tag

The Pastry Book Tag

Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Lara @ABundleOfBooks to do this tag. Thank you once more! ❤ 🙂 Be sure to check out her blog!

I also wanted to say that I’m sorry for making you hungry. Why? Well, I decided that it was a great idea to include pictures of the pastries mentioned. And yes, I made myself quiet hungry as well. Anyway, you have been warned! Procede at your own risk.


CROISSANT: NAME A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT EVERYONE (INCLUDING YOU) LOVES

The first book series that came to my mind is (unsurprisingly) Harry Potter. But I ALWAYS mention this series, so I thought I would change it up a bit. Just recently I read Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin and I absolutely ADORED this book! It was seriously amazing. (And you can read my full review here.) Plus everyone else seems to love this book as well, so it fits perfectly for this category.


MACARONS: NAME A BOOK THAT WAS HARD TO GET THROUGH BUT WORTH IT IN THE END

The first one that came to my mind is Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf. The writing style is beautiful, but also hard to follow. At times I couldn’t tell which character was narrating the story. All in all it was hard to get through (and it’s definitely not one of my favourite books), but I’m very glad that I read it. And it made me want to read something else by Virginia Woolf as well.


VOL-AU-VENT: NAME A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGHT WILL BE AMAZING BUT FELL FLAT

For me this definitely has to be Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I was very exited about this book, especially since I had seen people loving it. It simply sounds like my type of book/story so that made me even more exited to read it. Sadly it just fell flat for me. I think this might be my biggest disappointment of the year. (Want to know more details? I wrote a rambling review on goodreads, it’s spoiler-free.)


PAIN-AU-CHOCOLAT: NAME A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGHT WOULD BE ONE THING BUT TURNED OUT TO BE SOMETHING ELSE

I have to go with Nimona by Noelle Stevenson for this one. This graphic novel was nothing like I thought it would be! I expected a lighthearted and fun story (mostly because of the art style and because I didn’t look up any reviews), but that wasn’t the case. Not going into any detail, because of spoilers.


PROFITEROLE: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT DOESN’T GET ENOUGH ATTENTION

How I Found You by Gabriella Lepore is a highly underrated book and it’s one I adored when I read it. If you are a fan of supernatural and books with a great romance I can only recommend it! (Though it’s been a really long time since I read this book, I seriously need to do a reread of it some time soon.)


CROQUEMBOUCHE: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT’S COMPLETELY COMPLEX

The first series that came to mind is A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin. So we shall go with that one. I’m sure everyone is familiar with how complex this world and series is. So I don’t think much explaining is needed.


NAPOLEON: NAME A MOVIE OR TV SHOW BASED OFF A BOOK THAT YOU LIKED BETTER THAN THE BOOK ITSELF

I would definitely have to go with The Woman in Black by Susan Hill. I did very much enjoy the book, but I feel as if the scary and creepy things that were happening were better portrayed in the movie. Though the book was very atmospheric and I enjoyed that about it vre much. Basically the movie scared me a lot more. (Which is obvious, since I did see the horror stuff and didn’t just read about it. Plus the sound is also a big factor.)


EMPANADA: NAME A BOOK THAT WAS BITTERSWEET

If you have read A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness you definitely know why I chose it for this category. If not, you should definitely read it! (Not going to go into any detail about this book, just read it – though I do have a review of it, if you are interested.)


KOLOMPEH: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT TAKES PLACE SOMEWHERE OTHER THAN YOUR OWN COUNTRY

Basically every book ever. I’m from a small European country and I haven’t read many books that are set there. (Aside from the classics from the authors from my country.) I decided to go with The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan for this one. The story takes place in many different countries, none that are my own. (So it’s perfect for this category!)


PATE-A-CHOUX: NAME A FOOD FROM A BOOK OR SERIES THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO TRY

I want to try basically ANY food or drink from the Harry Potter world. Growing up reading Harry Potter just made me interested in all the delicious (and weird) foods that the Wizarding World has to offer!


I tag:

(As always, if you have already done this tag or don’t want to do it feel free to ignore me!)


That’s all for this tag!

I seriously enjoyed writing it, the questions were a lot of fun! Though I don’t think the pictures were one of my best ideas…Now I’m really hungry.

Thank you very much for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

13 thoughts on “The Pastry Book Tag

  1. Thank you for the tag! This looks like such a fun one and I am now SO HUNGRY 😉 I have not read nearly enough of these books and I can’t wait to! I completely agree with a Monster Calls and Nimona! I loved them both so much! I’m sorry Truthwitch fell flat for you – I’ve heard so much about it, i hope you enjoy your next one better! Again thank you so much! ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! ❤ It really is a fun tag, and I did warn you. 😉 I really hope that you enjoy the books you decide to read! Both are seriously amazing and I really want to reread both of them – which wouldn't be to hard, as both aren't that long. Yeah, it's too bad about Truthwitch, it just wasn't my cup of tea.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great answers for this tag Anna! Although wow those food pictures have made me really hungry now! I definitely agree with you on Wolf by Wolf (and Harry Potter is that was your first almost pick). It was seeing everyone’s amazing reviews of Wolf by Wolf that made me want to pick it up in the first place, and I was not disappointed when I did. Now I can’t wait to get around to the second book to find out how it all ends!
    Oh I read A Monster Calls last month and it’s definitely bittersweet but a beautiful story as well. Also Game of Throne is so complex isn’t it, there are so many places and people to keep track of, you almost need to watch the TV show as well just to keep up! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 Yeah, the pastries in the pictures look amazing, they make me hungry each time I look at them. It was the same with me and Wolf by Wolf! I didn’t pay it that much attention in the beginning (mostly because I thought it was about werewolfs), but after seeing the amazing reviews it got, I got really intrigued and wanted to read it. And I’m super happy that I decided to give it a chance!
      Haha, Game of Thrones is really complex! I am very happy that there is a list of characters at the end of the books, and the maps help as well. Without both of those I would be seriously lost. XD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The best things about food tags is the pictures of the food right?
        Oh I thought there would be werewolves as well! Especially when the blurb mentioned Yael was a shape shifter, I assumed she’d be able to shift into a wolf. I’m happy I gave it a chance as well, and happy you really enjoyed it! 😀
        Hell even with that list and the maps I’m still a little lost! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

