anime wrap up

The VERY long and EXTREMELY overdue wrap up!! || Anime Wrap Up [#5]

Wow, it’s really been ages since I have last written about anime on my blog. I have definitely missed doing that! As the title of this post suggests this wrap up was looong overdue. Evidence of that:

  • The last anime wrap up that I wrote was in August and now it’s (somehow) December, so it’s been at least 3 months.
  • I haven’t actually watched ANY anime in the last month or so, I just wasn’t in the mood to do that and I didn’t really have the time.
  • My wrap ups are usually of the last 5 anime that I watched, but I have been putting this off so I have 9 anime this time around!

This post is going to be a rather long one, sorry in advance for that!


AnimeAmaama to Inazuma

Episodes: 12

Slice of Life | Comedy | Seinen

My rating: 8/10 (Very Good)

Kouhei Inuzuka is a teacher who has been caring for his little daughter on his own since his wife’s death. He’s no good at cooking, so he and his daughter Tsumugi have been eating packaged meals from the convenience store. A series of events lead him one evening to a restaurant run by the mother of one of his students, Kotori. Her mother isn’t there, but Kotori does her best to feed them both. It turns out Kotori is often alone since her parents are divorced and her mother is frequently not around. The three of them begin to meet and cook tasty food together.

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

This anime was simply adorable! The characters were great, their interactions felt genuine and warm. I simply loved watching them all in their daily life. There were also sad moments and I did tear up at some scenes, which doesn’t happen that often (though there was no real crying from my part). I think this is one of the most charming anime that I have ever watched. Plus Kotori is seriously the cutest! (And I don’t even like children, so that’s saying something.)

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes, especially if you are looking for something relaxing and full of heart. WARNING: I wouldn’t recommend you to watch this anime if you are hungry – it will definitely make it worse, as the food looks simply delicious!


AnimeFukigen na Mononokean

Episodes: 13

Comedy | Supernatural

My rating: 7/10 (Good)

The start of Hanae Ashiya’s high school career has not been easy—he has spent all of the first week in the infirmary, and his inexplicable condition is only getting worse. The cause of his torment is the mysterious fuzzy creature that has attached itself to him ever since he stumbled upon it the day before school began.

As his health continues to decline and the creature grows in size, Hanae comes across a flyer advertising an exorcist who expels youkai. Desperate and with nothing left to lose, he calls the number and is led to the Mononokean, a tea room which suddenly appears next to the infirmary.

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

I tend to really enjoy anime about youkai. I don’t know what it is, but they tend to captivate me and some of my favourite ones fall into this category. Anyway, this anime was fun but nothing too special. It was a simple story, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. The characters were the highlight for me, I really adored them. As I said, I tend to enjoy anime about youkai, so I’m not the most critical when it comes to them.

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes and no. If you are like me and enjoy youkai anime then I would definitely give it a try. Otherwise I don’t know if you would like it. Though I would definitely check out at least the first episode and see if it’s something that you would enjoy. I’m really curious to see what other people think of this one.


AnimeServamp

Episodes: 12

Action | Vampire | Drama | Comedy

My rating: 7/10 (Good)

The story revolves around a high school student named Mahiru Shirota, who likes simple things and dislikes difficult things. One day, he picks up a stray black cat he finds in the middle of the road and gives him the name Kuro. From this moment on, a contract between the servant-vampire Kuro and Mahiru is formed, and Mahiru is pulled into a war between the seven deadly servamp and their eighth sibling Tsubaki.

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

This anime was definitely interesting and it was like nothing that I watched recently. It seriously didn’t turn out the way I thought it would and I ended up enjoying it quiet a lot (or rather a lot more than I thought I would). I’m definitely glad that my friend recommended this one to me. It’s also a very different vampire anime, which I was pleased about and I really liked the whole concept of the vampires. I did have some small problems with the story (and some plot points), but I mostly enjoyed myself while watching it – it was a lot of fun.

Would I recommend this anime?

Definitely! I would recommend you at least to try the first two-three episodes to see what you think of them. It’s rather unique for an vampire anime and it was a lot of fun, plus I marathoned the anime which only shows how addicting it was.


AnimeNanatsu no Taizai: Seisen no Shirushi

Episodes: 4

Action | Adventure | Fantasy | Shounen

My rating: 8/10 (Very Good)

Having taken the kingdom of Leones back from Holy Knights, the Seven Deadly Sins, along with Elizabeth and Hawk, can finally enjoy the peaceful lives they earned. However, with premonitions of a new threat looming, their happy, ordinary days are about to end…

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

This was very interesting and definitely needed. The first season of this anime left out some important plot points form the manga, and some of them were added here. And I’m very thankful for that, especially if they plan a second season as it wouldn’t have worked otherwise. I also really enjoyed the new context, that wasn’t in the manga (but is canon, as the mangaka authorised it). It was also great seeing all the characters from this world again, as they are definitely some of my favourites!

Would I recommend this anime?

Well, I would recommend the first season if you haven’t watched it yet. And YES, I would definitely recommend this short in-between seasons anime – especially if you don’t plan on reading the manga and want to continue watching the anime. This way you will be able to follow the plot a lot better.


AnimeHanda-kun

Episodes: 12

Slice of Life | Comedy | Shounen

My rating: 8/10 (Very Good)

Hated by everyone around him, Sei Handa goes about his high school life regarded as an outcast—or at least that’s what he believes. In reality, Sei is the most popular student on campus, revered by all for his incomparable calligraphy skills, good looks, and cool personality. However, due an endless series of misunderstandings, Handa perceives the worship he receives from his legions of fans as bullying, leading the school’s idol to shut himself off from the rest of his classmates.

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

This anime is actually the prequel to Barakamon, which I featured in another anime wrap up. Just though I would mention that here, as it’s also a wonderful anime.

Since I loved Barakamon and especially Handa Sei, I knew that I HAD to watch this anime as well. And I’m very glad that I decided to watch it! It was simply hilarious and I enjoyed it greatly! I laughed in every episode and it definitely lived up to my expectations. I loved the fact that I got more of Handa and it was great seeing him as a teenager and how much he grows as a character from this anime to Barakamon. All in all it was really amazing! I just wished there were more episodes.

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes, yes and yes! I loved this anime (even though I had some slight problems with it) and I would love for more people to watch it. It’s definitely worth your time, especially if you enjoy comedy anime. (Though that’s also very subjective.)


AnimeD.Gray-man Hallow

Episodes: 13

Action | Super Powers | Shounen

My rating: 8/10 (Very Good)

Toward the end of the 19th century, Allen Walker officially joins the organization of Exorcists that destroy the beings known as Akuma; mechanic weapons made by the Millennium Earl with the suffering souls of the dead. Allen has both a cursed eye and an anti-Akuma weapon as an arm, bearing the power of “Innocence,” a gift given to him as an apostle of God. Allen, along with his fellow Exorcists must put a stop to the Millennium Earl’s ultimate plot that could lead to the destruction of the world and all who live on it.

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

D. Gray-Man is one of my all time favourite manga. I adore it to bits! Sooo I had really high expectations going into this anime and I have to say that they weren’t reached. There was just something that was bothering me throughout the whole anime, like something was missing. The story just didn’t feel complete in a way. Now, don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy the anime but I just expected more from it. I didn’t enjoy it as much as I though I would. I definitely prefer the manga of this story.

Would I recommend this anime?

Same as always, I would recommend you to watch the first season. Or rather I would recommend you read the manga – it’s fantastic! This season was good and I would definitely recommend it (if you have at least watched the first one, for obvious reasons).


AnimeTonari no Seki-kun

Episodes: 21

Comedy | School | Seinen

My rating: 7/10 (Good)

The original manga revolves around a girl named Yokoi who sits next to a boy only known as Seki-kun. During class, Seki-kun continues to not pay attention and instead creates amazing little distractions, such as a detailed golf course with the course’s hole being a dent in his desk, or an entire dramatic war being played out by paper shogi pieces. Yokoi often finds herself getting reluctantly interested in his games, even though they always seem to end up getting HER in trouble with the teacher!

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

First of all I would like to mention that each episode is only 7 minutes long. So this is the perfect anime to watch if you don’t have that much time and just want to watch something short but enjoyable. It took me three or four episodes to get into this anime, but once I got into it I couldn’t stop watching it. It’s seriously addicting and funny. Definitely happy that I decided to give it a chance and actually watched it! I also discovered some of the craziest ways to procrastinate during class in this one, which I’m not sure is a good thing…

Would I recommend this anime?

Yes, if you enjoy comedy anime and/or want to watch something short and entertaining. I enjoyed this anime a lot more than I thought I would and it’s definitely one that more people should check out.


AnimeAkagami no Shirayuki-hime Season 1 and Akagami no Shirayuki-hime Season 2

Episodes: 12 per season

Drama | Fantasy | Romance | Shoujo

My rating: 8/10 (Very Good)

Although her name means “snow white,” Shirayuki is a cheerful, red-haired girl living in the country of Tanbarun who works diligently as an apothecary at her herbal shop. Her life changes drastically when she is noticed by the silly prince of Tanbarun, Prince Raji, who then tries to force her to become his concubine. Unwilling to give up her freedom, Shirayuki cuts her long red hair and escapes into the forest, where she is rescued from Raji by Zen Wistalia, the second prince of a neighboring country, and his two aides. Hoping to repay her debt to the trio someday, Shirayuki sets her sights on pursuing a career as the court herbalist in Zen’s country, Clarines.

(Summary taken from MyAnimeList.)

My thoughts:

I had actually read the manga a few years ago (or rather the chapters that were out at that time), so I was already familiar with the story. I already knew that I was going to love it. And I really did! This anime is really amazing, I love the world that it’s set in and the characters (especially Zen and Shirayuki) are wonderful. I adored watching them all interact and the relationship between the two main characters is simply adorable! (They are definitely one of my favourite anime couples.) I NEED to read the manga as well, I just want to know what will happen next in their lives.

Would I recommend this anime?

YES!! I would highly recommend this anime to everyone. I have a feeling that a lot of people would enjoy this one.


This was my wrap up! Wow, it really did turn out to be a long one (over 2200 words).

Have you watched any of these anime? What did you think of them? Do you want to watch them? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading my ramblings! I hope you have a wonderful day.

-Anna♥

10 thoughts on “The VERY long and EXTREMELY overdue wrap up!! || Anime Wrap Up [#5]

  1. Oh my GOD! D.Gray-Man! Back when I used to watch a lot of anime and read a bunch of mangas, it was also one of my favourites! I knew they were going to do a sequel to it someday, but my love for anime and mangas died as I progressed through high school. I’m glad to hear it’s still good. Probably hard to capture that AWESOMENESS that it once had! 😀

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES! I really love D. Gray-Man and I’m always happy to see other people who love/loved it as well. 😀 Too bad that your love for anime and manga died out, otherwise I would recommend you to check out this new season. Hahaha, yeah it probably is! XD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Not to say I wouldn’t see what’s new and hot nowadays in the anime world, but who knows. Maybe I’ll give the first episode a try and see if it sparks something! 😛

        – Lashaan

        Like

  2. I don’t often watch (or read) slice-of-life stuff, but Amaama sounds too adorable to pass up.

    And heck yes, yōkai! GIVE ME ALL OF THEM. Fukigen’s going on my list too. (Though I tend to be a grumpy and picky bastard, so even with the yōkai, I’m wary of that 70% rating you gave it. Hmm.)

    Okay, I’m just gonna go ahead and say that I’m adding all of these to my watch list. Now I just need to find the time for them all!

    Excellent reviews, and thanks for pointing out so many neat shows! =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is adorable and I can only recommend it! 😀
      Hahaha, you should probably be wary of it (probably) – I’m kind of biased when it comes to youkai anime soooo I don’t think I’m the best judge of them.
      Glad that I could recommend you some anime! I really hope you enjoy them as much as I did (or more) when you get around to watching them. 🙂
      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Man this post feels so nostalgic for me! I used to watch anime all the time. I do kinda feel like going and rereading D. Gray-Man now… 😉

    Great post, though. It didn’t feel too long to me! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

