book review

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin || Book Review

Wolf by WolfTitle: Wolf by Wolf

            ( Wolf by Wolf #1 )

Author: Ryan Graudin

Published: 5. November 2015

Edition: Orion Children’s Books

                 Paperback, 390 pages

Genre: Historical Fiction | Young Adult | Fantasy

Summary:

Once upon a different time, there was a girl who lived in a kingdom of death. Wolves howled up her arm. A whole pack of them-made of tattoo ink and pain, memory and loss. It was the only thing about her that ever stayed the same.Her story begins on a train.

Germania, 1956. Over ten years since the Nazis won the war. 18-year-old Yael is part of the resistance, and she has just one mission: to kill Hitler.

But first she’s got to get close enough to him to do it.

Experimented on during her time at Auschwitz, Yael has the unique ability to change her appearance at will. The only part of her which always remains are the five tattooed wolves on her arm; one for each of the people she’s lost. Using her abilities, she must transform into Adele Wolfe, Germany’s most famous female rider and winner of the legendary Axis Tour; an epic long distance motorcycle race from Berlin to Tokyo, where only the strongest (and wiliest) riders survive. If she can win this, she will be able to get close enough to kill the Fuhrer and change history forever.

But with other riders sabotaging her chances at every turn, Yael’s mission won’t be easy…

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 5 out of 5 stars ►

I have read this book together with my good friend Ariana @TheQuirkyBookNerd. It was wonderful reading this book with someone and then being able to discuss it together. Ariana is simply amazing and I hope that we are going to have more buddy reads in the future. Also be sure to check out her blog!

And now onto the actual review!

First I would like to say that I loved this book! It was seriously amazing. So this might be more of me raving about this book, instead of a regular review. You have been warned! 😀

The writing style was amazing, it just fit the story perfectly. The whole story is separated into two timelines – one is of the present time and the other is about the past (about 10 years in the past to be precise). The writing style made it all tie in perfectly and the mood of the past and present were quiet different, but both very believable. The fact that we got the story from the past and the present gave a lot more perspective and I was very interested in both. This is such a unique take on the World War II story and I don’t think that I have never read anything like it.

I do have to say though: I didn’t expect the race to be the way it was! I imagined it would be a race in a stadium or somewhere like that. But NO, this is a race across continents, over 20 000 km (if I’m not mistaken with this number). I seriously had NO IDEA that it would be like this. Honestly, it was waaaay better than I though it would be and it worked perfectly for this story.

I adore Yael, she is definitely one of my new favourite characters. I love how strong and resourceful she was. She went through many horrible things and she managed to survive everything. I really admire her for that. I simply loved reading about her, she was just a fantastic protagonist. She wasn’t perfect, she had her flaws, yet she was simply wonderful. I’m looking forward to reading more about her.

I would like to mention that the side characters were also rather well developed. (That surprised me, as most of the books that I have read don’t have those “minor” characters well portrayed – in my opinion at leats.) I‘m very interested in which characters will show up in the sequel. Personally I would like to see more of Felix and Luka (among some others), they are the ones that interest me the most. I don’t really want to get into the characters that much, just because I consider writing more about them as spoilers.

This book was very fast paced and there were many surprises along the way. I didn’t see them coming! And I have to say: THE ENDING, THE FREAKING ENDING! (Not going to say anything more about that, those who read it know what I mean.) I seriously can’t wait to get my hands on the next book. I NEED to read it as soon as possible! Also I have NO IDEA where the story will go from here, it just makes me even more exited for the sequel.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it?

Thank you all for reading my rambling review. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

13 thoughts on “Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin || Book Review

  1. I’m so glad to hear you loved this book so much! I haven’t read it yet, but it’s on my TBR (along with about 80 billion others books…). Your review definitely pushed it higher up the list, however. Character development is one of my favorite things in literature. Plus strong female protagonists? Yes please!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so glad to see you loved this book Anna, Wolf by Wolf is one of my favourites and I cannot wait for the second book to be released (not long to go now, I think you started Wolf by Wolf at the right time because you don’t have long to wait now).
    I loved Yael as well, and Felix and Luka. I can’t wait to see all of them in Blood for Blood, I also hope we see a little of Adele as well. I wondered a little about her character at times in Wolf by Wolf.
    I didn’t see that ending coming at all but I thought it was brilliantly done, I don’t know if anyone saw it coming but god what a cliff-hanger.
    Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This book was simply fantastic and I adored everything about it! I think I read it at the right time as well – I don’t have to wait that long to find out how the story is going to continue 🙂
      Same! I was really curious about Adele and especially what happened to her. I’m interested to see how/if Luka and Felix will find out who Yael really is.
      This cliff-hanger is really brutal! And I don’t think anyone saw it coming.
      Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh you definitely did, I’ve been waiting for the second book for a few months now but I know people have probably been waiting for it for a lot longer as well.
        I do feel like there’s more to Adele’s story than what we saw so I’d be interested if it was expanded on. And I think Luka and Felix will have to find out who Yael actually is, especially after what she did at the end.
        It felt both completely out of the blue but at the same time it made perfect sense as well, just a brilliant book.
        That’s all right! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Love your review! This one sounds so interesting! I read this Walled City by the same author and I wasn’t too much a fan but I think I’ll give this book a shot. It sounds so it wresting and action packed and this review is so great! I’m glad to see you enjoyed it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! ❤ I would definitely recommend this book, it was simply amazing! (And everyone I know has loved it, so that's always a plus.) I haven't read The Walled City yet, I just don't think it's something I would enjoy. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

