book review

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria || ARC Review

Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher (through NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

Iron Cast

Title: Iron Cast

Author: Destiny Soria

Published: 11. October 2016.

Edition: Amulet Books

                  Kindle Edition, 384 pages

Genre: Historical Fiction | Fantasy | Young Adult

Summary:

It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths—whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art—Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, she realizes how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn.

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 3.5 OUT OF 5 STARS ►

This story is set in our world, (in 1919, as the summary tells us) but it contains magical elements. There are people called “hemopaths” who, due to a blood sickness, are allergic to iron. Now those people also have SPECIAL POWERS, which is always great to have!  (In my opinion, but not the opinion of most people in this “world”.) What’s even better, is that all of these powers are of an artistic nature, example: wordsmiths, songsmiths and many more. When I’m already writing about these amazing powers I have a complaint: I would have loved to know how these sicknesses came to be, it just didn’t feel as if it was explained properly (which honestly frustrated me a lot).

This book starts of really strong and exiting! Escaping from an asylum is really a great way to start a story. The first two chapters just sucked me right in. However, as the story progresses it becomes a lot slower. It felt as if there was A LOT of character interactions and not much else. It was just really slow and some things dragged as well. I really wished that some of the parts were just skipped over. But if you enjoy stories that are more character driven, then this one is definitely for you.

Before I actually start writing about the characters, I would like to say that I didn’t actually feel the setting, or time period rather. It just didn’t feel as if the story was set in 1919. The atmosphere just wasn’t there and I honestly forgot from time to time that it was actually historical fiction (until some reference to the actual time period was made).

Anyway, onto the characters! There are two main characters Corinne and Ada, who are also narrating the story. Corinne is not a nice person, as she likes to put it. She is stubborn, reckless and mean. Though she has a caring side, which she only shows when people she loves or things she is passionate about are involved. Ada on the other hand, is the voice of reason in their relationship. She is calm, smart and counters most of Corinne’s traits. They are an amazing team. What I LOVED most in this book is their FRIENDSHIP! They have blind faith in each other and would literary do anything for the other person. And I loved reading about them!

This book is racially diverse. There is also racism, it’s addressed and dealt with throughout the whole book – which I rather enjoyed. I also liked that it was rather low on romance, there were romantic interests and romantic scenes but they weren’t the main focus – just a side part of the whole story.

OVERALL:

This book was very enjoyable. Even though I had my problems with it I still enjoyed it. The ending was a bit predictable, at least to me. But the magic powers and the female friendship made up for it! I would definitely recommend you to check this book out, if it sounds like something you would enjoy!


Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Do you plan on reading it? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading my review. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

8 thoughts on “Iron Cast by Destiny Soria || ARC Review

  1. I’ve been seeing so much of this book around recently but until your review I had no clue what it was about. It sounds interesting, and I love the sound of the premise as well, it’s just a shame the book seems to falter a little bit after that and doesn’t carry on that way. I do enjoy character progression though so maybe I should give this book a try, and I love the fact that it is set in 1919 as well. I need to read more historical books and this will be the perfect one to add to my to-read list to begin with! 😀
    Great review Anna. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should definitely give it a try! I have seen people adore this book and if you enjoy character progression this book is definitely something you should check out. 😀
      I’m the same, I definitely need to read more historical fiction. Plus this one had magic/superpowers in it and who am I to say no to that?!
      Thank you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s definitely on my to-read list now then. Yeah I’ve read some amazing books which have been more about the character progression than the plot so to speak and have really enjoyed them so maybe this will be the same for me.
        Historical fiction mixed with fantasy is a genre I’d love to see more of!
        That’s all right. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is the first review of Iron Cast I’ve read. I adore the premise– but it sounds like pacing and worldbuilding just didn’t work for you? That’s a shame, since it sounds SO COOL. I also would want to learn more about the origin of the disease… but I love character-driven books. Rainbow Rowell is my author of choice for that reason. What sort of book do you gravitate to?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It does sound really cool, sadly I just didn’t feel as if the powers were explained enough and I didn’t really feel the time period for some reason. I would still recommend it, especially since I believe this story has a lot of potential! (Plus if you enjoy character driven books, this might be just for you.) I tend to like books that are plot driven but with good character development. Though I still enjoy character driven books as well, but I don’t tend to pick them up that often.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

