wrap up

The time I had an AMAZING month!! || December Wrap Up

This month was rather successful for me. I managed to finish a big presentation for my university course and it turned out amazing! Plus I had to hold the presentation for a class of 25 people and it was successful as well – which I’m especially pleased about, as I don’t enjoy talking in front of a lot of people.

I went to my home town for the holidays (where I still am) and got to spend time with my friends and family, which is always wonderful!

And my reading was rather successful as well. I managed to read 8 books in total! Most of them were rereads, but I was just in that kind of mood. Plus I enjoyed (nearly) everything I read, which is always wonderful! Now let’s get into the books that I read this month!


A Christmas CarolA Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

5 out of 5 stars

As it was December and the festive season I decided to reread A Christmas Carol. I just adore this book and the story in general. I did watch the movie (or rathe one of them) as well.

It was wonderful reading this story again and getting more into the Christmas mood then I already was. Plus it was very nostalgic to me, as my family watches one of the movie versions each year just before Christmas. So when I read it I felt closer to my family, even though I was in a different country.


Then I decided to read some Roald Dahl books:

James and the Giant Peach 

2 out of 5 stars

This is one of the ones I reread. Honestly I just don’t care about this story, nor did it interest me very much at all. I remember not liking it the first time I read it either, but my little cousin wanted to read it so I read it with him. So there’s that.

Matilda

4 out of 5 stars

This is the one that I read for the first time. I have watched the movie quiet a few times, but for some reason never picked up the book. Now I finally have and I enjoyed it greatly. This book was simply delightful!

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

5 out of 5 stars

I have wanted to reread this book for ages now. I just simply adore this story and it has been a long time since I last read it, so I thought it was about time to pick it up again. And it didn’t disappoint, I loved it as much as I did the first time around!

Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator

3 out of 5 stars

So this was my biggest disappointment of the month. I seriously expected to love this book, as I did the first one. That sadly didn’t happen. I didn’t hate it or anything, it just didn’t live up to the first one and I found it quiet underwhelming.


Hans Christain AndersenClassic Fairy Tales by Hans Christain Andersen

4 out of 5 stars

I’m really happy to have finally read all these fairy tales!

Over the years I had read some of them, but never actually ‘bothered’ to read all of them. I think I didn’t own the bind up of all the stories and I didn’t feel like going out of my way to read them (for whatever reason). Anyway, I’m just really happy to have gotten around to reading them now – I really loved most of the stories and I had an amazing time reading them!

I can see myself in the future rereading most of these stories.


EmmaEmma by Jane Austen

4 out of 5 stars

I greatly enjoyed my reread of Emma. This was the first book that I had ever read from Jane Austen and the one that made me fall in love with her writing and want to read everything that she has written. I love reading Jane Austen books in the winter, they just have a cozy feel to them. And I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to reread this book.

I just love the characters from this book, with all their faults and flaws. My two favourite are Emma and Mr. Knightley (as if there was any doubt about that). It was amazing to read about them once again.


The Wishing WorldThe Wishing World by Todd Fahnestock

3 out of 5 stars

The start of this book wasn’t the best one. I was confused about how the Wishing World worked and how everything tied in together. It was just a confusing beginning.

But as the story progressed I began to enjoy it more! I love the fact that we slowly learn about the world as the story progresses. I have written a full review for this book, which you can check out HERE, if you are interested in more of my thoughts!


This was my reading month. It was quiet a successful one, even if most of the books I read were rereads.

How was your December? Which book did you enjoy the most? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

22 thoughts on “The time I had an AMAZING month!! || December Wrap Up

  1. If you would like a little more on Roald Dahl, I sugest reading his WWII autobiography, ‘Solo’, detailing his career as a British fighter pilot at the start of the war.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh I’m glad you had such a successful month 🙂 I read Christmas Carol for the first time this month and really enjoyed it! And I love Roald Dahl’s books! And Hans Christian Anderson fairy tales are some of my favourites! And I adore Emma!! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m really pleased with both! 🙂 I seriously need to check out his adult short stories, they sound like something I would enjoy. Do you have a recommendation with which one to start? These ones that I mentioned are the only ones I have read. I do hope to read more of his books in the future and then I’ll see my opinion of them (though I have a feeling they will be hit or miss for me as well).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. His short stories are all exactly like his children’s books, but obviously for adults. They are more gothic, dark, and in some ways grotesque. But nothing graphic.
        The easiest collection I can find is The Best of Roald Dahl. However, my favorite collection is titled Tales of the Unexpected. It hasn’t been in print for a while.
        Oh! There is one Childrens short story collection: The a Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More.
        There is also a complete collection of his short stories, but I’d recommend starting smaller. 😄 I hope you enjoy them!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, congratulations on having such a successful reading month! I have yet to get to Austen’s novels, but I definitely will!! Do you have a favorite? (: I love Matilda — I haven’t read the book, but the movie is worthwhile. Happy New Year, Anna! (:

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! 🙂 My absolute favourite of Austen’s books is Pride and Prejudice and I would recommend starting with that one as well. The two that I enjoyed the most after P&P are Emma and Persuasion. The movie for Matilda is amazing and the book was wonderful as well. Thank you!! Happy New Year to you as well! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m working on a post that celebrates bloggers in this community that have been a support and inspiration to me. I hope for you to participate by letting me know two things. One, is What are you passionate about? Two, is what is your favorite quote? Thank you so much for your comments and wonderful posts!

    Like

  5. I’m working on a post that celebrates bloggers in this community that have been a support and inspiration to me. I hope for you to participate by letting me know two things. One, is What are you passionate about? Two, is what is your favorite quote? Thank you so much for your comments and wonderful posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s an amazing idea for a post! 🙂 1. I’m passionate about many things, most of them are nerdy: books, games, anime, tv shows etc. But I’m also very passionate about art, both my own (mostly drawing and painting from time to time) and art history as well – which I’m actually studying in university. 2. There are many quotes I love and choosing one is very hard. One of my all time favourite is: “I would always rather be happy than dignified.” – Jane Eyre.
      Thank you very much! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

