tag

Ringing in the New Year || Book Tag

Happy New Year!!

I hope this year will be wonderful for all of you!

tumblr_o07ymkvpqv1qghjm4o1_500

 

I just wanted to get that out, before actually starting this tag. Also, soon I’ll be writing the end of the year survey where I’ll be recapping my reading year – look forward to that, as I’ll be writing about most of the books that I read this year.


Tag

I was tagged by Kourtni @KourtniReads to do this tag, basically yesterday (so yaaaaay for me actually doing a tag on time). Thank you once more! ❤ 🙂 Be sure to check out her blog!!

This tag fits really well for the beginning of the year, so I decided to do it as soon as possible. I just came home from my friends house, where I spent all day. And yes, it was wonderful and I had a lot of fun. Now, let’s stop rambling and actually get into the tag!


Rules:

  • Link to the person who tagged you.
  • Link to the creator of the tag – Rae @BookmarkChronicles
  • Share the tag image (Sorry, I don’t do that.)
  • Answer the questions below.
  • Tag friends (or not if you don’t feel like it)

Best book and/or series that you’ve read in 2016?

Anyone who knows me won’t be surprised that I picked Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. (I keep mentioning them ALL THE TIME, so it’s pretty obvious how much I adored them and why I’m picking them.) I read both of these books, for the first time, this year and I absolutely LOVED them!! I fell in love with the story from page one and I loved all the characters. So these were basically the perfect books for me. (READ THEM, if you haven’t yet.)


Authors that you’ve recently found and would like to read more of in the new year?

Ryan Graudin. I read Wolf by Wolf by her some time ago and really loved it. It was such an amazing book and I really do want to read more from her. Hopefully I’ll be able to get my hand on Blood for Blood soon and read it as well.

Marissa Meyer. I read Cinder this year for the first time. (Yes, I know I’m very late to this series.) I found the world to be fascinating, the characters lovable and I really want to continue with The Lunar Chronicles. Plus I want to read Heartless as well. So basically there are many of her books that I want to read.


Most anticipated book turned movie/tv show?

Honestly I don’t have an answer for this one. I’m not big on book adaptation (be it movie or tv show), I just don’t get that exited about them. Especially movie ones, since I don’t watch that many movies in the first place. And I honestly can’t think of a title from the top of my head and, let’s be real, I’m waaaay to lazy to look up the upcoming ones. So if I can’t think of anything, it means I’m not really anticipating anything.


Name a character that you wouldn’t mind sharing a kiss with at midnight (if there is one).

Well, the first one that came to mind was Mr. Knightley from Emma by Jane Austen. I just recently reread this book and it reminded me how much I love George Knightley as a characters. So I’m definitely picking him for this one! (Plus I don’t think I would mind sharing a kiss with any character that I like, sooo this could be a really long list as well.)


What’s on your TBR for 2017? (Top 5 will suffice if it’s an extremely long list!)

I decided to choose 5 books that I already own and that I really want to read this year (and I really should have already read them). We shall see when I’m actually going to get around to all of them, hopefully soon – but I do say that all the time.


How many books do you hope to read in 2017?

Basically as many books as possible, which is always my goal. (And I’m sure it’s everyone else’s as well.) I do hope to read many long books this year and to actually catch up to series that I have started. Especially high fantasy series, where the books are massive tomes.


Will you participate in the Goodreads Reading Challenge or any others (PopSugar, Read the Books You Buy, etc.)?

goodreadsI will be participating in the goodreads reading challenge, as I have done for some years now. (Three. Yes, I just looked it up.)

My challenge this year is to read 7 books. Why?

Because that’s my favourite number and because I don’t want to pressure myself with a high reading goal this year. I think I’ll have enough stress without setting a big reading goal. (Or any reading goal for that matter.)

I’m not doing any other challenges. I don’t think I have ever done any other reading challenge, they just don’t suit me and I can’t be bothered to do them.


Any New Year’s Resolutions? (Bookish, blogging, and otherwise)

Be a better version of me than I was last year.

That’s basically the only one that I have. I don’t do “proper” resolutions, because I know that I won’t stick to them. And I would only be disappointed in myself when I eventually fail to uphold them. So I’m not even really bothering with them.

GIF


Thank you very much for reading my post. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

35 thoughts on “Ringing in the New Year || Book Tag

  1. I want to read more by Marissa Meyer too. I read Heartless and am now really desperate to read TLC which I honestly should have started already since I’ve had the first two books for over a year, haha. I can’t wait to see what you think of the Cursed Child. I don’t really have any interest in it (I am really not a fan of reading screenplays) but I love seeing all the different opinions people have on it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, I had Cinder and Cress for ages as well, but I always kept putting the series off. (For some reason I don’t own Scarlet yet, so that’s mostly why I haven’t continued with the series yet.) Hope you get around to TLC soon, the first book was amazing! I haven’t read any screenplays yet, sooo I’m not sure how I stand on that. BUT I want to read everything Harry Potter related (after all it’s my all time favourite series). I pre-ordered it actually, but because of the hype and then the disappointment I have been putting it off. I hope to enjoy it, we shall see. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve heard nothing about great things about TLC. I honestly have no idea why I haven’t at least started the series yet, haha. Totally understandable! I was debating reading the Cursed Child even though I don’t really like screenplays but decided not to once I started seeing a lot of mixed reviews. I might still read it one day, I’m not sure 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t do resolutions for the exact same reason as you, they are just way too stressful!. I finished the Lunar Chronicles this year and can say that it is a fantastic series, I hope that you can read all the books you want to this year. I’ll try and make it my goal to read the Six of Crows duology in 2017, you raving about them has made me want them that much more 🙂 Happy new year!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I tried them for a few years (when I was in high school) but realised that they were basically pointless and only caused stress. So I’m staying away from them! I can seriously only recommend the Six of Crows duology, it’s simply wonderful!! I do hope you get around to them! 😀 Thank you!! Happy New Year!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved reading your answers! I loved Six Of Crows except for that tragic scene in crooked Kingdom. Shatter Me is one of my favorite trilogies and I really hope you enjoy Unravel Me! Lunar Chronicles is a great series too but I have yet to read Cress and Winter. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed reading my answers! 🙂 Yeah, that scene in Crooked Kingdom was seriously the worst. I really can’t wait to read Unravel Me, which I plan on doing really soon. The Lunar Chronicles are really interesting, I love how the fairy tale aspect is combined with science fiction. 😀

      Like

  4. Happy new year Anna, I hope you had an amazing holiday and I hope you have an even better 2017 as well!
    I loved Crooked Kingdom, it was actually my all-time favourite read of this year, and if I’d read Six of Crows for the first time this year it would definitely be up there as well! Also I really hope you manage to read more of Ryan Graudin and Marissa Meyer’s books next year, they’re both amazing authors, favourite of mine, so I hope you continue to love their books as well.
    Same with The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet, Unravel Me and The Cursed Child! 😀
    Good luck with your reading goal, and your resolutions as well, and again I hope you have a brilliant 2017! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy New Year! 😀 My holiday has been wonderful, I had a lot of fun and it was great seeing my family and friends.
      I’ll definitely be getting to Ryan Graudin’s and Marissa Meyer’s books in 2017! I don’t like leaving series unfinished sooo I definitely plan on continuing with both of their series. I just need to get my hands on the books and then I shall read them!! Hopefully really soon! 🙂
      I plan on reading Unravel Me in January, so I’ll definitely be getting around to it soon. I’m just really exited to see how that trilogy will continue and what I’ll be thinking of it. As for the other two I’m not sure when I’ll get to them, but I do hope it’s sooner rather than later.
      Thank you!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks so much Anna, happy new year to you too! 😀 ❤️
        I’m glad to hear you had a feat holiday, Christmas is always a great time to see family isn’t it?
        In that case I can’t wait to see what you think of them both, hopefully you’ll be able to get your hands on both those books soon! 🙂
        Ohh I’m sure you’ll love Unravel Me, and it will likely make you want to jump right into Ignite Me afterwards, it did for me! 🙂
        That’s all right!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy New Year Anna!! 🎉Hoping you a great 2017.
    I’ve got The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet on my TBR for this year too. It look like its gonna a good one. And I can’t wait to finally read the SoC duology this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! Happy New Year! 😀 So far it’s going great, hopefully it will continue being like that. Hope you have an amazing 2017 as well!
      Yeah, I have heard amazing things about it, sooo I’m really exited to be reading it! Plus I really want to get more into science fiction. I really hope you enjoy the SoC duology!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy New Year!! I still need to read Six of Crows and Wolf By Wolf!! Ahh I get what you mean about having a low number for GR challenges- I wish I’d done that a little cos it’s intimidating putting a huge number there. And I’d love to share a kiss with Mr Knightley 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy New Year!! Both of those books are amazing and I can only recommend them! Hope that you’ll enjoy both as much as I did. 🙂 Yeah, I usually make the goal 70 books, but this year I just didn’t feel like it. And now I find it A LOT more relaxing, which is great!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom!! You already know from my post that Six of Crows was my top book. That whole duology was just fantastic. It’s one that I don’t think I’ll ever be over and I don’t blame you for talking about them a lot because I do the same 😂. I can’t wait to see what you end up thinking about Unravel Me. I read the Shatter Me books a while back and adored the whole series. I hope you had a great New Years and have a fantastic 2017, Anna. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, this is such a wonderful duology!! Both books are fantastic! Well, at least we are not on our own with talking about them all the time. 😀 I have a feeling that I’ll enjoy Unravel Me and Ignite Me, especially since I heard that there’s a lot more of Warner and he is my favourite character. Thank you!! My New Years was fantastic! Hope yours was as well and I hope you have a fantastic 2017 as well! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I haven’t read Six of Crows yeeeet, I’m so excited about it now that everyone has been raving about the duology! I’ll also be reading Cinder soon 🙂 I can’t resist the hype!
    I can totally relate to not putting pressure on yourself with the Goodreads challenge! For my first year in 2016 I put 30 just to know how many I could read after a long separation from my favorite hobby. I was surprised to reach 76 so I decided 50 was a good goal for this new year but I don’t pay much attention, it only helps me to keep track and motivates me to make more time to read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Six of Crows is amazing and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! (And everyone else, as it seems.) 😉 Cinder is really good as well, I can’t wait to hear what you’ll think of it.
      I had the goal of 70 books the past three years. But I noticed last year it was really pressuring me, especially since I wasn’t in the mood to read or didn’t really have the time. And I felt bad when I didn’t read or didn’t read a lot each day. So it isn’t really for me, I’m much happier with it this way. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I love this post! I haven’t read Six of Crows yet, but it’s on my 2017 TBR (and Crooked Kingdom, duh). I want to wait a bit until the hype dies down. I’m also super glad that I’m not the only person who is disinterested in TV/Film. It just doesn’t appeal to me. Lastly, I super respect taking it easy on the challenges and destressing about it. That seems to be a trend this year and I fully support it. I am addicted to challenges, so, we’ll see if I manage to keep my stress level down. O_o

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to hear that!! 😀 Yeah, that duology is seriously hyped so I can understand that you want to wait a while. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did, when you get around to it! Thank you, I just don’t feel like “pressuring” myself this year – especially with reading, which is something I love. Good luck with your challenges!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I seriously need to get to “Crooked Kingdom” soon, I must know how it ends!!!
    I also need to finish Wolf by Wolf since I’ve heard nothing but good things, I’ve also got another book by Graudin called “The Walled City” on my TBR not sure if you’ve heard or read that one yet!
    I also highly recommend Heartless! I didn’t enjoy Cinder so much but loved Heartless so I can only imagine fans of the Lunar Chronicles would love it too, I’d also love to hear what you think of it!
    I also see you have the second book in the Gentleman Bastards on your TBR for this year, what did you think of the first one The Lies of Locke Lamora? I haven’t seen to many reviews and the ones I have seen say it’s slow and boring, I have a copy so I’m just curious!
    I love how you don’t have “proper” resolutions because I definitely don’t either for the same reason, I don’t stick to them. So I answered the same way to just try and be better in everything I do!
    Loved all of your answers Anna! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YESS!! You definitely need to! Crooked Kingdom was simply amazing and I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it.
      I have heard about The Walled City, but I don’t know if I’m going to be reading that book. I’m not sure if it’s something that interests me. But I first want to read Blood for Blood before actually deciding if I’m going to be reading her other book. (After I look it up a bit more and read a few reviews.)
      I’ll definitely be reading Heartless in the future! The story intrigues me very much. I don’t know if I’m going to be finishing The Lunar Chronicles first or not. We shall see!
      I adored The Lies of Locke Lamora! It’s one of my favourite fantasy books. It is rather slow in the beginning and it takes a bit to get into it, but it’s really amazing! I didn’t find it boring at all. Plus it’s about a band of thieves and I do love those. I do plan on rereading The Lies of Locke Lamora and I’ll be writing a review for it then, sooo I’ll have fresh thoughts on it then. 😉
      I think it’s pointless to have resolutions that you know you’re going to break. I’m glad that I’m not the only one.
      Thank you! ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually am getting a copy of The Walled City in the mail this week so hopefully I can read it reletively soon and then maybe I can let you know what it’s like to see if you wanna read it!

        I’m really glad to hear The Lies of Locke Lamora gets better because I read a little bit of it and it was pretty slow. So when I get around to continuing it I’ll keep in mind it’s slow to start so I can push through because I thought it sounded really interesting! Can’t wait to read your full review of it! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

