book review

The Unbound by Victoria Schwab | Review

Victoria SchwabTitle: The Unbound

( The Archived #2 )

Author: Victoria Schwab

Published: 6. January 2015.

Edition: Disney-Hyperion

Paperback, 368 pages

Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult | Supernatural

Summary (SPOILERS for The Archived):

Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books.

Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures that only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.

Last summer, Mackenzie Bishop, a Keeper tasked with stopping violent Histories from escaping the Archive, almost lost her life to one. Now, as she starts her junior year at Hyde School, she’s struggling to get her life back. But moving on isn’t easy-not when her dreams are haunted by what happened. She knows the past is past, knows it cannot hurt her, but it feels so real, and when her nightmares begin to creep into her waking hours, she starts to wonder if she’s really safe.

Meanwhile, people are vanishing without a trace, and the only thing they seem to have in common is Mackenzie. She’s sure the Archive knows more than they are letting on, but before she can prove it, she becomes the prime suspect. And unless Mac can track down the real culprit, she’ll lose everything, not only her role as Keeper, but her memories, and even her life. Can Mackenzie untangle the mystery before she herself unravels?

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 5 OUT OF 5 STARS ►

Before I start with this review, I would like to mention two things:

  • This is a SPOILER FREE review. (Aside from the summary.) Meaning I won’t be spoiling anything about this book or The Archived. So you can read it, without worrying that I will spoil you!
  • I have also recently reread The Archived, as a preparation for reading this book. And I have written a review for it as well, which you can check out here!

Now that that is out of the way, let’s get into the actual review!


It was wonderful getting back into this amazing world and finding out more about it. Victoria Schwab has created such a unique concept and the more I read about it the more I love it. (And the more I want more stories set in this world.) I don’t think I can do it justice describing it, so you should read the book and experience the amazingness of this world for yourself!

Mac becomes a very unreliable narrator in this book. After everything that happened to her in The Archived, it’s understandable. She breaks down, doesn’t sleep, can’t tell the difference between dream and reality and all in all seems as if she is losing her mind. I absolutely loved reading from her perspective. I don’t know what it is with unreliable narrators, I just feel as if they make the book that much more interesting. You just couldn’t trust the things that she was seeing and it made the book even more suspenseful. I definitely felt for her throughout this whole book, I felt her pain, I was worried about her, I rooted for her. Victoria Schwab made me care for her even more than I already did. Mac is definitely one of my favourite characters!

There is a lot more of Wesley Ayers in this book. And I couldn’t be more pleased! After all, Wesley is simply amazing and one of my all time favourite characters. So you can only imagine how happy I was when I realised that there would be a lot more of him in this book. I loved getting to know more about him and his interactions with Mac are simply wonderful! And as I said, I love him as a character so you won’t see me complaining about getting more of Wes.

A lot of new characters were introduced in this book as well. Mac starts going to school where she, obviously, meets a lot of new people. Honestly, I didn’t know throughout the whole book who to trust. Who was being honest and who wasn’t, who had some ulterior motives and who didn’t. I had my theories and suspicions, some which proved to be true and some where I was majorly wrong. Basically this book was messing with me a lot.

I can’t get much into the plot of this one – I simply feel as if everything is connected, from the happenings in the first book to the mental state of Mac in this one, to all the events in this book. And I really don’t want to accidentally spoil anything, so I’ll keep it vague. The plot kept on surprising me, there were a lot of twists and turns. I was kept at the edge of my seat nearly the whole time. I really liked the direction the story went and I feel that everything was very well crafted and executed.

Overall: I loved the characters, especially Mac and Wesley, the story was suspenseful and interesting, the narration was amazingly done. Basically this book was wonderful and I enjoyed every moment of it! I would highly recommend this series to everyone!


Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Did you love it as much as I did? Do you plant to read this book/series? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading my review! I hope you have a wonderful day.

-Anna♥

19 thoughts on “The Unbound by Victoria Schwab | Review

    1. Thank you! Well, her books are simply amazing and she is also one of my favourite authors. I have basically loved everything that I have read by her so far. Sooo I can only recommend you to try some of her books, if you don’t know which one to start with I would recommend Vicious.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I was reading your review and it literally just hit me that I can’t remember anything about the plot of this book. That’s how long ago I read The Unbound and it means I definitely need to re-read this series ASAP! Maybe it will keep me going until the release of Our Dark Duet and A Conjuring of Light! 😀
    What I do remember though is how much I loved Wesley’s character in this book, and even Mac’s as well. Like I said I can’t remember much of the plot but I do love the way V.E. Schwab writes her characters and it seems like the characters in The Unbound were no exception.
    Great review Anna! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, it was the same for me and The Archived. I read a review of it and realised how little I actually remembered, so the reread was definitely needed for me. Well, I can only encourage you to reread this series! 😀 After all it’s wonderful and it would keep you going until Victoria Schwab releases some new books.
      Now, after I have finished this book I hope to start A Darker Shade of Magic soon. I mean it’s seriously time that I already read it!
      I adored both Wes and Mac in the first book and in this book I just ended up loving them more. I love Schwab’s characters, she really writes them wonderfully! I really hope that the third book in this series will be released some time soon – I seriously NEED it in my life.
      Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s on my to-read list, it’s now just a question of when I find the time to actually get around to it! And yeah it may make the wait for her next books a little easier, going back and re-reading some old favourites from her! 🙂
        It’s definitely time you read it. The Shades of Magic series is one of my all-time faves and you seriously need to start it ASAP!
        Yes I completely agree, her character development in all her series is beyond amazing! And I know what you mean, I would settle for a cover or a blurb at least and, last time I looked, we don’t have either of those yet! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I just finished reading A Darker Shade of Magic (I just posted it as my first book review here hehe)!! her writing is so goooood, I’m definitely reading all of her books soon, which means, book hunting time! the plots of her books are different from which other which makes you want to read all of it, This Savage Song is my top priority right now! She became one of my fave authors after finishing ADSOM. Her writing is pure magic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great! I’m really happy to hear that you fell in love with her writing. I have yet to read A Darker Shade of Magic and This Savage Song but I do hope to get around to them rather soon. Literary EVERYONE has been recommending ADSOM to me, so I should probably get to it already!! My favourite from her so far is Vicious and I can only recommend it!
      Also, good luck with your blog! I hope you enjoy blogging as much as I do. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

