wrap up

I FINALLY READ BOOKS!! || November Wrap Up

Sooo my wrap up is a bit late. I usually like to post them on the last day of the month. This time I actually forgot that I had to write a wrap up, or rather I forgot what date it was. Honestly I have no idea where my head was (probably thinking of all the university work that I had to do). Anyway, better late then never! (Plus it’s not that late, so everything is fine.)

After the disaster of last month (when I read one book and a short story), this one was rather successful. I managed to read five books and I’m very happy with that! Honestly I didn’t enjoy most of them (the ones that I had to read for university mostly), but at least the reading slump passed and I was reading again. So there is that!

Now onto the books that I read this month! And this time I’ll go from the one that I enjoyed the least to the one I loved the most.


Heart of DarknessHeart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad

1 out of 5 stars

Really not much to say about this one. I just didn’t like it.

But let’s be real, I wouldn’t have read it in the first place if I didn’t have to. (For an university course.) It just didn’t sound like something I would enjoy – and big surprise I was correct. So, while I’m glad to have read this book (for literary reasons and because it means I can pass the exam easier), I could have really lived without it.Β That’s all there is to it really. I’m just glad that this book was as short as it was, so I was done with it really fast.


Romeo and JulietRomeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

2 out of 5 stars

This is one of my least favourite Shakespeare plays. Why? Here are the reasons:

Everyone is very dramatic here. (Which is kind of the point, but still.) I’m still not sure why the families are so against each other and what happened there. I don’t understand why Romeo and Juliet just didn’t run away together. It would have seriously saved them a lot of heartache. Their relationship is annoying as hell, as are both Romeo and Juliet (and many other characters as well). And honestly, who falls in love in a day with someone and then decides to end their life when the other dies. Apparently these two. I really didn’t enjoy this play much.


ElectraElectra by Sophocles

3 out of 5 stars

Here is a little fact (that I’m not sure many of you know): I really enjoy reading ancient literature, be it greek or roman. I don’t know what it is, they just appeal to me.

It has definitely been a while since I last read an ancient Greek play. And when I was researching on goodreads which ones I have read I realised that this one was not one of them. So I decided to change that this month. I really enjoyed this play, it’s not one of my favourites (by far), but it was really great reading something like itΒ again and it made me remember more of the myth concerning Electra. (Especially when it wasn’t required reading.)


Iron CastIron Cast by Destiny Soria

3.5 out of 5 stars

If you are interested in more of my thoughts I have written a full review for this book and you can check it out HERE.

But the short version is that I enjoyed this book. I loved the special abilities that were introduced in this story. The friendship between the two main characters was amazing. I did find the world building (or rather the explanation of the powers) lacking and I didn’t really feel the atmosphere of the time period that it was set in. And there was diversity and racism that was addressed. Overall, it was an enjoyable read.


GrishaCrooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

5 out of 5 stars

If you want to see me fangirling and explaining why I loved this book as much as I did, there is a review that you can check out.

Here I’ll just say that I basically adored everything about this book. It was my most anticipated book (of like…ever) and I had very high expectations for it. And it managed to live up to them! Honestly it even surpassed them (which I didn’t think would be possible). Simply this book was amazing, wonderful, fantastic and all the other positive attributes that you can think of.


So these are all the books that I read in November.

Have you read any of them? What did you think of them? Do you plan on picking any of them up? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Annaβ™₯

25 thoughts on “I FINALLY READ BOOKS!! || November Wrap Up

  1. So sorry that Heart of Darkness was such a burden! I actually recently discovered it and wish to read it myself. At least you got to check out Crooked Kingdom this month! I have to jump into the finale (I don’t want it to end huhuhuh), but hearing everyone say how awesome it is reassures me! πŸ˜€ Great wrap-up!

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I hope you enjoy it more than me then! πŸ™‚ Crooked Kingdom was amazing! Can’t wait to see what you are going to think of it. (I didn’t want it to end either. I seriously NEED more books/stories about these characters!) Thank you! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah, I totally agree with you about Romeo & Juliet. It’s never been a favorite with me, either; I’m not a big fan of ANGST and TRAGEDY, etc. That said, I did recently read an interesting post from . . . one of the many bloggers I follow (ugh, I wish I could remember who it was, they were brilliant), explaining that the play wasn’t intended to appeal to lovesick teens; it was a tragedy written for an adult audience who could see how dumb these overly emotional teens were, and how the silly, pointless feud between the families doomed the kids.

    I’d always approached R&J as a tragic love story (which is a genre I cannot stand, personally), when I probably should’ve been reading it as a warning to adults about paying more attention to their hormonal teens’ behaviors, how adults’ personal actions can adversely affect said hormonal teens, etc. That, for me, makes the play a lot more interesting, and would probably make it more enjoyable to read (or watch). But, uh. I doubt I’ll ever read or watch it again, because I’m kind of sick of it anyway. Oh, well. Maybe that idea will make you like the play more in retrospect, though. =)

    Hurray for another glowing review of Crooked Kingdom! I haven’t read it yet (though it’s staring at me from my bookshelf), and every five-star review I see of it makes me that much more excited. I’m glad it surpassed your high expectations!

    Looking forward to reading Iron Cast, too; 3.5 stars isn’t bad at all.

    Here’s hoping the books you read in December all blow you away, though. Looks like you could use a lot more 4- and 5-star books in your life. =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a really interesting way to look at it. It really does show how stupid both of those lovesick teenagers were. And I do agree, it’s a lot more interesting than looking at it as a tragic love story (which I personally also don’t like). I don’t think I’ll be rereading this one again, I think twice was enough! What’s your favourite Shakespeare play?
      Crooked Kingdom was seriously fantastic and I can only recommend it! I hope you decide to read it soon and that you’ll love it as much as I did.
      Hopefully December will be great! I have some exiting books planned to read, so it can only be good. Hahaha, that’s true, I really could use more of those. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Twice is definitely enough! I’m glad you can stop there.

        Oof, my favorite? I don’t know if I have one. I’ve read almost all of them (under duress, for school), and enjoyed some of the comedies well enough, but I’ve carefully buried the memories of those classes. I know, I have no taste or culture. πŸ˜„

        I can’t wait to see what you have lined up for this month! May you be blessed with all the awesome reads. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t like Romeo and Juliet either haha! It’s just too tragic, too dramatic, just TOO MUCH.
    Also, we rated Iron Cast and Crooked Kingdome the same. I agree with everything you said about the first and CAN WE JUST TALK ABOUT THE FEELS IN CK? It is brilliant, I loved it but it also crushed me and I can’t get over it. It put me in kind of a hangover because I can’t seem to get into the book I’m currently reading, I keep drifitng back to my babies ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, it really is just too much! What Shakespeare play is your favourite? YESSSS for CK!! ❀ That book was seriously fantastic but also heartbreaking and everything in between! I completely understand you, I was in a hangover as well after I finished it. I want to go back to them! I seriously already feel like rereading the duology! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m not much of a Romeo and Juliet fan either, though I do love the movie with Leonardo DiCaprio πŸ˜‚. Have you read Twelfth Night? Now that’s one by Shakespeare that I love. Also, I’m currently reading Crooked Kingdom and loving it so far! I’ve seen nothing but fantastic things about that. I hope your reading month in December is just as good but that read more books you like rather than ones you don’t. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, the movie is a lot better! Plus it’s got Leonardo DiCaprio in it, so what’s not to love? XD No, I haven’t read Twelfth Night. My favourite are Hamlet and A Midsummer Night’s Dream. YESS! Soo glad to hear that you are loving Crooked Kingdom. πŸ˜€ Well, I have some exiting books planned for December, so hopefully I’ll enjoy more of the books that I read!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

