tag

The Grinch Book Tag!

Tag

I was tagged by the wonderful Michelle @BookAdventures to do this tag. Thank you once more! Be sure to check out her blog, if you haven’t already. This tag was originally created by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes.

Yes, I’m aware that Christmas has already passed…So I’m not really sure if I’m late for this tag or not…BUT I really feel like doing it, and it does feel like the right season to do it still. So that’s EXACTLY what I’m going to do! I have rambled enough, let’s get into the questions!


Half of the lights on the Christmas tree are burnt out – Name a book/series/character that started out well and then went downhill.

The first one that came to mind is the Jasper Dent trilogy by Barry Lyga. I Hunt Killers was very good and it made me exited to read the rest of the trilogy. Sadly the other two books didn’t end up living to my expectations, they were rather disappointing, especially after the amazing beginning of the trilogy. I would recommend the first book, but don’t expect much from the other ones in the trilogy.


Annoying relatives won’t leave you alone – Name a book that you did not enjoy but everyone else seems to love, and it will not stop haunting you.

Eleanor and ParkThat has to be Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell.

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t hate the book or anything like that. But I didn’t really enjoy it either. I didn’t particularly like most of the characters or feel connected to them. I also didn’t care for the romance aspect of it. What I enjoyed the most was the setting and Park, he was my favourite character.

Everyone seems to adore this book though. I don’t think I know anyone who didn’t love it. I haven’t read anything else by Rainbow Rowell either. I think it just put me of, but hopefully I’ll pick up something else by her in the future! (In particular I’m thinking of Fangirl, as that one interests me the most.)


Your pets keep knocking over your Christmas decorations – Name a character that kept on messing everything up for everyone.

I had to go with Jacob Black, for very obvious reasons. (Plus he is the first one that came to my mind.) I don’t think I have ever mentioned this, but I had a giant Twlight faze when I was 12 or 13. I loved these books at that time and I hated Jacob Black. Always. He just kept on messing with everything. It would have been better if he simply wasn’t there.


You hear your parents putting presents out and learn that Father Christmas is not real – Name a book you were spoiled for.

I was spoiled for quiet a few books over the years. Some were intentional, when I looked stuff up, but many were incidental. Sooo I’m going to give 3 examples of those!

I was spoiled by accident for Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. I’m not going to mention for what I was spoiled, but a cousin of mine mentioned it casually and I hadn’t finished the book yet. Thank you for that.

I actually looked up the ending of Allegiant. After I read Divergent and didn’t enjoy it, I wanted to see how the story will wrap up. Especially since a lot of people disliked the ending and were overall very emotional about it. Since I wasn’t planing on continuing with the trilogy I decided to look it up.

I have been spoiled for A Game of Thrones, or rather the whole series in general. I know about most of the deaths and important events. I don’t think you can avoid spoilers from it, since they are basically everywhere. But this is one series where I don’t really mind being spoiled for. No idea why that is, I just look forward to seeing the events I heard about.


It’s freezing outside – Name a character you just couldn’t warm to.

I just didn’t warm up to either of the girls from Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I expected to really like them, as many people seem to do. But I just didn’t feel connected to them at all, nor did I particularly like them – on their own or together for that matter.

Truthwitch


Mariah Carey’s ‘All I Want For Christmas Is You’ is being played a lot on the radio, giving you anti-romantic feelings – Name a couple that you just could not stand.

I really don’t like Alina with the person she ended up being with. (Not mentioning who, because of spoilers.) I don’t like the person as a character and I have someone else that I would have loved to see with Alina.

Then there are Juliette and Adam…I just seriously hate Adam. (So far I have only read the first book in this series.) I just can’t stand him, plus their whole “falling in love” annoys me and I just don’t like them together. At all.

And the last one is Clary and Jace. I don’t like either of them as characters, not do I like them together. I just seriously dislike them! Though I have only read the first book in that series, soooo they might grow on me. (Probably not though.)


Grandma has gotten run over by a reindeer – Name a character death that you are still mad about.

Well. I don’t think I need to elaborate about this one. And I’m also not going to mention who that person is, because of spoilers (though I’m unsure if there’s anyone who doesn’t know of it). Those who have read this book know who I’m talking about. I don’t think I’ll ever stop being mad about it!

Harry Potter


Shops are overcrowded with shoppers for the holidays – Name a series with too many books, or that went on too long.

I don’t actually have an answer for this one…I tend to really love long series, so whenever I get more books in a world that I adore I’m very happy! And those series that I didn’t like or didn’t have the interest in reading – I don’t care about how many books there are in it. So there is that…


The Grinch – Name a main character that you absolutely hate (not a villain).

My most hated character of all time is Emma Bovary, from Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert. I just simply hate her. She bothers me sooo much and I hated this book because of her. Which is too bad, because the writing style was beautiful.

Madame Bovary


I’m not going to tag anyone to do this, since Christmas is over and all that. BUT if you want to do this tag CONSIDER YOURSELF TAGGED!!

Thank you very much for reading! I hope you have a wonderful day.

-Anna♥

16 thoughts on “The Grinch Book Tag!

  1. ahh Jacob is such a good choice- so many times in those books I was just yelling at him “what are you doing!??!” Ah yes Game of Thrones spoilers are everywhere- I was spoiled for something in season/book 3- plus the other day I saw just the title of a post- which was a spoiler from the upcoming season!! I wasn’t even looking at anything related to GOT- actually swore when I saw that! So yes, spoilers are unavoidable! Agree with you about Alina!! And I just don’t like Clary and Jace much as individuals by the end- they were just so… boring! Ahh I get what you mean about Madame Bovary- I didn’t find her sympathetic at all!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was doing the same!! He was especially annoying when he became a werewolf, which I didn’t think could be possible. Yes, I don’t think it’s possible to escape GOT spoilers at this point in time. (Maybe if you NEVER go on the internet ever again. And avoid people who watch the show…) It’s seriously too bad that Jace and Clary are the main characters, as I really don’t care about them. But I really like many other characters so I definitely need to continue with the series! Glad I’m not the only one who disliked Madame Bovary.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I completely agree about Jacob. Ugh, constantly getting in the way. I also would add Cornelius Fudge. He was constantly mucking things up for Dumbledore. After all, if he hadn’t taken a copy of The Daily Prophet into Azkaban everything last book two might not have happened. Ugh.
    I am sorry you didn’t enjoy Eleanor and Park. Try Fangirl if you like contemporary lit. It’s pretty different, and focuses on some different ideas. That might help you decide if you like Rainbow Rowell as an author.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! OMG! Yes to Fudge! He really messed many things up. I can’t believe that I didn’t think of him. He fits that category perfectly.
      I do own Fangirl and plan to read it eventually. I’m not the biggest fan of contemporary, but I do enjoy some books from that genre. I though Eleanor & Park would be one of those, but it sadly didn’t.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I adore Rainbow Rowell because character development is more important to me than plot. I think she does a great job making her characters realistic and we get to watch their growth and change throughout the book. If that isn’t your thing, I don’t know if Rainbow Rowell will be. That’s 98% of Landline.

        I look forward to seeing your eventual review and better understanding what you enjoy and don’t about Rowell’s works.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is such a great choice for that question. I cried fat, ugly tears when I saw that part – almost as much as The Knife of Never Letting Go. I hate to admit this but I think I was team Jacob when I was in my Twilight phase…that’s actually embarrassing to admit haha. I was also spoiled for Divergent series and I’m glad I got out when I did, no time really wasted. It sucks you didn’t enjoy the I Hunt Killers Trilogy! I agree the books started to decline and stuff just became predictable. I haven’t finished Blood for my Blood yet but I’m not expecting much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I was the same! I still can’t accept that it happened and it’s the death that bothers me the most. Haha, I was definitely team Edward. But I always loved vampires and never cared about werewolves, soooo that might be why! 😄 It really does suck that I didn’t enjoy the other two books of the I Hunt Killers trilogy…The first one was seriously fantastic! And I was intrigued to read more about Jasper, but sadly the books disappointed me. Hope you enjoy it more than I did!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Right! Sometimes I think authors should just consult us readers before publishing…no matter how great the books are haha. Ahh I had a thing for werewolves so enigma solved. I have blood of my blood left, but you’re right about them decreasing in intrigue. Jasper became weirded each book and Connie less sensical. Wish me luck on the last book lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Right! It’s like why didn’t J. K. consult with us before publishing lol. Ahh, I was into werewolves (more specifically shaleshifters) so enigma solved haha. Yeah I kinda got that from the little I did read from Blood of my Blood – it’s a shame. Wish me luck with Jasper and the gang lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Great answers for this tag Anna. It’s such a shame you’ve been spoilt for those three books, they all seem like major ones and I can imagine he spoilers you saw as well! One of my friends had been spoiled by Game of Thrones quite a bit when the books were still ahead of the TV show. I remember one time a character was introduced she really liked (I can’t remember who now) so she went on Wikipedia to learn more about him and it said under Character Stats deceased so she knew that was coming! And I think if I’d been spoiled for Allegiant I wouldn’t have actually finished that book, I was disappointed by how it ended anyway.
    Also I didn’t like Juliette and Adam together in the Shatter Me series either. But are you planning to pick up the other books anytime soon?
    I really love this idea for a tag as well, it’s kind of fun to pick some books you didn’t enjoy as opposed to books you really loved isn’t it? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yeah, it’s too bad that I have been spoiled especially since they were major ones. I have accepted the fact that I know nearly everything that will happen in the A Song of Ice and Fire trilogy. My best friend is a huge fan of the show and she loves discussing it with me (even though I don’t watch it) and showing me her favourite moments. 😄 Yeah, the ending for Allegiant seriously sucked (even though I haven’t read the book) – but I didn’t plan on reading Insurgent, let alone Allegiant sooo I’m all right with being spoiled for it.
      Yeah, I plan on reading Unravel Me in January! 🙂 I just need to get back to my dorm to pick up the book so that I can actually continue it. And then I’ll most likely read Ignite Me immediately after I finish the second book.
      It really is! I do love talking about books that I didn’t enjoy. (Almost as much as I love fangirling about the ones I loved.)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, and I guess any spoilers are bad but when it’s the last book of a series or a book in the middle of a series you really love it’s somewhat worse isn’t it? I know pretty much everything that’s going to happen in the Song of Fire and Ice series, but that’s because I love the show as well.
        I read it and I thought the ending of Allegiant sucked! I can’t really recommend that series, especially if you already know how it’s going to end! 🙂
        Oh that is good to hear, I really hope you enjoy it. I thought the Shatter Me series got better with each book so hopefully you’ll agree.
        There’s something kind of cathartic about ranting isn’t there?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yeah, I think spoilers from the middle or end of a series are the worst. You invest a lot of time in a series (especially when they are very long) and then someone spoils you.
          I think I’ll enjoy the last two books of Shatter Me a lot. Especially since I know there will be a lot more of Warner there, he is my favourite character! 🙂
          Hahaha, yeah it really is!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Exactly, I mean, I’d still read the end of a series if I was spoiled but I know I wouldn’t have enjoyed it as much you know?
            There is a lot more of Warner in the second two books, and if that’s something you’re looking forwards to then you’ll definitely enjoy it! 😀

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

