book review

Cinder by Marissa Meyer || Book Review

CinderTitle: Cinder

            ( The Lunar Chronicles #1 )

Author: Marissa Meyer

Published: 3. January 2012.

Edition: Feiwel & Friends

                 Kindle Edition, 400 pages

Genre: Young Adult | Science Fiction | Fairy Tale

Summary:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 4 out of 5 stars ►

Now where do I start with this review? And that’s an honest question, as I really don’t have any idea. Well, I should maybe start by saying that literary EVERYONE has been recommending me to read this book (or the whole series rather) for AGES. And I just haven’t picked it up until now, just because I don’t listen to people. So it’s all on me! BUT I have finally read it and I understand why everyone loves this book so much! Now that I have mentioned that, I think it’s time I start the actual review.

I haven’t read nearly as many science fiction as I should have (or wanted to, for that matter), and this book reminded me of that. It definitely made me want to explore this genre a lot more. I love the world that Marissa Meyer has created. It’s very interesting and I wish that we learned more about it. I just felt as if we haven’t gotten enough information about how the world works, or at least I wanted more. I’m especially interested in learning more about Luna, I just find everything about it fascinating.

This is such a unique retelling of Cinderella and I don’t think I have ever read anything similar to it. From the moment I started this book I was sucked into the story and just couldn’t put the book down. I really wanted to know what was going to happen next and how it’s going to be paralleled to the story of Cinderella. Some of the things were a bit predictable – I guessed the biggest plot twist in this book, among some small ones (don’t worry, I won’t mention what they are). The story felt also a bit weirdly paced at times, but nothing that was bothering me too much.

The characters in this book were amazing! I adored reading about them. My favourite are definitely Cinder and Kai. Cinder was a wonderful character to read about, I just enjoyed her personality and how she handled tough situations. She cared about others and what was happening to the people around her, even though she wasn’t living in the best circumstances herself. Prince Kai was amazing as well. He really cared about his people and what was going to happen to his country. I loved the interaction between him and Cinder, it was really cute and I can’t wait to read more about them. Also (I need to mention it), Iko is freaking cute!

All in all, I enjoyed this book a lot. I had some problems with it, but overall it was a very fun read and I am very exited to continue with this series. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone!

Have you read this book? What did you think of it?

Thank you for reading my review! I hope you have a wonderful day.

-Anna♥

17 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer || Book Review

  1. Great review Anna! I am so glad you enjoyed this book and so glad you finally managed to get around to it as well.
    I love sci-fi books but I haven’t read too many either; this book is a mixture of two of my favourite genres though (sci-fi and fairytale retellings) and I’d love to read more like this. I agree with you that some of the twists were a little cliché but I still really enjoyed them (and I guessed most of them as well) but the series gets a lot better with each book.
    Do you plan to start Scarlet soon? My favourite character is introduced in the second book so I’m excited to see what you think of that one. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I’m very happy to have gotten around to it as well.
      I definitely need to read more sci-fi, but I never actually pick up books in that genre. For whatever reason that is. Hopefully I’ll get around to more of them in the future. I agree, even though there were quiet a few cliché things about this book I still very much enjoyed it and I can’t wait to continue with the series! (Especially if the books get even better!)
      I first need to buy Scarlet, so I won’t be able to read it that soon. But I do hope to get my hands on the book soon and read it. Who is your favourite character? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right! And at least you loved it, must have been worth the wait. 🙂
        I need to read more sci-fi, this was the first sci-fi book I read and I still kind of class it a little more fantasy than sci-fi for some reason. But there are a few amazing books I have on my to-read list.
        The series does gets so much better the further into it you get; Scarlet is good Cress is better and Winter is just amazing! I’m sure you’ll love them all. I hope you manage to get the book soon as well, I can’t wait for you to read it.
        My favourite male character is Thorne (who you’ll meet in Scarlet) and female is definitely Cinder! What about yours so far?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I already own The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, so that’s going to be my next sci-fi read. Though I think that’s the only unread one that I own. XD
          So far my favourite female character is Cinder as well (and I don’t think that will change, I just adore her), as for male character my favourite is Kai. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet is on my ‘by the end of the year’ to-read list, I’m not sure when I’ll get around to it, most likely after the second book has been released and I can jump right in to that one as well!
            Kai is my second favourite male character, and yeah Cinder will stay a firm favourite of yours! 🙂

            Like

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed Cinder! Honestly, in the end I think this was my least favorite of the whole series, and I still adored it. I warn you: These are the sorts of books that keep you up late at night reading. 🙂 I can’t wait to hear what you think of the rest!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

