tag

The Narnia Book Tag

Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Diana @Diana Prince Reviews to do this tag. Thank you once more! Be sure to check out Diana’s blog! This tag was originally created by Clémence @Clemi’s Bookish World, be sure to check out her blog as well.

I love The Chronicles of Narnia. It’s the book series that got me into reading and I’ll be forever thankful to it for that. So you can only imagine how exited I am to be doing this tag! I should definitely reread some of the books, or at least watch the movies – it’s been a long time since I was in the world of Narnia.


NARNIA – A magical world you would like to visit?

Is anyone surprised that I would say the wonderful magical world of Harry Potter? Probably not. I don’t think I can pick another world that I love more.

Harry Potter


Iron CastTHE MAGICIAN’S NEPHEW – A book you think is underrated?

I think Iron Cast by Destiny Soria is underrated. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not one of my favourite books nor did I absolutely love it, but it was very interesting and I think more people should definitely read it. Plus the female friendship in this book is simply amazing and one of my favourite aspects of it. The magic system is interesting and unique, unlike anything I have ever read.

I have written a full review for this book, so if you want to know more of my thoughts on it you can check it out HERE.


The Picture of Dorian GrayTHE LION, THE WITCH, AND THE WARDROBE – A classic that you love?

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde is one of my all time favourite classics. I read it on the recommendation of a good friend, who had just finished it and absolutely adored it. She also lend me her copy to read. (No idea why I felt the need to mention that as well.)

I just found the whole concept of the story fascinating and I wanted to read more. I couldn’t put the book down. I should probably reread this book in the future, as I loved it this much and haven’t picked it up since I first read it. And it has been year since then. Though I don’t think that is going to happen any time soon, as I do have quiet a few books on my TBR that I need to get to first.


The Graveyard BookTHE HORSE AND HIS BOY – A book you picked up without knowing what it was about?

I remember picking up The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman in high school without even reading what it was about. So this one fits this category perfectly.

I had previously only heard amazing things about Neil Gaiman’s books, I was seeing recommendations for them all over the place. So I decided to give them a go as well and I just picked out one random one at my local book store. It was The Graveyard Book and I ended up loving it. It was much more than I thought it would be and it was the book that introduced me to the works of Neil Gaiman.


Hunger GamesPRINCE CASPIAN – A sequel that you loved?

Let’s trow it back a little and talk about a series that I don’t mention that often on my blog. I’m going with Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. I loved this book even more than The Hunger Games, which I didn’t think would be possible at the time. I remember reading this book in one sitting, I just couldn’t put it down.

This is my favourite book out of the trilogy, followed by The Hunger Games and I wasn’t the biggest fan of Mockingjay – the story just felt rushed to me in that book and some plot points just seemed unnecessary. (Or that’s how I remember it, it has been a rather long time since I read this trilogy after all.)


lotrTHE VOYAGE OF THE DAWN TREADER – A quest you’d like to be a part of?

The first thing that comes to mind when I hear the word “quest” is the adventure of Bilbo Baggins in The Hobbit.

I’m really torn about wanting to be a part of this quest though. On one hand I would get to explore Middle Earth (one of my all time favourite fantasy worlds) and meet all the characters I love. On the other I would be in grave danger all the time. Still, I think I would like to be a part of it, even though my death is nearly certain. (But let’s be real, that’s the case with most if not all quests that I could have chosen.)


Aristotle and DanteTHE SILVER CHAIR – A book you didn’t expect to love?

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is a book that surprised me in the best way possible. I didn’t think I would enjoy it, because I don’t tend to enjoy contemporaries at all. I’m mostly “meh” about them and I tend to find them boring. And I ended up LOVING this book, it’s one of my all time favourites.

It’s very rare for me to absolutely adore a contemporary novel or that I actual read a contemporary, so I didn’t expect to love this one as much as I did. I’m really glad that many people recommended it to me and that I decided to give it a shot. It was definitely one of the best decisions I made, after all I discovered an amazing story about wonderful characters.


THE LAST BATTLE – A perfect ending to a series you love?

I have decided to go with Percy Jackson and the Olympians. I just loved that series and the ending was amazing as well. (Not talking about The Heroes of Olympus, I wasn’t that satisfied with how that one ended.) At first I wanted to mention the Six of Crows duology, as I always do lately, but I thought I should pick a longer series for this question.


THE PEVENSIES – A siblinghood of friendship you’d love to be a part of?

I have definitely got to go with the Pevensie siblings from The Chronicles of Narnia. I adore them and they were the first ones that came to my mind. (Plus that means that I would have gotten the chance to explore Narnia.)

Narnia


Anna KareninaEUSTACE SCRUBB – A character who grew on you?

It was actually hard to think of a character to chose for this one. Usually when I don’t like a character I continue not liking him/her, or I develop a love-hate relationship with them. It’s very rarely that they grow on me.

That did, however, happen with Anna Karenina. When I started reading the book I didn’t like Anna very much. I wouldn’t say I hated her, but she definitely wasn’t my favourite. However as the story progressed and I learned much more about her and her situation I liked her more and more. By the end of the book she was one of my favourite characters.


MR. TUMNUS – Your favorite mystical creature?

Dragons. I love dragons, they are definitely my favourite mystical creature. They have always been and I don’t think that is ever going to change.

GIF


CASPIAN – A character with regal qualities?

The first one I thought of was Aragorn from The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien. He just seems perfect for this category.

GIF


THE WARDROBE – Your favorite hideout/place to read?

I think my favourite place to read is my bed…or rather any bed (which does sound a bit weird), as I have learned over the years. Of course I love reading on my bed when I’m at home or at my dorm, but I also love reading on any bed that I can find – when I’m sleeping over somewhere, when I’m staying at a hotel and so on. They are just really comfortable and I love reading on them.


I TAG EVERYONE WHO LOVES THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA!

Thank you very much for reading and I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

29 thoughts on “The Narnia Book Tag

  1. I’m with you with so many of these…:)
    Potterverse- Absolutely!
    Catching Fire- The concept of the clock and the ending made it the best book in the series.
    The Hobbit- The ultimate quest.
    Percy Jackson- I loved the Olympians ending, but wasn’t keen on the Heroes of Olympus ending either.
    Aragorn- The perfect regal character. Can’t think of anyone better than him at!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great answers for this tag Anna! I feel like Hogwarts is a place most people would like to visit, unfortunately the closest we can get is the Studio Tour in London and the park in Florida. Still it’s such a magical world I’m sure if there was a way to visit plenty of people would jump at the opportunity!
    Also I really loved Catching Fire as well. There are some books where the sequels don’t really live up to the promise of the first one but I think with The Hunger Games series it just gets better and better. Also I agree with you on Aristotle and Dante as well. It wasn’t what I expected but I loved it nonetheless.
    The Percy Jackson series is one of my all-time favourites, the ending was perfect but I’m still looking forwards to starting on the Heroes of Olympus books sometime soon.
    Great answers again Anna! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Beth! 🙂 I have to agree, many people would love to visit Hogwarts. I’m thankful that the series is really popular, so we have those attractions. Better something than nothing. Sadly I haven’t been to either place yet, but hopefully in the future!
      I find that with most trilogies the second book is lacking. So I was honestly surprised that Catching Fire was as amazing as it is. (Not that I’m complaining or anything.) Aristotle and Dante is such a wonderful story and I’m very glad that I decided to read it. I can’t wait for the sequel for it to come out, or at least get a cover or something.
      The Percy Jackson series is one of my all time favourites as well. The Heroes of Olympus books are amazing as well! I just didn’t quiet like the ending of it. I hope you end up loving that series as well, when you get around to it. 🙂
      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right. If only there was a Hogwarts in real life. Can you imagine how many people would be queuing to go. The attractions themselves are pretty popular on their own! Oh that is a shame, but hopefully you’ll be able to go to one one day! 🙂
        I can definitely think of a few series where that applies. I do tend to find it’s different with every one though you know? Oh I can’t wait either. I guess at least we haven’t had to wait as long for the sequel as we would have if we read Aristotle and Dante when it had first been released!
        That’s a shame I guess but hopefully the series as a whole will be amazing. I have high hopes after the original series!
        That’s all right! 😀 ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Awww I love this tag. Now I want to go reread the Narnia books and rewatch the movies. Catching Fire is my favorite out of all of THG books as well. Not only does it introduce my favorite character but there’s just something about it that drew me in more than the other books. Also, I would so have gone with the Pevensies too. It would be so awesome to be able to explore Narnia. And Dragons!! They’re definitely my favorite as well. Great answers for this, Anna! 😊♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This tag is really amazing! Especially when you love The Chronicles of Narnia. Glad to see that you agree with me on Catching Fire, I have also noticed that many people love the book the most out of the trilogy. Dragons are seriously amazing! I need to read more books with them in it. Thank you! ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great selections here! Everyone keeps talking about Neil Gaiman! I think I’m going to have to read something of his to find out what the fuss is about 🙂 Also, I totally agree with your thoughts on “Mockingjay”! It definitely felt rushed. When I read “Catching Fire”, I remember thinking “really? we’re doing this again?” I think I was mad at Suzanne Collins for repeating the plot from her first book. But after the movies were released, and I went back to the stories, I realized that the decision to throw Katniss back in the games was genius and truly terrifying! Funny how you can change your mind about these things!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Neil Gaiman’s writing is amazing. I have read 6 books by him so far and really enjoyed all of them. So I hope that you decide to read something by him soon. 🙂 Yeah, I think trowing back Katniss into the games was one of the most terrifying things that happened. I was really scared for he, because I remembered how hard the first ones were and these were with all the champions. I really didn’t know how they were going to survive that. I have to agree, it’s funny how you can change your mind about things in time. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You are one of the first (that I know) to say that the Picture of Dorian Gray is your favourite classic! Yay! It’s my all time favourite book and I feel like not many people either know of it or like it, but I think it’s the best! 😀 I re-read it every year! haha. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Picture of Dorian Gray is seriously amazing! It’s definitely one of my favourite classics and the favourite of my best friend as well. You’re right, I don’t know many people that liked, it for some reason. Sooo I’m glad to hear that it’s your favourite as well! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Great answers! I agree with lots of these. I chose Catching Fire too – it’s definitely the best and most exciting book in the series. 😁 I feel like no one talks about The Hunger Games enough anymore lol but it is SUCH a good trilogy. I’ve never read any Neil Gaiman other than a bit of Coraline – I’ll have to rectify that soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😀 Catching Fire was seriously amazing! And I have to agree, not many people talk about The Hunger Games now – myself included. That’s one of the reasons I decided to mention that book series. I can only recommend Neil Gaiman’s books, they are amazing. 🙂

      Like

  7. I love your responses to this tag! Yes for Catching Fire, Aristotle and Dante, and The Picture of Dorian Gray. I would have selected Pride and Prejudice for that answer, but I think you’re on point. It’s so easy to forget that wonderful book for some reason.
    Siblings? That one is hard for me. I might like to be a member of the Weasley family, I think.

    Lastly– you are so brave for going on a quest in Middle Earth! But, you’re right. All quests are dangerous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m glad that you enjoyed my responses. 🙂 I have many classics that I love, so it was very hard for me to choose one. I could have gone with Pride and Prejudice as well, or Jane Eyre – but I usually mention those two sooo I decided to change it up a bit!
      The Wesley family would also be amazing to be part of! (I had already used a Harry Potter answer and I try and not repeat my answers while doing tags…so I couldn’t choose them…sad times.)
      Hahaha, thank you! I feel like I’ll die easily in Middle Earth, but at least I’ll get the chance to explore it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aragorn is definitely the best option for that category! 🙂 I’m glad that you get my wish to join the quest in The Hobbit, it really would be amazing. YESSS to dragons! Reading in bed is the best, I love being comfortable while reading.

      Like

Leave a Reply

