjoy any others! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I think I have outgrown it as well. It’s just that Twilight was one of the books that got me into reading (after a period of basically not reading anything at all), so I wanted to see the “remastered” version. That’s not going to happen now!
          I think I have read either 4 or 5 now and I didn’t like any of them. So that one is on me! XD The only reason I read it is because my best friend literary shoved it into my hands and made me read it.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I can kind of understand that, I think there were just so many other books I wanted to read I wasn’t going to waste my time on a book I didn’t enjoy you know.
            The only one I can remember reading is Angelfall, but I have Unearthly and Fallen and Hush Hush on my read list so I must have got through them as well. Clearly I didn’t enjoy them much if I can’t remember them at all. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  3. I really enjoyed Shadow of the Night but I couldn’t read more than a few pages of the second book. I don’t know what happened. Now I completely lost interest to read this trilogy/series (I don’t know what they are).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I didn’t like insurgent either though divergent was nice.
    But I really like the all souls triology.
    I would add one more book to my list ‘the maze runner’ I didn’t really find the idea of kids running around all day very appealing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I heard that the trilogy gets worse with each book. So, after not liking Divergent (which everyone told me was the best) I decided to not continue with the story.
      I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the All Souls Trilogy.
      I’m still unsure if I want to continue The Maze Runner trilogy. I did enjoy the first book, but somehow I’m not motivated enough to pick up the next one.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Definitely no 50 Shades for me either! Because of what I’ve heard about Beautiful Disaster, I haven’t ever had any interest in picking that up. And I don’t have any desire to return to the Twilight series at this point in my life. I tried to read Insurgent last year, but I only got about halfway through it. I might try to finish it off at some point just because I hate stopping in the middle of books, but I’m not sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I have heard really problematic things about Beautiful Disaster and I just can’t read it because of it, even though quiet a few people I know in real life have recommended it. I won’t be picking it up, as I have no reason to read such a problematic book.
      I was actually very interested when the “remastered” Twilight book was announced and I thought it would be a better and refined version, and not just the gender bent version of the first book. Soon I’m staying away from it! XD
      I know that feeling! I seriously hate stopping in the middle of books as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

