top ten tuesday

Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree || Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme

created and hosted by lovely people at The Broke and the Bookish.


It appears that this week I’m (or rather we’re) going to be materialistic and talk about all the books we would love to get for Christmas this year. Not that I’m complaining! I really love this topic and I can’t wait to start writing it. So I should stop rambling and actually get to the book. Let’s get into them!


Deadly Class10. Deadly Class, Vol. 2: Kids of the Black Hole by Rick Remender, Wes Craig (illustrator)

I read the first volume of this graphic novel series ages ago and really enjoyed it. The story intrigues me very much and I can’t believe that I haven’t picked this one up yet! (I think it’s because only the first one was out at the time.)

Soooo I would really love to get this as a present (or a few volumes from this series, as there are more of them out), as I don’t tend to buy myself graphic novels that often. I should probably change that as well, since I do tend to enjoy graphic novels a lot!


Chew9. Chew, Vol. 7: Bad Apples by John Layman, Rob Guillory (illustrator)

And the other graphic novel that I REALLY want to own! (Though, let’s be real, there are many that I really want.)

I simply adore Chew, this graphic novel series is simply fantastic (or the ones that I read are, we shall see for the future volumes). I have written a review for the first one and you can check it out here, if you are interested in more of my thoughts.

I would love to receive this volume as a gift! It would seriously make me happy! (I can’t believe I haven’t gotten it for myself yet, I have been slacking on the graphic novel front apparently.)


Harry Potter8. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling, Jim Kay (Illustrator)

When I’m already writing about graphic novels, I thought I would mention the other illustrated book that I would LOVE to receive. That, of course, is the illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

I got the first one last Christmas and it was simply stunning!! So I would love to get the second one this year. And I’m pretty sure I’m going to get it, my mom does know how obsessed with Harry Potter I am. Sooo I’ll most likely be getting this one soon!


Tales of the Peculiar7. Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs, Andrew Davidson (Illustrator)

First of all, I have NO IDEA how much this one is illustrated. (I didn’t even know it was illustrated until now.) I basically haven’t seen anything of it, aside from the cover. Sooo I don’t know how many illustrations there are in this one.

Anyway, I have really enjoyed the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children trilogy. I tend to love fairy tales. And this is a combination of both. Why wouldn’t I want it? Plus it’s simply gorgeous and would make an amazing present. (Hopefully for meeee! Though most likely not.)


298459066. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

I have hear nothing but amazing things about Nevernight and Jay Kristoff in general. And I haven’t read anything by him yet. I REALLY want to change that!!

And the book that I want to start with is Nevernight, it’s the one that interest me the most (though it was a hard choice, if I’m being honest). Sooo I would really love to receive this book as a Christmas present. Especially since it means that I could be reading it really really soon.

Also this cover is simply gorgeous and I adore all the colours!


The Wrath and the Dawn5. The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

I have heard wonderful things about this duology, from friends and people I trust. Sooo I’m beyond exited to read these two books as well!

I would especially love to receive this edition of the book, as I find it absolutely stunning. (It would be an even bigger bonus, as it doesn’t come out until some time next year. I think March or April, though I’m not sure at all.)

I plan on getting this duology as soon as these new covers come out. And I really can’t wait for that to happen, I seriously want to start reading them!


Uprooted4. Uprooted by Naomi Novik

How could I not want this beautiful book? (Plus the plot sounds like something I would love. But who cares about the plot, let’s talk about how beautiful it is!!)

Whenever I look for this book it’s sold out. Plus I want it in hardback, which means it will be quiet expensive. SO it would be wonderful to get this book as a gift.

Plus you don’t need to wrap it or anything like that, it’s already beautiful enough. (As I keep mentioning over and over apparently. I have rambled enough!)


A Crown of Wishes3. A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

I loved The Star-Touched Queen. It was a beautiful book and I can’t even express how much I adored it. Right now that is, I have written a review for it, where I’m more coherent, and you can check it out here!

I would especially love to receive this for Christmas, as it doesn’t come out until March. And let’s be real, the wait is seriously kidding me! I think this is my most anticipated book of next year (or at least one of them)!

I can’t wait to hold it in my hands!


Seven Realms2. The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima

This is one of the books that I have been interested in reading the longest. And with that I mean that I have wanted to read it for at least three years now. No, I don’t know either why I never got this series. (Apparently I always forget about it, when I’m actually buying or ordering books…)

It would be amazing to get this box set, or at least the first one in this series, for Christmas. Especially since I apparently never buy it for myself. This series just sounds like something I would absolutely love! And hopefully it will be one of my gifts! (Though probably not, as I forgot to mention it. The trend with this series.)


All the Light We Cannot See1. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Same as with the book I previously mentioned, this has been on my TBR for the longest. (Or at least it seems that way to me.) I have wanted to read it since it came out. Or I have wanted to buy it at least. Obviously, it still hasn’t happened.

But for this one I do have a reason! I haven’t gotten it yet, because I wasn’t emotionally prepared to read it. And I do need to be emotionally prepared when I’m reading World War II historical fiction. They tend to destroy me. So it’s understandable why it wasn’t a priority to get. (Or at least those are the excuses that I’m making in my head.)


That’s all for this Top Ten Tuesday. It was a really fun one! (Though also depressing, because I know I won’t get any of these books – aside from one.) Moving on!

What books would you like to receive for Christmas? One of the books I mentioned? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

19 thoughts on “Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree || Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Great picks for this week Anna! I loved the illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets I have, it’s just as gorgeous as the Philosopher’s Stone one so I hope you do get a copy for Christmas again! I own Tales of the Peculiar but haven’t gotten around to it. I haven’t even cracked open the cover so I don’t know how much it’s illustrated either! 😀
    The Wrath and the Dawn, Nevernight and Uprooted are three of my favourite books so I hope you get a chance to read them too. Plus A Crown of Wishes is my most anticipated read for next year too, well one of them, so I can’t wait to get that one in my hands either! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I’m really happy that Chamber of Secrets is as gorgeous as the first one! (Not that I really doubted it, as I do love Jim Kay’s illustrations.) Hahaha, well I’ll let myself be surprised when I start reading it then. Though I really hope that there are many illustrations – it would be amazing!
      I seriously want to read all three of them! And I do hope to get around to them soon rather than later. It seriously can’t come out soon enough! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m very glad to hear that!! All the Light We Cannot See is one of my most anticipated books to read. I have heard nothing but amazing things about it. But it’s definitely going to be very emotional and I don’t know when I’ll be ready for it. But when that happens I’m sure that I’m going to love it as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

