wrap up

Of Reading Slumps and Procrastinating || October Wrap Up

As the title of this post suggests, this wasn’t one of my best or better reading months. Not even close. I just didn’t feel like reading anything at all. (Spoiler alert: I didn’t read much.) In total I managed to read one book and one short story. I honestly don’t remember the last time that I read so little.

I also don’t like forcing myself to read when I don’t feel like it. It just doesn’t work for me and I end up disliking the book a lot. Sooo I don’t force myself, instead I wait until my reading moods returns. I’m feeling like reading today, so that’s a plus! It means my slump is nearing it’s end!

This is going to be a rather short wrap up! (As I, obviously, don’t have much to write about!) Before I actually get into the wrap up I would like to recommend you two recent videos by Ariel Bissett, who is one of my favourite booktubers:

They felt perfectly timed, she couldn’t have posted them at a better time for me! They made me think quiet a bit and I would highly recommend you watch both of them.


Now onto the actual wrap up! (If you can call it that.)

Victoria SchwabThe Unbound (The Archived #2) by Victoria Schwab

5 out of 5 stars

So, the only book that I managed to read this month is the sequel to one of my favourite books. I’m really glad that I at least managed to read this book.

I adored this book to pieces. It was an amazing sequel and I had a wonderful time reading it. I loved that we got more from Mac and Wes, who are both among my all time favourite characters. I seriously hope we get some news about the sequel to this book, I really NEED it!

I have written a full review for it as well, which you can read here if it’s something that interests you.

Leave the Window Open (The Archived #2.5) by Victoria Schwab

5 out of 5 stars

And the only other thing I read this month is a short story from Wesley’s point of view. Obviously I loved it! It was really amazing getting a glimpse of his thoughts and I really loved where this short story went. (Can’t really go much into that, because there are major spoilers.)

If you want to read this short story for yourself, you can do that here.


Well, that was my wrap up. Not really much to it.

It feels as if I linked a ton of things in this post! Well, it’s what it is. What did I do this month, when I wasn’t reading much? I re-watched some seasons of Criminal Minds. (And yes, I mean some seasons, not episodes. I’m seriously obsessed with this show.)


In other news:

social mediaI have created a new instagram account! I had some problems with my old one and I decided it would be best to just delete it and create a new one.

You can check out my new account HERE!

Disclaimer: It won’t be simply a bookstagram account – don’t get me wrong, most of the pictures will be of books, but I don’t want to limit myself. Basically you will be seeing a lot of random things there.


Do let me know how your month went! What is the best book you read this month?

(Hopefully better than mine!)

Thank you very much for reading! I hope you have a wonderful day.

-Anna♥

16 thoughts on “Of Reading Slumps and Procrastinating || October Wrap Up

  1. AHHH slumps are just the worst! I was in one and it was so horrible! All I wanted to do was pick up a book but I just couldn’t keep reading it. I am so glad to see that you loved the two books that you did get to reading! This month, my two favourites were Empire of Storms and Falling Into Place! ❤ Happy November!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They really are the worst! Especially when you have books to read that you looked forward to for ages! (I’m talking about Crooked Kingdom for myself – hopefully I will be reading it soon.) I’m glad that I at least loved the book I managed to read! 😀 I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed Empire of Storms, a friend of mine read it and was disappointed with it (don’t know why, as I haven’t even read the second book yet and she didn’t want to spoil me). Happy November to you as well. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohh, I hate reading slumps. I’ve been through a few myself recently and it’s always nice when you start nearing the end of them, and it sounds like you are nearing the end so hopefully your next month’s recap will have a lot more amazing books in it. 🙂
    Also even though you only got through two books they are amazing books. I’m a massive V.E. Schwab fan so you can look at it like you picked the best two books there are (outside of everything else she’s written) for this month!
    I’ll be sure to follow your new Instagram account as well. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are seriously the worst! And when you start feeling like reading again, it’s seriously amazing and I’m definitely at that phase at the moment. 🙂
      Haha, that’s true! Even though I didn’t read much, at least I had the pleasure to enjoy the wonderful works by Victoria Schwab.
      Thank you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Archived and The Unbound sound so good – I really want to read them – and hearing other people rave about them just makes me want to even more! I’ve been having a bit of a slump-y month too, so we’re in the same boat! Since I came over to Japan I’ve just barely had any time to read, so I think I’ve only read two things this month too. Hopefully we’ll both get out of it soon! Also I’ve followed you on instagram 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can only recommend both of them! I just love the way Victoria Schwab writes and I hope you end up reading these two wonderful books as well. 🙂
      I really hope we both get out of it soon as well! And, wow you’re in Japan?! That’s amazing! I hope you are having a wonderful time.
      Thank you for following me! ❤ I'll be sure to follow you back as well. 🙂

      Like

  4. We had the same reading month. I swear slumps are the worst. I read two books and while they were both fantastic after that it went downhill. I’ve been slowly getting back into reading as well so hopefully both of our slumps are ending. I have a feeling November will bring a lot of wonderful reads! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, at least we are not alone in this slump! (However much that actually helps.) At least we both managed to read fantastic books, and the rest of the month we can just ignore. I surely hope that November will be a great reading month for both of us. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yay for feeling like reading today! I don’t force myself either, I believe it is counterproductive. If my mood and my brain don’t want to, why bother? I’ll just get mad and hate the book for no reason.
    I will check the videos, I don’t often look for booktubers but it’s nice to do it once in a while.
    At least you loved your book of the month, it’s great! It could have been a meh or bad bad terribly bad book! I guess Schwab can’t do wrong! 🙂
    Welcome on Instagram 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I’m really happy to finally feel like reading again. 😀 Exactly, that’s the reason I don’t force myself either.
      I do watch some booktubers, not that many though. I hope you enjoy the videos that I recommended.
      Hahaha, I have to agree – at least I adored the book that I managed to read. I don’t think you can go wrong with reading a Victoria Schwab book, ever. 🙂
      Thank you!

      Like

  6. I’d never heard of Ariel before, but now I’m kind of in love with the content she’s producing!

    Reading slumps suck, I know this from perpetually swapping from obsessed with reading to stressing out about not reading. Not being able to get into a book, even though you rEALLY want to is terrible. That kind of thing wouldn’t happen with candy. If I really wanted candy, I would just eat it. WHY MUST THIS NOT BE THE CASE WITH BOOKS?

    Fleur @ FranklyBooks just posted SISTERS & CAKE | THE SIREN BY KEIRA CASS

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

