book review

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo || Book Review

WARNING: Spoilers for Six of Crows (in the summary for this book and in my review as well).

GrishaTitle: Crooked Kingdom

            ( Six of Crows #2 )

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Published: 27. September 2016.

Edition: Henry Holt and Company

                 Hardcover, 536 pages

Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult | Magic

Summary:

When you can’t beat the odds, change the game.

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 5 OUT OF 5 STARS ►


A few things I would like to mention before I actually start the review:

  • I have reviewed the first book in this duology, Six of Crows, as well. You can check out my review of it HERE.
  • I’m not sure how coherent this review is going to be (as I absolutely ADORED this book and can’t properly express my feelings), but I’ll try my best!
  • EVERYONE definitely NEEDS to read this duology!

That is all. Now onto the actual review!


Where to actually begin is the question now. Let’s talk about the world (as that’s the easiest one). The world that Leigh Bardugo has created in these books is simply wonderful, fascinating and one of my all time favourites. This is the 5th book in her Grisha universe, so I don’t think I need to go much into the world building and magic system. Just know that I adore everything about it! (And yes, that’s going to be a common theme throughout this review, as you will notice.)

My favourite aspect of this book are the characters. I simply ADORE all six of our main characters. They are all wonderful, unique and very different from each other (and I do have a weakness for characters that are thieves and criminals – so there is that). I honestly can’t say who I love the most, all of them are amazing and I love all of them for different reasons. They were a delight to read about. And we FINALLY had chapters from all their points of view. (This made me extremely happy!)

GIF

A few characters from the Grisha trilogy showed up in this book as well. (Not going to mention who though, as that would be spoilers.) The first book had references to the Grisha trilogy, which was amazing and it made me very happy. After all, it was the Grisha trilogy that made me fall in love with this amazing world and Leigh Bardugo’s writing. Soooo you can only imagine how delighted I was when the actual characters from the previous books showed up in this one. (Especially one of them!)

I LOVE the relationships in this book. Just wow. They were all wonderful. And I’m not only talking about the romance, but the FRIENDSHIP. I loved how everyone interacted with each other, how they bantered and cared about each other. They all became such amazing friends throughout their journey. Definitely one of my favourite aspects about this book. (But let’s be real, I loved everything about it.) The romance and pairings in this book are amazing as well. I just loved reading about all of them!

GIF

As you probably already know – this book is very diverse. From race, disability to sexuality. Just in case you didn’t know, I thought I would mention it here.

Now about the actual story. It continues basically where the last book left of. (Or rather some short time later, after they collected themselves.) When it starts it doesn’t stop! It was VERY fast paced, many things were happening all the time and there were SOOO many twists and turns, they blew my mind. I LOVED the direction the story went and I’m quiet satisfied with the ending. But I want MORE as well – I just love everything about it and I want more!

OVERALL:

Crooked Kingdom was an amazing sequel. It reached all my high expectations and it even surpassed them. I couldn’t be happier (or I could, if something didn’t happen). Leigh Bardugo has done it once again and created a book I simply adored. I would definitely recommend everyone to check this duology out!


Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Do you plan on reading this duology? Do let me know!

Thank you for reading my review! I hope you have a wonderful day.

-Anna♥

10 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo || Book Review

  1. Great review Anna! I am so so glad you enjoyed this book and I completely agree with everything you mentioned in this review as well. All of the characters were amazing and I loved the way they worked together in this book but also the way their individual relationships progressed as well. I think Kaz and Inej were my favourite but I loved both Nina and Matthias and Jesper and Wylan as well so I can’t really choose between them!
    I was completely in awe of how this book turned out in the end, there were plenty of times when I thought Kaz and the gang were done before but it was just amazing the way it ended (well, except for that one thing which I think I know what you were talking about, god I was so sad when that happened!)
    I’d love to read more from the Grisha verse. I’m keeping my fingers crossed Leigh Bardugo goes back there one day, even if it’s not to these specific characters. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! ❤ It's definitely hard to choose one favourite out of all of them. I honestly loved all of them equally, though for different reasons. (This has actually never happened to me in a book, so I was very intrigued by that.) All the relationships and friendships progressed really nicely in this book.
      Same! I thought many times that it would be the end of them, but somehow they survived and came on top in the end. There were seriously a ton of tense moments in this book! (Yesss, I was sooo sad as well when it happened. Honestly didn't expect it at all…)
      I think she said that she will write a duology/book/series about Nikolai! Though she doesn't know when exactly or how many books it's going to be. I'm BEYOND exited about that! Hopefully we will get more information about it soon. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right Anna. Yes they were all amazing characters in different ways so the reasons I liked Kaz were completely different to the reasons I loved Jesper and make it so hard to pick only one character who I can say is my overall favourite. Ahh for me it was the same with The Lunar Chronicles, I can’t really pick my favourite from all of them either! 😀
        It made this such a tense read for e, every obstacle that came up I would think ‘oh god, this is it for them’ only for Kaz to swoop in a reveal he’d already planned a contingency for this very outcome.
        Neither did I but at the same tie it kind of made sense, everything they went through it would have been unrealistic if they all came through unscathed.
        I’d LOVE to read more about Nikola, and going back to that world would be beyond amazing because he has connections with Alina and Kaz now so we’d get to see all the characters again wouldn’t we. Well potentially! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It’s really amazing when an author manages to write such an eclectic cast of characters and also manages to make you love all of them! 😀
          Yes, I agree. However sad it was it kind of had to happen. Or something similar to that anyway. It would have been unrealistic otherwise.
          YESSS! That would be AMAZING! He is basically connected to all the characters, so the potential is really amazing! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yes, and she didn’t just do it with this duology but the Grisha trilogy as well so I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next.
            Honesty though I’d read anything about Nikolai, even if it was just him travelling between Ravka and Ketterdam catching up with everyone over tea! 😀

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

