book review

The Wishing World by Todd Fahnestock || ARC Review

Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher (through NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

The Wishing WorldTitle: The Wishing World

Author: Todd Fahnestock

Published: 25. October 2016

Edition: Starscape

                 Kindle Edition, 222 pages

Genre: Fantasy | Middle Grade

Summary:

In the Wishing World, dreams are real. You can transform into your own hero, find wild and whimsical friends, and wield power as great as your imagination. But Lorelei doesn’t know about any of that. All she knows is that a monster took her family.

It happened during a camping trip one year ago. Hiding inside the tent, she saw shadows, tentacles and a strange creature. By the time she got up the courage to crawl outside, the monster–and Lorelei’s mom, dad, and brother–were gone.

Lorelei is determined to find her family. When she accidentally breaks into the Wishing World, she discovers a way. It’s a land more wonderful than she could have imagined, a land of talking griffons, water princesses, and cities made of sand, where Lorelei is a Doolivanti–a wish-maker–who can write her dreams into existence.

There’s only one problem: the monster is a Doolivanti, too. What he wishes also comes true, and he’s determined to shove Lorelei out, keep her family, and make the whole Wishing World his. To save them, Lorelei must find the courage to face him, or her next wish may be her last.

Goodreads | Amazon

◄ 3 OUT OF 5 STARS ►

The beginning of the book wasn’t the best. I felt really confused as to what was happening and how exactly the Wishing World worked. I was as confused as the main character. (Which I, in some cases, enjoy but this time I didn’t.) It just didn’t seem like everything was connecting as it should.

But as the story continued, things got a lot more clearer and I began to enjoy the book a lot more. I found the whole world very fascinating and the adventure was a lot of fun to read about. I enjoyed learning about the magic and how everything worked. I think the world was my favourite part of the book.

The writing style was interesting, in a good way. It flowed really well and I flew through it a lot faster than I usually do. It was just easy to follow and enjoy. This writing style is not for everyone though, I can see how some people wouldn’t enjoy it. So I would recommend reading an excerpt, so that you can see if it’s to your liking.

The characters were all right. Nothing particularly outstanding or memorable. I enjoyed reading about them, but they were not my favourite. I couldn’t really relate to the main character, which I expected going into the book as she is a lot younger than I am (and very different from me). Still, I did like her, though I had some problems with her as well. (Not going into that, because it’s full of spoilers.)

OVERALL:

I liked the world that was created in this book. The writing style was great as well, it fit the story perfectly. But I didn’t really care about the characters and I felt like the story lacked something. The beginning was confusing as well.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, if it sounds like something you would enjoy! And definitely if you enjoy Middle Grade.


Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Do you plan on reading it? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading my review. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

5 thoughts on “The Wishing World by Todd Fahnestock || ARC Review

  1. That’s good! I like it when there is flexibility at the end, instead of getting trapped that a book is definitely part of a series. I’ve found some books from NetGalley lately which have left me wondering if these are series books or not… I’m still deciding if I like the ambiguity, but I better enjoy a firm ending.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, endings like that are good from time to time. For me depends how the whole story works as a whole, if an open ending suits it or not. (If it doesn’t turn out to be a series that is.) I’m kind of undecided with this one, on one hand I liked it on, on the other I would have liked more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

