book review

The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan || Series Review

Title: The Kane Chronicles

Author: Rick Riordan

Genre: Mythology | Young Adult/Middle Grade | Fantasy

Summary (for the first book):

Since their mother’s death, Carter and Sadie have become near strangers. While Sadie has lived with her grandparents in London, her brother has traveled the world with their father, the brilliant Egyptologist, Dr. Julius Kane.

One night, Dr. Kane brings the siblings together for a “research experiment” at the British Museum, where he hopes to set things right for his family. Instead, he unleashes the Egyptian god Set, who banishes him to oblivion and forces the children to flee for their lives.

Soon, Sadie and Carter discover that the gods of Egypt are waking, and the worst of them — Set — has his sights on the Kanes. To stop him, the siblings embark on a dangerous journey across the globe – a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and their links to a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Individual rating:

  • The Red Pyramid – 4 out of 5 stars
  • The Throne of Fire – 3 out of 5 stars
  • The Serpant’s Shadow – 3.5 out of 5 stars

Overall rating:

◄ 4 out of 5 stars ►


The Red Pyramid

Rick RiordanFirst of all I would like to mention that this trilogy is nothing like the Percy Jackson series. Not that I thought it would be, but I’m guessing that most people read that series and I feel like I should mention it. The whole concept of the trilogy is very different in a very good way. Now, that that is out of the way – let’s get into the actual review!

The whole magic system and take on Egyptian mythology and gods was very interesting. I don’t think I have ever before encountered anything similar to it. I loved learning more and more as the story progressed. Plus it was fascinating finding out more about Egyptian mythology, something I wasn’t overly familiar with before. Thank you Rick Riordan for teaching me more about another cultures gods and mythology!

This book is written in two points of view. One is from Carter and the other from Sadie, they alternate throughout the whole book. Meaning we get one chapter from Carter, then one from Sadie, then one from Carter again and so on.

The two main characters in this book, Carter and Sadie, are siblings who aren’t very close with each other. They are practically strangers. Why? Well, after the death of their mother Carter went to live with his dad, who is an archeologist and travels a lot, while Sadie stayed with her grandparents (from the mothers side of the family) in London. They only saw each other twice a year, which resulted in them not really having a relationship. One of my favourite things in this book was the progression of their relationship. They went from strangers, to kind of friends, to trusting each other a lot. I just loved seeing their progress, as their adventures continued.

There is quiet a bit of racial diversity in these book, with both the main characters and the side characters. (Though more diverse characters start appearing in the second and third book.) Just though I would mention that as well.

This book deals with loss and sacrifices as well. Coming to terms with the death of their mother and the disappearing of their father (which happens in the beginning, so it’s not a spoiler). I feel as if these themes were very well done, the emotions felt very genuine and I sympathised with both siblings.

Of course there was humour in this book as well. What else would you expect from Rick Riordan? I really enjoyed the banter and comedy in this book. (Though I have to say, that it’s nowhere near the hilarity of Percy Jackson – just wanted to “warn” you about that.)

Now onto something, or rather someone, I didn’t like at all. And that’s Sadie. She seriously annoyed me the whole time and I really didn’t like her. (I still don’t, even after reading all the books.)  This is more of a situation where: it’s me, not you. I just personally don’t like characters like Sadie and I especially don’t like reading from their point of view. And this book is basically half of that. It didn’t bother me that much though, as Carter balanced everything out for me, even when the chapter was in Sadie’s point go view – which I was very thankful for.

I felt as if the book was weirdly paced at times, some things dragged on a bit while other were filled with action. This whole story was action packed and quiet a few unexpected things happened as well.

Overall, this book was really good. It was a very fun and enjoyable adventure and I can only recommend it! Especially if you already love Rick Riordan’s writing, or just mythology in general.


The Throne of Fire

There will be NO SPOILERS in this review!

Rick RiordanThis was my least favourite book of the whole trilogy. Why? Mostly because of Sadie. As I already mentioned, I really didn’t like her – and with this book I disliked her even more. She seriously NEEDS to sort out her priorities. She seriously frustrated me this whole book.

I mentioned earlier that Carter balanced her out and I still could enjoy the book despite really disliking her. (I kind of want to say hating her, but also don’t.) Well, in this book they get separated for some time and then her chapters were torture for me. I just couldn’t stand her and it was brought to my attention a lot in this book.

I also didn’t really care about any of the romantic relationships in this book at all. I don’t know, they felt really weird and kind of unnecessary, if I’m being honest. I think without them this book (and the whole trilogy) would have been a lot better.

In this book quiet a few new characters were introduced and they are very interesting. I just wanted to find out more about them! Two of my favourites were Walt and Jaz, I really enjoyed reading about both of them. In this book we also learned more about the House of Life and how it actually functions, which I found very fascinating. Same goes with the magic system and the types of magic that can be used.

I still enjoyed the sibling relationship, though there was one scene I really hated – which I can’t mention because of spoilers. XD If you have read the book as well, feel free to ask me what it was. I just enjoy reading about their relationship, as I generally enjoy sibling relationships in books (and I haven’t read nearly enough of books with them in it).

The plot of this one was very interesting. It was still fast paced and I really liked the direction it went. I can’t say much more about it, as it would spoil things and I don’t want that. Overall, this book was a solid continuation and a fun story as well.


The Serpents Shadow

There will be NO SPOILERS in this review!

Rick RiordanI don’t actually know how to write about this book. All the thoughts I have are quiet spoiler-y and I don’t want to write them down, for obvious reasons. So I will be as vague as possible and this one won’t be as long as the other two reviews.

First of all I would like to say that I really like the way this story went and how the plot progressed. I was very satisfied with the ending of the story as well. I just felt as if it wrapped up very nicely. Though there is one thing that didn’t get resolved – if you want a conclusion to that you need to read the crossover novellas with the Percy Jackson series, starting with The Son of Sobek. (I already had all of the novellas – that’s why the lack of resolution on that one matter didn’t bother me, as it otherwise would have.)

There were, of course, some things that bothered me. But I can’t really get into those, without spoiling anything, so I won’t. I sill disliked Sadie, but in this book she was balanced out a lot more with Carter (than in the previous book), so I found reading about her a lot less bothersome. Also, I still didn’t care about the romantic relationships – I stand by saying that these books would have been a lot better without any romance at all. There is one specific pairing that annoyed the hell out of me! (But I can’t mention it, because it’s a huge spoiler.)

Overall it was a good conclusion and a great way to wrap this series up!


Overall:

This trilogy was a really fun and interesting read. I learned a lot of new things about Egyptian gods and the mythology. I would highly recommend this trilogy to everyone!

Have you read this trilogy already? What did you think of it? Do you plan on reading it? Let me know!

Thank you very much for reading my review. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

11 thoughts on “The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan || Series Review

  1. I haven’t read this trilogy yet, because I adored the Percy Jackson books so much– I have been told these can be a bit of a disappointment. It sounds like they aren’t perfect, but they are a ton of fun, at least! I wish that fewer YA/MG books contained romantic relationships. I wonder if I’ll agree with you on that aspect once I eventually read these?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They will disappoint you, if you are expecting the next Percy Jackson. I already knew that The Kane Chronicles were nothing like that, so my expectations weren’t overly high. Percy Jackson is one of my all time favourite series and these don’t come close to that. Still, even with all the problems I had, they were a lot of fun and I’m really glad that I decided to read them. 🙂 I have to agree, I wish there was less romance in YA/MG – it really feels like there is some in EVERY book I read and when there isn’t I’m very surprised. I hope you enjoy this trilogy when you get around to reading it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great, informative little mini reviews Anna love it! I’ve only read The Red Pyramid and while I did enjoy it I just haven’t gotten around to the rest of the books. You’re definitely right to tell everyone they’re not the next Percy Jackson because they are very different books which may be the reason I didn’t like them as much. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂 Yeah, I felt that people would be expecting another Percy Jackson and that they then would be disappointed when it turned out to be nothing like that. Soon mentioning it seemed like a good idea. I hope you enjoy the rest of the trilogy when you get around to reading it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great reviews for this series Anna. I have the Kane Chronicles on my to-read list but I need to get through the Heroes of Olympus books soon (and I’ll probably read the Trials of Apollo books and the Magnus Chase releases as well first!) before I can start this trilogy.
    I am definitely interested in learning more about Egyptian mythology, one of my favourite things in the Percy Jackson series was the Greek mythology that was in the book so it’s great to hear that was the same with the Kane Chronicles trilogy. It’s a shame Sadie’s character ruined it a little for you but it seems like she gets a little better maybe, or maybe just better as she spends time with Kane.
    It is great the sibling relationship between the two is well developed. I love family dynamics in books like these. Plus hearing Rick Riordan’s trademark humour is present is also great news. Hopefully I’ll be able to get around to more of his books soon! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I hope you enjoy all of those Rick Riordan books! I adore the Heroes of Olympus series and I can’t wait to see what you are going to think of them. I have yet to read any of the Magnus Chase books and The Trials of Apollo, but I do hope that I can get around to them some time soon!
      I love mythology in general so I’m always looking forward to learning more about it. And Rick Riordan’s books are amazing for that, they are very fun and yet you learn a lot as well. And The Kane Chronicles is no exception to that.
      Yeah, it’s too bad that I didn’t like Sadie at all. I think it’s more of me personally having a problem with her than anything else – one of my good friends really liked her (she was her favourite character). I guess we just didn’t click.
      I love books with developed family dynamics! They are always amazing to read. And the humour is as amazing as it always is! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I loved the original Percy Jackson series so I have high hopes for the rest of Rick Riordan’s books. Plus I’ve pretty much only heard great things about them so I’m kind of wondering why I haven’t started them yet? Part of me is kind of waiting for more of the Magnus Chase and Trials of Apollo books to come out, I am not good with waiting for new books of series I love to be released! But I hope you really enjoy them as well. 😀
        Yeah I’m the same, Greek mythology is my favourite but honestly I’d love to learn more about any kind of mythology, and I agree with you about how Rick Riordan’s books are amazing for that because they’re entertaining but the facts are all there as well.
        You get books like that though, there have been characters I really haven’t clicked with and it’s not for any real reason I can specify, just that I didn’t see what everyone else loved about them. I think that’s something they do well in the Percy Jackson books too, family dynamics, and humour obviously! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I really love the way Rick Riordan writes and so far I have really enjoyed/loved everything that I have read by him. And, same as you, I wonder why I haven’t started anything else by him yet! Perhaps I just want to have a Rick Riordan book to look forward to, or something like that. Or maybe that’s just my excuse! XD
          I hate waiting for books to be released as well, so I completely understand!
          YESSS! I think Rick Riordan just does family dynamics and humour perfectly! 😉 (Or at least that’s the way it seems.) I do hope you end up liking Sadie, when you get around to this trilogy!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. That’s definitely my excuse. I’m terrible at waiting for new books to be released in series so as much as I want to binge read everything he’s released so far I know the wait for the next Trial of Apollo or Magnus Chase book will be unbearable if I have nothing to keep my going.
            I love the relationship between Percy and his mother, and even that he has with his father and Tyson. I hope so too, the Kane Chronicles are on my to-read list, it just may take me a little while to get around to them is all! 😀

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

