tag

The ‘I Messed Up’ Book Tag || Or how I basically fail at books and reading.

Tag

I was tagged by my wonderful friend Beth @ReadingEveryNight to do this tag. Thank you once more! ❤ 🙂 You should all, obviously, check out her blog. (And follow her of course!)

Basically this post turned out to be a lot more “me rambling about stuff” than I thought it would be and I ended up using waaay too many gifs. I guess I was in just that kind of mood today (if it can even be considered a mood).

Anyway, onto the actual tag!


A character appearance that you misread or imagined differently.

Basically everyone ever.

Unless I have seen movies with them in it (when they are correctly portrayed) or some fan art. I seriously forget how the appearance of a character is described way too often and then I have to look it up whenever I’m confused about it (unless it’s something really striking, or mentioned a ton of times). I’m the worse at remembering what characters look like.

GIF


A character name that you’ve been pronouncing wrong.

Sigh, another question doomed for failure.

Nearly every fantasy name ever – which is a problem for most people, so I don’t really feel that bad about it! Some examples are:

  • Inej from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • everyone from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas
  • quiet a few names from the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin (as I’m not watching the tv show and don’t hear them being spoken)
  • and the list goes on.

And also many “normal” names as well. Why those? Well, I’m from a non-English speaking country and we have a specific way of reading names (which I can’t really explain…sorry about that). So when I read those names in my head they sound perfectly normal, then I watch a youtube video (or talk to someone about that book) and I’m like “Who the hell are you talking about?! Are we talking about the same book?” Sooo, that’s a thing.

GIF


An overused trope that is your guilty pleasure.

I really enjoy the “enemies to friends/lovers” trope. (Or when they simply dislike each other in the beginning, doesn’t really need to be “enemies”.) I think this is one of my favourite tropes ever, so it fits perfectly. Though I don’t enjoy every story that has this trope in it. It all really comes down to the way it was executed. (Don’t know why I’m explaining this, as it’s really obvious.)

tumblr_n41xw28mxQ1t66xqto1_500.gif


A cliché character type that you like better on screen than reading about.

This is a rather hard question, I really had to think about it. And I don’t have a proper answer for this honestly. I don’t think I see the difference. If I like/dislike a type of character, it’s the same for me in whatever media I encounter them in. It doesn’t really matter if I read about them or watch them on screen. And I don’t think I have ONE specific type that I prefer on screen. I guess the annoying ones? I mean, it’s easier to just watch them, rather than having to read about them, or worse from their perspective.


A word/phrase you learned because of its use in a book.

There are waaaay too many to name. I started reading books in English for many reasons, one of them was definitely to better my vocabulary and improve my general knowledge of English as well. So I have learned a ton of words and phrases over the years, so I really can’t think of an answer for this one.

I started reading in English when I was around 16 and now I’m 21 (and I mean read extensively in that language and not just from time to time). Just wanted to add that little fact for no reason.

GIF


Have you ever not read or completed a required reading book for school?

Yes, there have been (quiet) a few times that I haven’t completed a required reading. Mostly during high school, as we had a ton to read – and let’s be real, I was too lazy and I wanted to read the books that interest me. Not the classics that I got assigned. Though I think there are “only” 10 required reading books that I haven’t read. (YES, I know that’s many! And I’m sure there’s more, but I just can’t remember them at the moment!) And yes, I have gotten bad marks because of it. Not one of my best moments.

tumblr_nb39gotJ5a1tor24co1_500.gif


Have you ever (or wanted to) skipped a chapter from the point of view of a character you weren’t interested in?

No. (Or at least I don’t think so.) I tend to read the whole book, without skipping chapters. “Wanted to” is a completely different thing. Yes, I have wanted to skip chapters from time to time. Example: the A Song of Ice and Fire series – basically the chapters end in cliff hangers and then I have to wait 4 or 5 VERY LONG chapters until I know how the story continues. So yes, skipping seemed tempting, but I DON’T actually end up doing it.

Though if I’m hating a book I will skim read some of the chapters, especially if they are in the point of view from a characters that I hate. There really is no reason for me to force myself to read something that I’m not enjoying.

GIF


Have you ever cancelled social plans to read a book?

Not really. (Don’t you need social plans first to be able to cancel them?) I don’t usually make many social plans in the first place. I don’t have that many friends (especially here in Vienna, where I’m currently living – most of my friends are in my home town), so I don’t have those social plans very often. Therefore when I do, I just tend to go and hang out with people instead of reading.

I really wish I had bookish friends in real life, so that we could go to events or just book shopping together or something. Or read books together and talk about them in person (and fangirl about all the things)…Now I’m making myself sad. Moving on!

GIF


That’s everything for this tag.

I TAG EVERYONE who feels like doing this tag!

Be sure to link me your posts (if you end up doing this tag) I would love to check out your answers!

Thank you very much for reading! I hope you have a wonderful day.

-Anna♥

22 thoughts on “The ‘I Messed Up’ Book Tag || Or how I basically fail at books and reading.

  1. Oh I really loved your answers for this tag, and I feel most of them are very similar to mine! I am terrible with remembering what characters look like, normally I just made up appearances in my head and then if they’re described again I realise I’m completely wrong. And definitely with the name thing, but it’s one of the drawbacks of reading a lot of fantasy books, so many confusing names!
    I also don’t make many social plans, choosing to spend most of my time either reading or on WordPress! I guess a lot of us can say the same though! 😀
    Great answers for this tag Anna! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed reading through them! 🙂 I have seen the similarities between our answers as well. Haha, I’m the same with characters – I imagine them the way they “suit” me at the moment. I can’t even count the amount of times that I have been surprised when I find out how the characters actually look like! Fantasy names are seriously confusing, even when there are guides to the pronunciation they are usually in the “English way of pronouncing things” and that doesn’t help me either. XD
      Yes, spending time reading and blogging is something a lot of us have in common!
      Thank you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I did, and I have a feeling a few other bloggers would have similar opinions as well! 😀 Exactly, you get an odd sentence where a character will remind you what they look like half a book or half a series in and I’m always like ‘but that isn’t how I see you’!
        I don’t normally look at the guide to pronounce things, normally they’re at the end of the book as well so I’ll get used to the wrong name then at the end see I’ve been saying it wrong in my head.
        That’s all right! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. YES! I am not alone as the only person who can’t seem to visualize the characters! My sig tells me I’m bad at the “mind movie”– I really struggle to visualize what is going on in the book in my head. But I’m still experiencing it, if that makes sense. I love reading, I just… don’t do the imagery part. O_o

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can usually visualize whats going on in the book, the setting it takes place in and such things. I have a problem with remembering what the characters look like. You’re definitely not alone with that! Don’t worry, it makes perfect sense to me. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great answers Anna! I mispronounce a lot of names as well when I haven’t heard other people say them, most of the time with fantasy books I just say some sort of gibberish….
    Also there’s more than a few required reading books I never fully read as well, I just hate being forced to read stuff because it makes me lose focus. I’m probably up around the 10 mark too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 Haha, same with me. I pronounce them whatever way I like and then hearing someone pronounce them correctly is like an epiphany!
      Most of the time I was forced to read something for school I would end up disliking it. Mainly because I HAD to read it. So it wasn’t really reading for pleasure, so I just didn’t want to do it. (And I obviously didn’t.) XD

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve got to admit, pronouncing names is hard, especially if you’re reading Throne of Glass. 😂 I’ve definitely been tempted to skip certain perspectives in books, and sometimes feel guilty for even thinking about doing it. I’m glad I’m not the only one.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So I just discovered your blog and am very glad I did! You just got yourself a new follower hahaha. I can very much relate to the whole mispronouncing Sarah J Maas her character’s names. I used to say Chaol as ”coal” and Feyre as ”Fairy” :’)
    I did this tag a while back as well, maybe it’s fun to read ^^ http://thenamelessbookblog.blogspot.nl/2016/05/the-i-messed-up-book-tag.html

    I’ll be looking forward to your new blogpost!
    x Amber

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

