wrap up

I had an AMAZING reading month || August Wrap Up

August was a seriously amazing reading month for me! First of all I managed to get through 8 books in total and some of them were quiet long. And I have to say I’m very happy with how much I managed to read (especially after last month). I read some fantastic books this month.

Now, lets get into the books that I managed to read this month! (They are in the order that I read them in.)


Anne RiceThe Queen of the Damned by Anne Rice

( The Vampire Chronicles #3 )

3 out of 5 stars

Now where do I begin with this book?

I have read the first two books (Interview with the Vampire and The Vampire Lestat) quiet a while ago. And by that I mean it has been at least 4 years since. This was the only other book from this series that I owned and I decided to randomly read it this month.

All in all, it was an all right book. I think I would have enjoyed it a lot more if I read it right after I read the first two books.  (As I felt like I was missing some clues and important information while I was reading it.) I don’t plan on continuing this series any time soon (I’m just not interested in reading it) – but in the future I might.


Edgar Allan PoeThe Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe

4 out of 5 stars

First of all: NO, I didn’t read this whole book this month. It’s over a 1000 pages long and there is no way I could read it within just one month. (Well, technically I could – but that would be forcing myself and I wouldn’t enjoy it then.) This month I finally managed to finish this book! I have been reading it on and off for quiet a while now (at least 4 months). All in all, I really enjoyed this book. There were some poems and stories that I absolutely ADORED and I read them multiple times (just because I felt like it). There were also some that I didn’t like as much, which is pretty normal considering the amount of poems and stories in this collection.


Stephen King11/22/63 by Stephen King

2 out of 5 stars

This is the 14th book that I have read by Stephen King so far. And sadly it wasn’t my cup of tea. I just honestly didn’t enjoy this book.

I usually really enjoy the way Stephen King tells stories and I usually like reading about his characters as well. He is one of my favourite authors, after all. This book sadly didn’t work for me. Why? I just didn’t care about the characters, the time period this book takes place in is not something I’m familiar with (or interested in, as I found out) and I felt that it was too dragged out (though that might have been due to the fact that I wasn’t enjoying it). There really isn’t much more to say about that.


Victoria SchwabThe Archived by Victoria Schwab

( The Archived #1 )

5 out of 5 stars

This was actually a reread for me, as I wanted to refresh my memory of this book since I plan on reading the sequel soon – for the first time. (And I did read it for the first time over 2 years ago. So I really did need to reread it before I start the sequel.) I ADORED this book. It was simply amazing! I honestly forgot how much I loved the characters and the world that Victoria Schwab has created within this book.

If you want to know more of my thoughts, I have written a full review of this book.


Night EngelBeyond the Shadows by Brent Weeks

( Night Angel #3 )

3 out of 5 stars

I really don’t know what to think of this book and I had the biggest problem deciding on a rating.

In some aspects I really loved this book. Then were the times I didn’t enjoy it at all. I honestly have no idea how that happened. Also, I’m not sure if I’m satisfied with the way this trilogy ended. On one hand I do like it, on the other one not. This seems to be the theme with my thoughts on this book. But all in all, this trilogy is definitely worth checking out!

(I can’t go into much detail about anything in this book – it’s the final one after all and I don’t want to spoil anything.)


CinderCinder by Marissa Meyer

( The Lunar Chronicles #1 )

4 out of 5 stars

This was such a fun book! I really enjoyed it, a lot more than I thought I would. (I just wasn’t sure if it was going to be my cup of tea – luckily it was!) I love the world that Marissa Meyer has created within this novel. My favourite characters are definitely Cinder and Prince Kai! They were both fantastic and I loved reading about them!

I did have some problems with it. BUT those reasons I’ll get more into later, as I plan on writing a full review for this book.


Kane ChroniclesThe Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan

( The Kane Chronicles #1 )

4 out of 5 stars

I have wanted to read this book for ages and I finally got around to it! (Or actually: I finally bought it, so I was able to read it.)

I have always been fascinated with Ancient Egypt and the gods and everything else about it. So this book was right up my alley! Especially since I never felt as if I knew enough, or at least as much as I wanted. I learned MANY new things and I’m even more fascinated with it than I was before!

I did have some problems here and there with the story and the characters, but all in all it was an amazing read and I can’t wait to start the next book in this series!


Wolf by WolfWolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

( Wolf by Wolf # 1)

5 out of 5 stars

This book was seriously fantastic and I enjoyed every moment of it! I read this book together with my good friend Ariana @TheQuirkyBookNerd, which made my experience with this book even better.

The writing style was amazing, it just fit the story perfectly. The story in itself was fantastic as well. I do have to say though: I didn’t expect the race to be the way it was! I imagined it would be a race in a stadium or somewhere like that. But NO, this is a race across continents, over 20 000 km (if I’m not mistaken with this number). I adore Yael, she is definitely one of my new favourite characters.

I’m going to write a full review for this book, so more of my thoughts will be there.


So this was my reading month.

Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? Or do you plan on reading any of them? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

23 thoughts on “I had an AMAZING reading month || August Wrap Up

  1. Sounds like some good reading times! I’m sorry that you didn’t like 11/22/63, that is one of my favourite Stephen King novels. I’m a big King fan too, I can’t remember how many of his novels I read (I’m currently reading his Bill Hodges trilogy, and I have love/hate relationship with it).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a really amazing reading month! 😀 I’m sad that I didn’t enjoy it either, it just didn’t interest me as much as his other ones that I have read. I’m happy to hear that you are also a big fan of King! 😀 I can’t wait to get to the Bill Hodges trilogy (I do hope to, at least, get the first book rather soon.)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great recap Anna, and you got through some good books this month as well! I loved your review for The Archived, it definitely reminded me that I need to pick up that book again and soon! Also Cinder, and Wolf by Wolf are favourites of mine so I’m thrilled to see you enjoyed those two as well. The Red Pyramid is on my to-read list alone with most of Riordan’s books and I am excited to get around to it, it’s great you enjoyed it, makes me more excited to pick it up myself! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I really did manage to read some amazing books this month. I’m glad you loved my review and I hope you end up loving The Archived as much as the first time around, if you decide to reread it! 🙂 Both Cinder and Wolf by Wolf were amazing. I enjoyed Wolf by Wolf a little bit more and I’m really exited to write reviews for both of them! The Red Pyramid was a lot of fun and I hope you get around it some time soon as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hopefully you’ll get through just as many amazing books in September as well! 🙂
        I’m sure I will, there’s yet to be a V.E. Schwab book I haven’t loved so I doubt The Archived will be it!
        Ohh I can’t wait to see them both, and I’m thrilled to see you loved both books as well! And yeah I need to get around to the rest of Rick Riordan’s books soon too! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I love Poe as well! Ever since our English teacher introduced his works to us I have wanted to read everything he has written. And now I have managed that! 🙂 Wolf by Wolf was seriously AMAZING! I adored the whole book. The sequel can’t come out soon enough – I really need to know what is going to happen next!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I so want to get my hands on The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe! I’ve had to read a few of his poems and stories for school and loved them. I also need to get my hands on some of VE Schwab’s books since everyone seems to be loving them. I’m glad you had a great reading month! Here’s to hoping September is just as good. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had also read some of his stories and poems in school and I fell in love with them! Then my mom bought me his Complete Tales and Poems, as a gift for passing some very important exam. 😀 V. E. Schwab is one of my favourite authors and I have loved everything that I have read by her – so I can only recommend her books! 🙂 (Though I would recommend Vicious the most, it’s my favourite so far.) I hope your September will be good as well.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. His poetry is wonderful and I love the dark mood he creates (in both his poems and stories). I have read two of his other series: Percy Jackson and the Olympians and The Heroes of Olympus. I have to say that I enjoyed those two series more than The Red Pyramid. All of them were 5 star reads, and The Kane Chronicles are going to be 4 star ones. (I’m nearly done with the second book.)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

